We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best but good value”
Review of Devoncove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Devoncove Hotel
Ranked #89 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Crossgates, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not the best but good value”
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Stayed here for one night and paid £29 for a double room including breakfast for two. Room was good size and clean. Bathroom had mildew on bath and sink was blocked. On the whole good value. I have paid more in Glasgow and it turned out to be no better. You get what you pay for and you could do a lot worse for £29 for two people!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank archiemcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    308
    248
    145
    219
See reviews for
134
419
71
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

At only £40 for a twin room I was happy with the hotel. Best bits:- Receptionists were really friendly, location, bedroom was fine, bed was extremely comfortable, free wi-fi and we got parked round the back of the hotel for free. Worst bits:- shower needed a good clean and shower door was broken, the breakfast was not the best quality cooked breakfast (although there were plenty choices).

Would I stay there again? Yes, I would happily stay there but If you're a bit more fussy it might be worth trying elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnCla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

good reasonably priced hotel in prime location in the city centre, all areas of the city were easily accessable, excellent customer service, friendly staff, was attending a staff xmas party and the hotel was cheaper than the taxi home.breakfast was included in the room fee, which at £40 represented excellent value at this time of year. the hotel would have recieved an excellent rating had it not been udergoing major re-furbishment

Room Tip: single rooms are large and spacious with good size comfortable beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank big_stu_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inverness
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

basic but not much wrong good value for money. rooms where clean and a good location brakfast good too.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iain1980Inverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

Could not disagree more with the bad reviews. For £35 a night including breakfast this must be the best value in Glasgow if not Scotland. Very clean and nice decor....excellent breakfast. Staff were very helpful. Less expensive than Etap or Travellodge and better quality!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeR37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

stayed one night on 6th December - heating inadequate - bed like a bag of rocks - great collection of mildew on bath - cold outside air coming from side of bath!! - breakfast like cardboard At £59 it was £30 too dear . Staff did not use the CCTV in car park to prevent me being blocked in!

Room Tip: Play safe and go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgau, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We have visited Glasgow on previous occasions when going to gigs. As we were going to the SECC the Devoncove Hotel seemed to be ideally situated so we booked two rooms.
Yes I had read the reviews prior to booking but this did not deter us in placing the booking.
Upon arrival the staff were very polite and efficient, and even though we had arrived before check in time they made one of our rooms available for us, and the other was ready at the alloted time of 3 p.m..
The double room was clean and spacious and everything you need was present. The second room we had booked was a single and that was more than adequate. There was however a problem with the heating and that was rectified within five minutes of informing the staff.

The bar and lounge have obviously just been upgraded and made a great place to have a few pre concert drinks. The atmosphere within the bar was conducive to a great night.
The staff could not of been more helpful in arranging taxis and directions to get to the SECC. The hotel is located close to restaurants and shops, and indeed is only a 10 minute walk from the SECC.
Would we consider staying at the Devoncove Hotel again?
I would have to say that we would make it our 1st choice, for staying in Glasgow, many thanks to the staff in making our stay a great one.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#52 of 95 in Glasgow
202 reviews
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#62 of 95 in Glasgow
574 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#29 of 95 in Glasgow
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#50 of 95 in Glasgow
915 reviews
Kelvingrove Hotel
#69 of 95 in Glasgow
562 reviews
Smiths Hotel
#91 of 95 in Glasgow
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devoncove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devoncove Hotel

Property: Devoncove Hotel
Address: 931 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Devoncove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Devoncove Hotel is conveniently located in the West End of Glasgow. It's within walking distance from the Hydro, SECC, Kelvingrove Park & Museum. The Hotel is right in the middle of a bustling area with plenty of pubs and eateries, ideal choice for a short break in Glasgow. All rates include complimentary illimited Wi-Fi access, Breakfast and Car Parking on a first come- first served basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Devoncove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Devoncove Hotel
Devoncove Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing