We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10/10”
Review of Devoncove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Devoncove Hotel
Ranked #89 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
1 review
“10/10”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Great hotel staff nice & polite especially the night porter who kindly corrected me with saying he was from the wirral & not a scouser he is a great credit to the hotel

Breakfast was superb plenty of choices

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1976alan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robinGlasgowUk, Director of Sales at Devoncove Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for your review , we hope to see you again soon .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    308
    248
    145
    219
See reviews for
134
419
71
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rothes In Scotland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We have stayed in this hotel 2 years ago and gave it a good review, I wish I could do so this time but unfortunately not. The Staff both in reception and in the breakfast room couldn't be bothered.
The bedroom was very small and looked tired, The toilet was very grubby and in need of repair.
Breakfast finished at 9 and even on a Sunday it finished at 9.30am. Even if you fancied a long lie house keeping we're hovering near our room at 9.30 on a Sunday morning. The quality of the breakfast was extremely poor quality and badly served. In fact the only thing not cheap at this hotel was the rate @ £189 for 2 nights I would expect better. I would not recommend this Hotel based on my recent stay.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALANMURF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robinGlasgowUk, Director of Sales at Devoncove Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for you review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Booked last minute but still had a choice of a few similar hotels.

The hotel seems quite uncared for. I was put in a lower ground room which meant that the wifi didn't work. TV was difficult to switch on or change the sound. No clock in the room. Cold but no blanket.

Ok for 1 night but the above little things would have made me stay more comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenHancock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robinGlasgowUk, Director of Sales at Devoncove Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for your review , the hotel is undergoing a refurbishment programme at present and we hope that you have a better stay the next time that you are in the city
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights..2 single rooms not a bad size room clean and bed comfortable, though bathroom very small, Hotel advertised Scottish Breakfast..? bacon , beans eggs & a potato scone was all that was on offer and only luke warm...though edible.Hotel Bar reasonable prices and Hotel central location ( Sauchiehall st) and bus stop directly outside.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mancmags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robinGlasgowUk, Director of Sales at Devoncove Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thankyou for your review , we apologise about your breakfast and will make sure its perfect next time you visit .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

For £35 on a Sunday night it wasn't far off the price of a taxi home and for that price you can;t expect much. location is excellent for west end pubs etc.

The bar and reception area looked OK although we didn't drink in the bar.

The room was very basic and bed not the most comfortable. The room was warm enough, I had to turn the heating off during the night, however we were facing the main road and every bit of sound comes through the windows.

The man on reception was polite. We didn't make it up for breakfast so can't comment.

The Islay Inn is a great pub just a couple of minutes walk away.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allanwang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robinGlasgowUk, Director of Sales at Devoncove Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for your review, we are constantly trying to improve our product and give customers good value for their money
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Me & my boyfriend stayed here last night as we were going to watch the xfactor live tour at the Hydro. Devoncove is in a fab location, 5 mins walk away from the venue & close to lots of shops and restaurants. Will defo recommend Devoncove to anybody & will be back to stay if return to Glasgow. Room was well worth the money.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynshud94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robinGlasgowUk, Director of Sales at Devoncove Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for your great review , we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee
Level Contributor
117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the second time, this time as we were going to the darts...hotel is great value for money and really gave no complaints whatsoever, recommend this hotel to all our friends and will always stay here when visiting Glasgow..great location, great breakfast and friendly staff..

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ruther5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robinGlasgowUk, Director of Sales at Devoncove Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for your kind comments , we try our best to give all of our customers a good experience and overall great value for money .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#52 of 95 in Glasgow
202 reviews
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#62 of 95 in Glasgow
574 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#29 of 95 in Glasgow
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#50 of 95 in Glasgow
914 reviews
Kelvingrove Hotel
#69 of 95 in Glasgow
562 reviews
Smiths Hotel
#91 of 95 in Glasgow
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devoncove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devoncove Hotel

Property: Devoncove Hotel
Address: 931 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Devoncove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Devoncove Hotel is conveniently located in the West End of Glasgow. It's within walking distance from the Hydro, SECC, Kelvingrove Park & Museum. The Hotel is right in the middle of a bustling area with plenty of pubs and eateries, ideal choice for a short break in Glasgow. All rates include complimentary illimited Wi-Fi access, Breakfast and Car Parking on a first come- first served basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Devoncove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Devoncove Hotel
Devoncove Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing