We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not stay here!!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Devoncove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Devoncove Hotel
Ranked #92 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Do not stay here!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Booked this hotel 4 weeks previous to staying for my sisters hen do! Booked 10 rooms and paid deposit all over booking.com and despite having 4 conversations with the hotel prior to us checking in they still managed to mess it up! On check in they told us there wasn't enough rooms booked and that part of our party would have to stay else where! After providing them with all reservation paperwork confirming we did in fact book enough rooms they continued on to say that had over booked us!!!! Eventually they managed to find a couple double rooms that weren't bring occupied and we all eventually got in. Went out that day and night and had a ball everyone really enjoyed them selves then I'm woken in the morning from a friend who received an email from booking.com saying we were a no show and being charged £170!!! Guy on reception had complete attitude with us think his name was Paul? Saying who ever checked us in had done it wrong and he had 7 sheets if amended paper work where he was trying to resolve it but unfortunately discovered he couldn't as it wouldn't be worth his job???? Thankfully we transferred funds from one account to another do they couldn't access the cash but if we didn't we would have been an extra £170 on top of the original £980 we paid! We are still waiting on a phone call from the hotel manager 72 hours on!!' Just to add to this review, the manager has just been in touch to tell us he will be charging a further 89 quid to a room as one of us left without paying??? Even tho everyone of us has a receipt!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kelly8718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robinGlasgowUk, Manager at Devoncove Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Regarding this reservation the hotel totally refutes the allegations made. The reservations fiasco was indeed caused by the customer themselves by constantly cancelling, amending, adding rooms then taking rooms away. Also a couple of the guests had made a reservation for themselves under a different name. On arrival at the hotel, at no time did they inform us of the fact that 2 of the rooms were under a different name, which, hence led to those rooms being recorded as a no show and being charged for. The hotel held these 2 rooms for these people when indeed the hotel was turning guests away who were looking for accomodation for that evening. Therefore the hotel is totally within its rights to charge for these rooms. In future may we suggest to the customer to ensure that when doing a group booking like this, that they dont try to get around the hotel policies for group bookings by ordering lots of smaller reservations as this is what led to all the confusion in the first place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    296
    240
    142
    209
See reviews for
128
400
71
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We (a hen party) stayed at the devoncove at the weekend and from the minute we arrived there was problems they had our booking mixed up and 2 of us were going to be left without a room even tho the rooms had been booked well in advance, luckily our bus driver also had a room for the night and kindly gave his up for us, the next day when we tryed to check out there was even further confusion when trying to pay and the man on reception became very angry and rude and had a terrible attitude towards us especially the bride who was already upset at the stress of all the drama going on he was arguing with her and then charged one of our girls for 2 rooms instead of one! And said he was goin to put threw a payment without it being authorised,totally ruined our weekend also taxi drivers refuse to take you to this hotel for no less than £20 from nightclub!! Would not recommend at all

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kirstysorrzo92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robinGlasgowUk, Manager at Devoncove Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Regarding this reservation, which I have already replied to due to another comment again the hotel totally refutes the allegations made. Further to this the only people who were rude and had a terrible attitude was the guests themselves unhappy at the fact they were being charged for booking rooms in a different name. Also if anyone was upset that day, it was the staff member involved who had to deal with the guests, who felt it. The guests thought that by ganging up and shouting at him that they would get their way. The only drama that unfolded was brought about by the customers themselves. The point regarding the taxi is just totally false. The average taxi fare from the city centre to the hotel would work out at no more than £5. Indeed we work closely with the local taxis and have a direct free phone in the reception area and the hotel is situated in one of the best areas of Glasgow, you only need to read any normal review to find that out. The guest has been inundating the hotel with threats that they would write bad comments on tripadvisor as they were not happy with the fact that they messed up their own booking which led to a charge being applied for 2 rooms that were reserved for them but in a different name.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Planning a weekend away in Scotland but wanting to take the dog, not easy! Try finding a good hotel that allows dogs. Found the Devoncove and kept fingers crossed that it would be ok. From the minute we walked in we were taken aback by the welcome, The Manager made such a fuss of our dog, definitely not the usual how inconvenient having a dog with you. The room was very spacious and clean, breakfast was help yourself, well cooked and topped up constantly, waiting staff friendly and efficient. Reception staff all extremely pleasant and helpful. If there is one thing about this hotel that stands out and makes the difference is the staff, a real credit.
Thank you all for the best welcome ever !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

I booked 3 single rooms at this hotel through Budgetplaces.com for 3rd July to 2nd August 2014. The price quoted £33.33 pppn. Despite Budgetplaces having taken the deposit and the hotel receiving the reservation the hotel would not honour it. The reason given by the hotel was that the cost of the rooms was now £199 pppn, due to this period being whilst the Commonwealth Games are taking place. Whilst I appreciate that the hotel will want to make a killing whilst the games are on how can they justify such a massive increase in price.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Maxine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robinGlasgowUk, Manager at Devoncove Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
With regards this comment, as we explained to the customer, which she accepted (then finds the need to tell lies in tripadvisor), we already have an agreement in place with Glasgow City Council to provide an allocation of rooms for the Commonwealth Games. Therefore the price has been set at £199 per room per night to stop any bookings coming in until exact allocations are received by the hotel. Unfortunately the website in question was displaying a default price for those dates which were not correct. The guest obviously realised that, due to the fact all other websites were displaying £199 and thought they would be able to sneak a reservation through at a rate of £40 per night. The rate at that time of year would never be anywhere near that and indeed the rates for during the commonwealth games will be high. We feel the guest was trying to take advantage of a system fault in this case, which has now been rectified. Indeed because our staff are diligent in their work, this reservation was never accepted by the hotel as the hotel had never actually put these rooms up for sale at all, never mind at that price on the website involved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

The devoncove is a lovely hotel with very friendly staff. We stayed for two nights, breakfast was good. We were going to a few museums and the cinema during our stay but hasn't realised both were a good 15-20 minute walk from the hotel. Good location if you need to be in the west end. Plenty of pubs and eateries around the hotel .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruddsrolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Not by any stretch of the imagination is this a four star hotel, but we were very happy with our room for the bargin price we paid. Very clean, plenty of space and a nice bathroom.
Breakfast which was included was fine, self service with plenty of choice.
The location is wonderful, only a short walk to the Kelvingrove Museum and Art Gallery or the parklands.
We walked into the centre of the city via Sauchiehall street and there are plenty of dining options within a short walk, the reception staff were very helpful with suggestions for restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TassieAusssie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

I stayed at the Devoncove, Glasgow on a business trip recently. On check in I got the usual forms to sign, but there was an extra form that it was made VERY clear I needed to read and understand - the damage waiver form. I was signing to say that I would be billed £50 for any damage to the room on my check out. I had no plans to trash the place so signed willingly.

On getting to my room (lower ground, like a converted dungeon and views of the underside of an Astra in the Car Park) I dumped my stuff and checked the room out.

This was when I noticed the heated towel rail hanging off the wall at a precarious angle, and when I tried opening the desk drawer, the front panel came off in my hand!

I went straight back to reception to inform them and they said their maintenance guy was on holiday and made a note in a diary of my issues. Not an impressive start!

Got myself sorted and popped down to the bar. I was surprised to see the barman was the guy originally on reception - obviously a multi-tasker. In fairness he was very pleasant and chatty and told me he should have finished his shift long ago but had stayed on to lend a hand. Give that guy a pip on his badge!

Breakfast was interesting. Buffet style and tasted fine. I didn't have toast, for one main reason. There was a pop up toaster and a 'rolling tray' style toaster. It was sheer entertainment watching folk trying to work them out as they (apparently) had no instructions. I watched in good humour as people put their bread in the pop up and waited... and waited... and waited....

When the bread finally popped up, slightly warmer than before but equally white, most decided to give up. Those that didn't opted to put it in the rolling toaster, but given the first round had dried it out, this left them with toast looking more like a roof slate!

This hotel was adequate for what I needed (a bed for the night and some food in the morning) but it had ideas of grandeur well above its station. Not saying I'd never stay there again, but if I did, the one thing I would insist on would be a tour of my room with the manager BEFORE signing the damage waiver form.

Room Tip: If you want a decent view, avoid the basement!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveKeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#28 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#52 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#63 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kelvingrove Hotel
#67 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#50 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Smiths Hotel
#91 of 96 in Glasgow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devoncove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devoncove Hotel

Property: Devoncove Hotel
Address: 931 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Devoncove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Devoncove Hotel is conveniently located in the West End of Glasgow. It's within walking distance from the Hydro, SECC, Kelvingrove Park & Museum. The Hotel is right in the middle of a bustling area with plenty of pubs and eateries, ideal choice for a short break in Glasgow. All rates include complimentary illimited Wi-Fi access, Breakfast and Car Parking on a first come- first served basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Devoncove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Devoncove Hotel
Devoncove Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing