We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre at the best...”
Review of Devoncove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Devoncove Hotel
Ranked #88 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mediocre at the best...”
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

I usually stay in cheap hotels on weekends away! All I expect is for it to be clean and I'm usually happy! However, this hotel disappointed from the moment we arrived!
My friend and I arrived at 1.30pm knowing check in was at 3pm but because the weather was so bad, I wanted to see if we could check in any earlier! The man at the desk said 'no, check in is at 3'! I have usually found hotels to try and be friendly with customers and compromise if they can let us check in any earlier...but this employee did not give that vibe at all!
Finally at 3pm exactly, we checked in and went to our room! The temperature difference from the hall to our room was ridiculous, feeling as if we had just stepped into a fridge. I phoned reception and was told to fiddle with the radiator until it came on! So we did, and after an hour, some heat came through but given the size of the room and windows, this did very little! We slept in a freezing cold room and there were no spare blankets in the room!
The room in general was shabby, the beds were on a visible slope and my mattress had a big dip in it-I could feel the base trough it!
Next morning we got up to get ready for breakfast and discovered there was no electricity in our room! If our curtains hadn't of been so thin, we would have been in total darkness! Again I phoned to reception to inform the hotel and the response was 'you're not the only one with this problem and we are trying to fix it'. Again, complete ignorance from this staff member! It came across that I was being unreasonable for querying why there was no electricity! To his word tho, the electricity was on within the hour.
Good points- reasonably clean, Breakfast was good,and the staff serving in the dining room (Eastern European)were very friendly and helpful unlike the locals on the front desk!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robinGlasgowUk, Director of Sales at Devoncove Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for your comments we endeavour to keep all of our guests satisfied
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    311
    255
    147
    222
See reviews for
137
429
72
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Having arrived at the hotel later than planned we did not really look around but dumped our bags and went to a nearby concert. On return from the concert the true state hit us when we turned on the lights. The room itself was a good size however the overpowering smell of dampness was breathtaking. Like a previous reviewer we were met with the toilet from hell too. There was a dead beetle lying in the bath were it had drowned in water from the constantly running tap. The area behind the toilet was very black with fungus and mould. There were a number of cracked or broken tiles and the corners of the tiles was again mouldy. The bathroom door lock was broken and the actual door facing was hanging off. The bedroom was adequate but the walls were all marked and had been filled in various places due to damage. The bed was comfortable and seemed clean however the whole room stank of mildew. There were cobwebs hanging from the ceiling and in the corners of the room. The room was located in the basement facing the street. The noise from the street was horrendous due to other guests going outside the hotel front door to smoke and socialise whilst smoking. The hotel door was continually banging till just before 3am and the shouting outside finally calmed down after that. We suffered the room until just before 8am when I couldn't stand it anymore. When we tried to wash in the bathroom there was no hot water available so we just left. I did speak to reception and asked for the manager but he was unavailable. He was supposed to call but as yet nothing ! says a lot for customer service but as a Scottish person I was ashamed that this might be the standard that visitors to the Commonwealth games in the summer will endure. I do have photo evidence and will add them to this review when I have more time.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsMack2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robinGlasgowUk, Director of Sales at Devoncove Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
We thank you for your comments and apologise for your problems in your room.If you had complained to the reception we would have given you a room that you would have been satisfied with
We hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmacara Square
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We were in for 2 days, the top of the toilet was black with mould, the shower had its one take on temperature,it went down it temperature by its own, now the bed, my wife's side, the mattress was non excitant, we got a room swop for the second day, I checked the room to see if we had left something behind, it was made up for a new guest,also the noise from outside was very high, the second room, smaller but better, the curtains would not close for privacy, the toilet was black with mould, and the shower was good but would not drain, breakfast was something to ignore,it was cooked by a blind OAP.the elevator needs to have a hoover run over it

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seanair284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robinGlasgowUk, Director of Sales at Devoncove Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for your comments ,we apologise that you were not satisfied with your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Enjoyed another short break at the Devoncove with my husband, brother and sister in law. The only problem we had was one of the room keys would not work but this was quickly sorted by the receptionist who allocated us another room. Rooms were of a good size very clean and comfortable, bathrooms spotless .Breakfast on the Sunday morning was good the only downside was the toasters - very slow and as the hotel was very busy we encurred a wait to make toast maybe this could be looked into.
On the whole we had a very enjoyable stay and will certainly return for another visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PL1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robinGlasgowUk, Director of Sales at Devoncove Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for your kind comments we hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Hotel is incredibly cheap, has an excellent location and is clean. Staff are also very friendly.
Downside is that it is very dated, our room was freezing cold and the windows let EVERY noise in!
Left too early for full breakfast and continental breakfast was average - although not enough milk was left for us!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road - and check the breakfast times!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robinGlasgowUk, Director of Sales at Devoncove Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for your comments we will make sure that you have a warm room next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2014

What a wonderful hotel! 5 plus for everything. The staff are especially nice and friendly. I've been here for nearly two weeks now and could stay another two! Very welcoming hotel, great location and rooms. Highly regarded as a must have stay in Glasgow! Thank you to the staff, from an extremely happy customer. Mr Lewis

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cjl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robinGlasgowUk, Director of Sales at Devoncove Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here over Hogmany. For £43 a night I was preparing for the worst. Check in was quick and the staff were polite, our room was number 101 which was at the end of the corridor next to the fire escape. It was very quiet! The room was spotless and a decent size and the shower in the bathroom was fantastic! Brilliant power shower. We had breakfast which was simple but ample for my husband and I. I don't understand why there are so many bad reviews, if people are expecting the Hilton then pay o stay at the Hilton! This is a budget hotel that is very good value for money and a great place if you need a crash pad after a gig or party in Glasgow. I cannot fault it.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missclairmarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robinGlasgowUk, Director of Sales at Devoncove Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for your nice comments we hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#53 of 93 in Glasgow
209 reviews
Kelvingrove Hotel
#67 of 93 in Glasgow
570 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#30 of 93 in Glasgow
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#62 of 93 in Glasgow
589 reviews
Smiths Hotel
#89 of 93 in Glasgow
420 reviews
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#56 of 93 in Glasgow
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devoncove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devoncove Hotel

Property: Devoncove Hotel
Address: 931 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Devoncove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Devoncove Hotel is conveniently located in the West End of Glasgow. It's within walking distance from the Hydro, SECC, Kelvingrove Park & Museum. The Hotel is right in the middle of a bustling area with plenty of pubs and eateries, ideal choice for a short break in Glasgow. All rates include complimentary illimited Wi-Fi access, Breakfast and Car Parking on a first come- first served basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Devoncove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Devoncove Hotel
Devoncove Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing