We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hotel I have stayed in”
Review of Devoncove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Devoncove Hotel
Ranked #88 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Poor show all round! The reception is dated,shabby and poorly furnished, the rooms are terrible, our 1st room had damp and cracked roof in bathroom, the door in the bathroom didn't lock, the main door to the room didn't lock, none of the lamps in the room worked, there were light fittings hanging from the roof and drawers facings hanging off the wardrobe the matress was soo thin that you could feel every single wooden slat on the bed frame, got moved to another room which looked much better probably because the 1st room was so bad, the matress in the 2nd room was just as poor there was still a little damp in the bathroom roof and there was still a light fitting hanging from the roof, had issues using the bar facility aswell, asked for vodka and lemonade and they didn't have lemonade but offered to get us a lemon from the kitchen( there were tins of sprite sitting right there in the fridge) asked for cordial for the kids, staff gave us a bottle of cordial and two glasses when we asked if there was water we were told we had to buy a bottle of water, had to ask for a wine glass as opposed to a normal glass for a glass of rose wine, the staff didn't know what a rose wine was, then there is a sign behind the bar saying card payments are accepted, went to pay by card and it seemed to be a massive issue staff started stressing out saying we had to pay with cash only haha quite comical, when we approached the check in desk to sort out issues with the room we were greeted by "WHAT"? "WHAT DO YOU WANT ME TO DO"? Thank goodness we only had 1night in this place! As the title suggests this is the worst hotel I have stayed in and I live in hotels for half the year in a 3rd world country!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seanyboy16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,117)
There are newer reviews for Devoncove Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

646 - 652 of 1,117 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

Good location, near town centre and close to local shops and restaurants, very friendly and helpful staff (taxis booked for you), clean bright room and good cooked breakfast included. We will stay again. Excellent value.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robinGlasgowUk, Director of Sales at Devoncove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for you review, we try our best to give our customers great value for money, we hope to see you soon .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Great hotel staff nice & polite especially the night porter who kindly corrected me with saying he was from the wirral & not a scouser he is a great credit to the hotel

Breakfast was superb plenty of choices

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1976alan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robinGlasgowUk, Director of Sales at Devoncove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for your review , we hope to see you again soon .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We have stayed in this hotel 2 years ago and gave it a good review, I wish I could do so this time but unfortunately not. The Staff both in reception and in the breakfast room couldn't be bothered.
The bedroom was very small and looked tired, The toilet was very grubby and in need of repair.
Breakfast finished at 9 and even on a Sunday it finished at 9.30am. Even if you fancied a long lie house keeping we're hovering near our room at 9.30 on a Sunday morning. The quality of the breakfast was extremely poor quality and badly served. In fact the only thing not cheap at this hotel was the rate @ £189 for 2 nights I would expect better. I would not recommend this Hotel based on my recent stay.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALANMURF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robinGlasgowUk, Director of Sales at Devoncove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for you review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Booked last minute but still had a choice of a few similar hotels.

The hotel seems quite uncared for. I was put in a lower ground room which meant that the wifi didn't work. TV was difficult to switch on or change the sound. No clock in the room. Cold but no blanket.

Ok for 1 night but the above little things would have made me stay more comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenHancock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robinGlasgowUk, Director of Sales at Devoncove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for your review , the hotel is undergoing a refurbishment programme at present and we hope that you have a better stay the next time that you are in the city

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights..2 single rooms not a bad size room clean and bed comfortable, though bathroom very small, Hotel advertised Scottish Breakfast..? bacon , beans eggs & a potato scone was all that was on offer and only luke warm...though edible.Hotel Bar reasonable prices and Hotel central location ( Sauchiehall st) and bus stop directly outside.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank mancmags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robinGlasgowUk, Director of Sales at Devoncove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Thankyou for your review , we apologise about your breakfast and will make sure its perfect next time you visit .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

For £35 on a Sunday night it wasn't far off the price of a taxi home and for that price you can;t expect much. location is excellent for west end pubs etc.

The bar and reception area looked OK although we didn't drink in the bar.

The room was very basic and bed not the most comfortable. The room was warm enough, I had to turn the heating off during the night, however we were facing the main road and every bit of sound comes through the windows.

The man on reception was polite. We didn't make it up for breakfast so can't comment.

The Islay Inn is a great pub just a couple of minutes walk away.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allanwang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robinGlasgowUk, Director of Sales at Devoncove Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you for your review, we are constantly trying to improve our product and give customers good value for their money

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Kelvingrove Hotel
#67 of 93 in Glasgow
575 reviews
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#54 of 93 in Glasgow
209 reviews
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#60 of 93 in Glasgow
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Smiths Hotel
#89 of 93 in Glasgow
421 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#30 of 93 in Glasgow
816 reviews
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#57 of 93 in Glasgow
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devoncove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devoncove Hotel

Address: 931 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range: £44 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Devoncove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Devoncove Hotel is conveniently located in the West End of Glasgow. It's within walking distance from the Hydro, SECC, Kelvingrove Park & Museum. The Hotel is right in the middle of a bustling area with plenty of pubs and eateries, ideal choice for a short break in Glasgow. All rates include complimentary illimited Wi-Fi access, Breakfast and Car Parking on a first come- first served basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Devoncove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasgow Devoncove Hotel
Devoncove Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing