We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate”
Review of Devoncove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Devoncove Hotel
Ranked #91 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Rosyth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Adequate”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This hotel was OK. Not sure if I would recommend it though. As Carole251 said the rooms do need redecoration. It was clean though and the room we were in was on the top floor and very quiet. However, the kettle didn't work. The light came on but after half an hour the water still hadn't heated up! Breakfast was a little hit and miss. Overall it was OK but the tea and coffee were absolutely awful. The tea smelt funny - combination of cheap tea-bags and an urn which desperately needs de-scaling I think. The coffee was served in flasks - not really good enough for a supposedly 3 star hotel. The rest of the breakfast was quite tasty apart from the 'nuked' sausages - no taste whatsoever. I actually thought the car park was fine and pretty good to have one in the city centre - it was also monitored by CCTV. In my opinion needs a some attention to maintain it's status.

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor not at the front appear to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    305
    243
    145
    215
See reviews for
132
412
71
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Rooms desperately need redecoration and as we we're put in a room which backs onto the lift shaft we didn't get a lot of sleep. The bedding was clean enough and breakfast was passable but overall, I won't be back and I wouldn't recommend to a friend. Car park is really not adequate for size of hotel either.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

Donegal
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in a triple room.
Lovely little hotel with nice reception area and bar.
Staff helpful and because we could not check in until 3pm, (we did ask would the room be ready earlier but they would not let us check into 3pm even if it was)they kept our bags safe until then. Free wifi was also good.
Rooms were very basic but clean and the beds are extremely comfy.
Had a problem with the shower at around midnight and they had a maintenance guy there by 9am the next morning and also were very apologetic when we checked out.
All in all perfect for our short stay in Glasgow in a nice area.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosh1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Very very helpful with our excess amount of luggage, free WiFi access, food wholesome, staff so very helpful. We have stayed before and came back and will again, as such good value for money a fraction of other hotels. Hotel central to many things, good parking staff go out of their way to please. Dame Sally-Ann Hayes.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally-Ann1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee
Level Contributor
111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Plesantly surprised by this hotel...room was fab. Loads of room, hair dryer iron ironing board and tea and coffee facilities in room..Sunday morning breakfast was superb..great choices..location was great..easy to get to and get out of Glasgow too and free parking and free wifi ..overall great value for money...definately be back

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruther5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Have stayed in this hotel every time i come to Glasgow to seea concert in the secc. The location is excellent for city centre and the westend, easy walking distance to both! The room you get what you pay for and we have found its one of the better quality cheaper hotel around. The staff and service are what bring us back to Devoncove again and again. Friendly reception staff that will sort any problems we had and were very informative with local knowledge suggesting some great places for us to visit on our stay in Glasgow. Nice bar and lounge area to relax and have a drink in after a day shopping in town.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RhiannonL20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

My husband uses this hotel a couple of times a month on business and I often go with him. The hotel is situated in an area full of good bars and restaurants. Kelvingrove Park is also just across the road which is great as we take our little dog with us. He, incidentally, is always made most welcome by the very friendly and pleasant reception staff. The rooms are quite comfortable. Breakfast is buffet style and perfectly adequate. There is really nothing wrong with this hotel and we have been staying there regularly for years now.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaycee19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#53 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#63 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kelvingrove Hotel
#65 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#49 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Smiths Hotel
#92 of 96 in Glasgow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devoncove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devoncove Hotel

Property: Devoncove Hotel
Address: 931 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Devoncove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Devoncove Hotel is conveniently located in the West End of Glasgow. It's within walking distance from the Hydro, SECC, Kelvingrove Park & Museum. The Hotel is right in the middle of a bustling area with plenty of pubs and eateries, ideal choice for a short break in Glasgow. All rates include complimentary illimited Wi-Fi access, Breakfast and Car Parking on a first come- first served basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Devoncove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Devoncove Hotel
Devoncove Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing