We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location... but dirty!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Ranked #32 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2009

This hotel is in excellent location, right in the city centre. However the rooms were dirty. They superficially cleaned, especially the carpets were filthy.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaltaAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,022)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,640 - 2,646 of 3,022 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2009

Needed a place near Central station and Radisson was perfect. The property is well kept as you would expect from Radisson but what is worth mentioning is the staff. They are helpful and have a great attitute. We loved it and as this was the last point on our Scotland trip, it was a fitting close.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Travelbuff-Ind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2009

Great location...attractive furishings and art work... but not really up to 5* standards...left feeling a wee bit cheated...Good gym + pool...Breakfast was good but could have been better - rather crowded room...Check where parking is before arriving - and charges - even although my parking ticket was validated at reception I was still charged more. Air conditioning works well -Surprisingly, it is required in Scotland in September! Booked a business class room with twin beds-arrived to find a good sized room with a large double bed - fine, but I booked twin beds since I was travelling with my teenage son. I phoned reception to ask for a room with twin beds and was advised that I'd booked for one person (not according to my print out) - and had already been upgraded - shouldn't all rooms look like this - or, even better in a five star? Furthermore, they did not cater for one adult and one teenager but would find another room even although they were very busy and fully booked that night! Porter (very helpful) came and moved luggage to a smaller room (?Nordic) with twin (?) beds-very close together - two duvets. The mattresses were dreadful - very soft and clearly need replacing - even my son commented. It was alright but lacked any flair and didnot have a Nespresso machine, fluffy dressing gowns and toileteries (which I'd paid for) Phoned to query but reception abrupt - I was tired and relented to staying in the room. It would have been better to stay in the original room with two duvets! And, what is it about Scotland and twin beds. In a 5* hotel - twin beds should be two double or two queen beds.
I would stay here again but would first make sure which type of room I'd have...and advise others to do so.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miranda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2009

As always, Radisson fails to disappoint.
Breakfast in the room is at no extra charge, but actually the buffet breakfast offers a better selection.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2009

We stayed for one night before we went on holiday to Canada as we were flying from Glasgow Airport. The staff on check in and check out very professional – if not slightly cold. The room was modern and comfortable. We booked the room last minute for a reduced rate on arrival we realized why – there was some major renovation work being undertaken on the roof and elsewhere in the building – the entrance to which was right next to our hotel room door – there was a danger sign which kept being moved by the builders which half covered the entrance to our room and they were really noisy from about 8am. Despite that we did enjoy our stay we went shopping and then made the most of the gym and pool which were really good. I would stay again – hopefully when there is no working going on outside my door though.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warrentobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2009

Had a last minute 2 night stay here last weekend, chosen purely on the reviews here and the location to Central Station.
Not disappointed at all, very good.
Friendly staff, good rooms, and although I only had breakfast one morning, that was fine as well. Buffet style, which sometimes ends in a crowded shambles, but it all worked well and there was plenty of choice.
Good city centre hotel. If I was in Glasgow again I would stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilM31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

Stayed one night at this hotel for a girls weekend in Glasgow. Unsure about the parking situation so did not take the car. Location is right next door to Glasgow Central Station but the room is not noisy so must be well glazed. There is a vacant site where something has been demolished, not sure if building work has commenced yet but we stayed on the weekend.

Reception was really very professional, bedroom was a reasonable size with high ceilings, thick blackout curtains and really comfortable beds. Nice extra touches like slippers and bathrobes. Shower over bath, we would have preferred a walk in shower cabinet but realise a lot of British people like baths. Slept really well, didn't hear any noise from other guests so must be well insulated. We didn't eat at the hotel went out for an Indian meal (Shish Mahal in Park Road - very nice) so can't comment on food, had breakfast at the pub opposite the hotel for £3 (fine for the money).

Overall I would stay again, we got a deal for £100 which is not outstanding value but ok (Glasgow is pretty expensive for hotels).

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusansBackInScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#39 of 93 in Glasgow
4,084 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 93 in Glasgow
3,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#15 of 93 in Glasgow
2,370 reviews
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#46 of 93 in Glasgow
2,021 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
2,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow

Address: 301 Argyle Street, Glasgow G2 8DL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#16 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £76 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trendy and sophisticated, Radisson Blu Glasgow is located in the heart of the culture-rich city. Shopping and popular attractions such as Kelvingrove Art Gallery, Riverside Museum and the SSE Hydro are all nearby. Each of the 238 elegant bedrooms and suites come with bathrobe and slippers, top-end toiletries and a mini bar. Enjoy the delectable and creative fare of Collage Restaurant offering a unique twist on the British Brassiere, then stop by the two on-site bars for perfectly poured cocktails, wine and beer. When you're not out exploring rejuvenate in the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. The exceptional meeting facilities are some of the best in the city, boasting 15 meeting rooms hosting up to 800 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Rezidor, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Radisson Glasgow
Glasgow Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing