We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit of a 'Don't care' attitude!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Ranked #32 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2010

Heading for an early night called for a drink in the bar. Bought a pint and an orange juice and sat and people watched.....great. And thats the end of the great bit. Charged the drinks to the room and was presented with a bill for other peoples drinks! No apology just a begrudging amendment. Went to the room and it was like walking into a sauna. Windows dont open and air con on full blast but room almost 30 degrees...unbearable. Rang reception and after explaining the air con controls as if we were simple sent a 'techie'. Clearly 'techie' is not short for technician, a porter arrived and confirmed the air con was not working. Nothing we can do about it and the hotel is full so goodnight. Heavily pregnant wife and I spent the most miserable night imaginable lying on the bed waiting for the morning so we could leave. Shame on you Radisson!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,920)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,462 - 2,468 of 2,922 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2010

A typical Radisson hotel, very generous sized rooms, well thought out and clean. I have stayed here a lot and am not too keen on the beds at a weird angle; I always just want to push them back against the wall. The views out the rooms aren’t that great either.

Downstairs the bar is nice and reception are helpful. The hotel is always busy with functions which can be a bit annoying. There is a restaurant down stairs and a little bar on the corner that also sells pretty nice food, although it is quite pricey.

The location is very central, literally across the road from Central station and great for the airport bus and Taxi rank too. At night the area is not great though as the red light district begins a block later. If going out at night and coming back late, take a taxi.

All in all it's a nice hotel, you won’t have an awful experience but it probably won’t be that memorable either!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SacredTrickster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

I stayed the night here and attended a seminar here the next day. The hotel is located in what used to be a rather run down area but is being regenerated. The rooms were gorgeous and i had a fantastic child free nights sleep. I would thoroughly recommend/

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiranne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

This was my third visit to the Radisson - the first two visits being immediately when the hotel opened. I was pleased to see that nothing has changed - the staff are incredible, the bars, restaurant perfect. Definately stay here on my next visit to Glasgow

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MurphyCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

Last minute whim decided to head to Glasgow with my wife to celebrate her birthday - having stayed at Radisson Blu before already knew of it's great location and friendly staff.

The hotel was nearly full - they had knocked off about £100 off the rack rate and threw in breakfast for 2 too.

When we tried to check in at 3.20pm (earliest 3pm) our room wasn't ready so we were offered complimentary drinks in the bar - a nice touch and very nice Rioja! As soon as the room was ready we were advised.

Parking in Central Glasgow can be an issue but we took advantage of the valet parking - £16 removed all the hassle and included the NCP car park fees.

We opted for a business room - decent sized although the bed being offset at an angle takes some getting used to. Free wi-fi, bathrobes, newspapers and movies were included in the business room.

We'd hoped for an afternoon siesta but the hotel seems to creak and make loud noises as the hotel cladding expands in the sun - so that sadly was ruled out! A shame as the last time we stayed in this hotel in a standard room we managed a legendary 11 hour sleep.

No gripes about the room at all. Decent bathroom and toileteries. The loo brush was broken. Very clean all round. We'd asked for quiet room away from elevators with non feather pillows and these requests were all met (apart from the hotel creaking exterior!)

We each had a massage at the health club. I enjoyed mine with relaxing music but my wife was 'treated' to a Now Thats What I Call Music CD for her aromatherapy massage - what happened to a bit of chill out music?

Breakfast was buffet style and, importantly is served up until mid-day on a Sunday - and our request to check out at 1pm not 12 noon was met with no fuss at all.

We will return.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iainwish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Love this place, the breakfast is second to none, just what you need after a night out in Glasgow.

Great location and very nice rooms.

The only reason it's a four this time as we had no view from our room and it was starting to look just slightly tired.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROBERTANTHONY223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

We love this hotel, going back this year, it'll be our 5th years girls weekend break, so that should tell you how much we like it.
The location is one of the best, previous years we have taken the train to Glasgow, out the back down of Central Station, across the road and you're there, last year I took the car up, just because the train times were rubbish, the Radisson doesn't have onsite parking but hand your keys over at reception and they'll park it for you in one of the NCP's, yes you'll pay a wee bit more but its all done for you..so worth it in my book.
Our rooms have always been super, great space, lovely beds and gorgeous facilities, on the odd occasion there has been a glitch, safe not working, they've been at the door in minutes.
The swimming pool is lovely but it's baltic, one thing though, it makes you swim, lovely jacuzzi and steam room.
The food and drink is lovely, I don't think there is much that can beat a Radisson breakfast, it does set you up for the day. last year we opted for the B&B with dinner and a bottle of wine on one night deal, it was gorgeous, doing that option again for this year.
Great staff, nothing seems a problem, and I love it that you can leave your shopping/luggage even after you have checked out and collect when you are ready to head home.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#39 of 93 in Glasgow
3,952 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 93 in Glasgow
2,328 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#31 of 93 in Glasgow
3,337 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
2,700 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow

Address: 301 Argyle Street, Glasgow G2 8DL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#16 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £87 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trendy and sophisticated, Radisson Blu Glasgow is located in the heart of the culture-rich city. Shopping and popular attractions such as Kelvingrove Art Gallery, Riverside Museum and the SSE Hydro are all nearby. Each of the 238 elegant bedrooms and suites come with bathrobe and slippers, top-end toiletries and a mini bar. Enjoy the delectable and creative fare of Collage Restaurant offering a unique twist on the British Brassiere, then stop by the two on-site bars for perfectly poured cocktails, wine and beer. When you're not out exploring rejuvenate in the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. The exceptional meeting facilities are some of the best in the city, boasting 15 meeting rooms hosting up to 800 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Radisson Glasgow
Glasgow Radisson
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing