We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once upon a heaven”
Review of Once Upon A Tart

Once Upon A Tart
Ranked #656 of 2,450 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Once upon a heaven”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Fabulous coffee ,amazing fresh home made cakes, sandwiches,home baking superb lunch menu and the staff are ever so friendly I found the atmosphere superb and I like the style of the coffee shop its a pleasant change from the norm, its well worth a visit

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cookiesmith56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    59
    15
    10
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gothic disco cakes and the best sandwiches in town”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Second visit to Once Upon A Tart and once again I was not disappointed. Cakes are crazy, gorgeous creations that taste as good as they look (no mean feat in the current cupcake culture) and the sandwich selection is delicious. Review is based on paninis, pancakes with bacon and maple syrup and, of course, cake. Pink, gothic-style decor is beautiful - what you'd imagine if Charles Dickens' Miss Havisham opened a cake shop while on an acid trip. Walking through the door on a rainy Glasgow day definitely puts a smile on your face and I've managed to convert my mammy who'd otherwise be dragging me to the Marks and Spencer cafe for overpriced finger sandwiches.

Unfortunately a couple of things hacked me off (but wouldn't stop me going back):

- Staff, while attractive, are a bit inattentive and went in and out the loo several times without noticing there was no loo paper. The owners, when they came in, were absolutely lovely, totally lifted the atmosphere, got the tunes on and brought over marshmallows for my toddler.
- Loo, while as beautiful as the rest of the place, was in need of a good scrub and the bin was overflowing. No excuse.
- High chair also needed a scrub.
- Hot chocolate nice and big but way too sweet both times I tried it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank M-Yeboah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Awful service, shop bought cakes”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

On the two occasions I've been here the service has been appalling. The staff seemed pre occupied behind the counter and despite making eye contact on several occasions I was ignored. It's not very clear when you walk in whether they provide table service or whether you order at the counter. On both visits we very much felt like a burden.

There were a lot of cakes, some of me which looked homemade (and very yummy) however after it was obvious that a large percentage of them were shop bought, which I was found quite disappointing for a bake house.

It felt as though they had too many staff on who weren't sure what they were each doing, as though no one wanted to actually serve the paying customers.

Not often I write such a bad review as this but it's deserved.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chev D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Quirky is the Word”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Quirky, kitschy and atmospheric - like falling down a rabbit hole into another world. "Once Upon a Tart" is subtitled a "Kitchen Bakehouse" and that is exactly what it is. Cakes are made on the premises. Menu swerves towards breakfasts, salads, sandwiches and soups...and those cakes and tarts.

We shared four servings of cake and tarts ( VERY generous proportion which seem to be priced about £3.50 - tariff not stated on the menu), four teas/coffees and the bill came to just over £20. The soup being served at the next table looked to be good (at £3, with a sandwich - £6). We did not try but will sample the breakfast/brunch options soon (mostly in the £3-£4 range) and the desserts (all below £4).

Service was fine, chairs comfortable and tables not crammed together. Plenty to like here. Best to plan a brisk long walk after sampling those large servings of cake.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandlab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Staff were soo friendly. We were a large group for late breakfast early lunch. Suited for disabled and young children which is why we chose this place originally, its very hard to find somewhere in glasgow like this. And the cake. the cakes wre amazing. price was great and everyone had something they wanted.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Eilish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Once Upon A Tart also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Once Upon A Tart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing