We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food”

Ask Italian - Glasgow
Ranked #389 of 2,389 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: US$9 - US$17
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: ASK Italian in Glasgow is a place for great food and warm service. Think fresh bread made to tear and share. A glass of fine wine worth deserving of your time. Delicious main dishes prepared the traditional way. Everything we know and love about Italian food is served straight to your table. Take a look at our Glasgow menu and, if you like what you see, book a table.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,018 reviews
457 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 634 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We ate here quite late on after going to the cinema across the road, so it's a really handy location. It took a while to be noticed to get seated, but otherwise the service was fine. We both had the Prosciutto e bufala pizzas, which were really good and came along with chilli oil. Drinks aren't too expensive and it's an all-round reliable chain for good food and a convivial atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    157
    76
    35
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bad quality”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Normally quite good however this time not so much. Ordered mixed panzerottini and they arrived looking quite well done. Server put them on the table and on closer inspection each of them was burnt. They had been placed burnt side down to disguise this. I was shocked that the server would put this infront of us and that someone had so obviously turned each burnt side to the bottom. My opinion in retail and customer service is would I eat it or buy it? If not then I don't sell or serve it, it's that simple. This puts me off returning.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amacl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
larkhall
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely meal in great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Myself and my boyfriend recently tried Ask Italian for the first time and were really impressed. Service was good without being intrusive and food lovely. We both had bruschetta, for mains Pollo Milanese and vegetarian ravioli followed by tiramisu and honeycombe cheesecake - could not fault anything. Would recommend and will be back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimmcq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Poor service and average food.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We have visited a number of ASK restaurants in the past so knew what we were expecting. The menu has all the usual Italian dishes, pizza, pasta, risotto etc. Our order was taken quickly, I had ordered a starter and my partner asked for a garlic bread as a starter. My starter arrived but no sign of the garlic bread. With no sign of a server I ate my starter alone and we expected the garlic bread to arrive with the mains, which it did. The restaurant wasn't busy but looked understaffed.
Won't be returning.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Abi_Allsopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“good as usual”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

visited restaurant again and yet again found the staff very helpful and friendly.......maybe a bit too friendly though would like to have a seat before being expected to order a drink............enjoyed the food as usual . Like the proximity to the Concert Hall and the Bus Station and if you are very lucky there are quite often 25% discount vouchers to be had on other sites which makes it even better value for money.............Can be a bit noisy if at peak time but usually is o.k..........dont just go in for a drink or coffee at busy times though definately discouraged........Will however be back again

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ask Italian - Glasgow also viewed

 

Been to Ask Italian - Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing