We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Argyll Hotel(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
US$70
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$137
US$115
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Novotel Glasgow Centre(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$114
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$89
US$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ibis Glasgow City Centre(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$254
US$180
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Jurys Inn Glasgow(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$94
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$141
US$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$92
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Reviews (1,161)
Filter reviews
1,161 results
Traveller rating
404
514
187
38
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
404
514
187
38
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshi expresscity centrebus stationbeansconcert hallbreakfast roomwest nile streethot breakfastbuchanan galleriesreception staffcar parkexcellent locationfirst floorsauchiehall streetbreakfast was includedwould highly recommend this hotelmain shopping
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
879 - 884 of 1,161 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2011

It's a pretty standard holiday inn express as far as the rooms and breakfast are concerned. There is wifi, but it is VERY slow in the rooms. The staff here are what separates this from other hotels. Extremely helpful and friendly despite working extremely long days. The fact you need a key to turn on the lights seemed a bit odd, and if you like two sheets on the bed you have to ask for it. Over all, good stay.

Room Tip: The double rooms have more space than two twins
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaCraig, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2011

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for leaving your invaluable feedback on TripAdvisor. It is always a pleasure to read how it is our staff who set us apart from many other hotels, and that they are also the reason why so many guests return to stay again and again!

Just to address a couple of the points you raised: We are currently looking into the wi-fi supply, which is free to all our guests. The other option is to install a faster service, but there would be a nominal charge for this (after one free hour). There are advantages to both systems and we value any guest feedback on which they would prefer.

While it is not Holiday Inn Express brand standard to provide two sheets on the bed, we are more than happy to do so (as you have mentioned) upon request.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Joanna Craig
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

This is my second visit to this hotel in 2 months, I was so impressed with my first stay (August 2011) that i now request this hotel whenever I am training with work in Glasgow.
Staff are very friendly and helpful. Free newspaper, Wi-Fi is available, tea/coffee facilities in the rooms etc. There also is the option to order food from the restaurant next door to the hotel (Di Maggio's) which is handy. The breakfast selection is modest however fills a gap and there is selection to suit all tastes.
Location wise it's in the city centre and about 5 minutes walk from the train station (Glasgow Queen Street) and the main shopping/entertainment precinct (Sauchiehall/Buchanan Street).
My only criticism, much like most other reviews, is the beds. Could just be me, however i have woken up in the middle of the night and found it difficult to drift back into a good sleep. Rooms also can be incredibly warm and stuffy also. But apart from that it's pretty good for the price.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pharmboy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaCraig, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2011

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. It is a pleasure to read you choose to stay in our hotel whenever you are in Glasgow, and that there are many aspects of the hotel you enjoy. With regards to the temperature of your room, we have some fans available at reception to deal with the (unusually!) warmer days in Glasgow. As I have mentioned previously, we are in the process of replacing mattresses and hope to have the whole hotel done soon. Next time you are planning to stay, please give us a call in advance and we will try to allocate you a room with a newer mattress to imrpove the comfort of your stay.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and for your invaluable feedback.

Kind regards,

Joanna Craig
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Stayed here for one night, it's fairly easy to find and parking is just opposite - it's chargeable. When checking out the receptionist was kind enough to consider what would be the cheapest way to pay, via the hotel or at the machine for the hours used. I found this a nice touch.

The rooms are pretty standard, I found a similar rate for the holiday inn next door, but decided to stay here for the free breakfast. The only disappointment, as mentioned in some other reviews was that the beds were a bit uncomfortable - I'd compare them to a travelodge bed.

Despite this in a few minutes walk you are right in the centre of Glasgow with shops, cinema. Theatre, nightlife and all. So well located if you want to be in the city!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaCraig, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2011

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on TripAdvisor. I am pleased you were able to make the most of our central location and found our staff to be helpful. As you may have seen from my previous responses, while most of our rooms do have new mattresses, there are still a few to be replaced as part of our programme to continously improve our guests' sleep experience.

Should you stay with us again in the future, please give us a call in advance and we will do our utmost to put you in a room with a newer mattress to ensure you get a great night's sleep.

We hope to welcome you back to stay soon.

Kind regards,

Joanna Craig
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Close to city centre. Easy walking distance to everything. Friendly helpful staff. Everything worked no hassles.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paddy1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Stayed 2 nights for a 'girlie weekend away'. Staff on the desk were very friendly and helpful. Room was very clean and the shower was great. Beds very comfortable. This is a great hotel for location - close to all the shopping and railway station. Breakfast was a pleasant surprise as we were only expecting a continental breakfast, but there was cooked sausages etc. as well. Will definitely go back and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaCraig, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2011

Dear Reviewer,

It was a delight to read your review of your recent stay and we hope to welcome you back next time you're planning a girly getaway! Thank you for your invaluable feedback.

Kind regards,

Joanna Craig
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews