We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Ranked #35 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“good value, good location”
Reviewed 25 October 2012

A group of us stayed here for a week and we really enjoyed the location near shops and bars, also close to Queen St railway station. The staff are very helpful and friendly and the rooms are spacious and very clean. The shower was hot and powerful. Being on the fifth floor, for safety reasons, our window only opened a crack which I imagine wouldn't be great in the summer but was adequate for October. The only grumbles from some of our group was the breakfast - no choice of egg, only scrambled, no bacon and poor quality sausage but I found it fine with a good choice of cereal yogurt and fruit. All in all a good value hotel for Glasgow which can be expensive - I would stay here again next time I visit.

Room Tip: high floors at the back of the hotel are quieter although you will always get some noise in the city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greeneland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkBurke, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your recent comments about your stay here with us. Regarding breakfast we will shortly be offering bacon and have recently changed our supplier for our sausages and we have been getting very positive feedback from our guests. We hope to see you soon when you return to Glasgow.
Thank You
Mark Burke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    479
    175
    36
    18
See reviews for
195
359
86
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Stayed 2 nights in a family room with my elderly mum and my daughter. Our third time in this hotel - we find it ideal for our needs i.e a good value, low cost hotel which is close to the bus station and the shops. Facilities are quite basic but appropriate for the price charged. Breakfast is a no frills affair but is adequate and included in the room rate - something which other budget range hotels do not provide.

Staff are efficient and helpful - happy to arrange extra pillows, a late check out and to allow our luggage to be stored for a few hours afterwards.

Overall, good value for what you pay and that is why we will probably be back again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have no 'view' - they look onto offices - but they are quieter so I prefer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floracheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. It is always fantastic to hear that our guests are returning time and again.
We look forward to your next visit with us here at the Holiday Inn Express Glasgow Theatreland.

Warm Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012 via mobile

Taxi from the airport was £25, although Im told you can get the 500 bus to the City Centre and walk a short distance if you wanted to save money.

Check-in was relatively pain free. Lady behind the counter was reasonably friendly, no complaints, no commendations either. Was told when I checked in they don't do room service, which is probably for the best given breakfast.

I had asked for a double when booking the room but was given a twin. One of the beds smelt like shower gel, as if someone had just washed and then slept in it, and the bedding hadnt been washed since, which made me wonder what else hadn't been washed since the last person stayed. I slept on the other bed, which was fine.

In the morning I called down to get an iron and ironing board sent to my room. I was told to come and collect it if I wanted one. I've stayed at Premier Inns and other HIs and never had to go and collect. The room they keep the ironing board is a little cupboard under the stairs, which smells a bit strange, which wouldn't be a problem but this smell was then passed on to the shirt that I ironed. Not ideal.

Breakfast:
The cooked stuff didn't look particularly appetising, so stuck with cereal and yoghurt. The milk is in a kind of chiller machine that kicks out a load of heat on to the plastic boxes the cereal is stored in. It's weird, but not awful. The cornflakes don't really taste like cornflakes.

Overall, I'd say it's fine for location and good if you can get a cheap deal but I wouldn't pay more than £50-60 as the facilities really are quite basic.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavenNatski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your recent review. We always like to take on board all comments positive and constructive so we can continuously improve our service.

Warmest Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Went to concert and stayed here could not fault anything , every thing first class , if i had to be picky it would be some noise from street but nothing to moan about overall brill will use this Holiday Inn again .

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

It was fantastic to hear that you would use us again and that we were as you put it "the best yet!"

Warmest Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

I stayed here last week for the weekend. The hotel is in a great location, central to everything and the staff are so friendly! I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here, although it was only for 2 nights over the weekend it was great. A lovely hotel for those who wish to experience Glasgow and its surroundings, I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cruising50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your fantastic comments regarding your recent stay here with us at the Holiday Inn Express Glasgow Theatreland. I have discussed with my team and we look forward to taking care of you on your next visit to Glasgow.

Warm Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

My wife and I chose this hotel based on reviews and because of the free wifi and breakfast. It was my first visit back to Glasgow in 35 years so wasnt sure what to expect. Having just come from a 4 star Dubai Hotel I was prepared for the step down in amenities but was more than happy with the standard of what we received for the price. We had a view to the street, (understand that some rooms have no view), and a largeish corner room (171). There is no airconditioning so room was quite warm at night. Breakfast was standard fare, including some hot food, receptionists were always friendly and helpful. Due to a forced change to plans we ended up staying 5 nights and did day trips to Edinburgh, Stirling etc. Queen St train station is a short walk away and you can use the public car park directly opposite, which is not an inconvenience. Was cheap to park overnight.There was a shopping mall close by and a few restaurants/cafes, although the area seems to close down early. Glasgow city centre is not large, so it easy to walk further afield. Would stay again on a return to Glasgow.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mangereman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. Myself and the team were glad that your experience was a good one and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland Uk
Level Contributor
140 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night as we had an early departure to London the next day. While checking in the friendly receptionist asked us about our visit and on hearing that we were leaving on a early morning coach told us to contact reception later in the evening to arrnage an early breakfast. This was brilliant as breakfast normally doesn't start until 7. The room was very clean the beds comfy and the room was quiet considering in the middle of Glasgow next to the bus station. I would highly recommened this hotel to friends and family and would not hesitate to stay again. Breakfast was limited due to the fact that we went before it officially started but it was more than adequate for our needs and was included in the room rate.

Room Tip: if you have an early depature mention this to the reception and they will advise on how to go about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparkieplug24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I have passed your fantastic comments onto the team and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#30 of 95 in Glasgow
3,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,248 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#39 of 95 in Glasgow
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland

Property: Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Address: 165 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#31 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#34 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ideally situated in the heart of the city within the Theatreland district. Glasgow boasts a wide variety of shops, from high street stores to the fabulous Buchanan Galleries, the exclusive Princes Square and Italian Centre, and they are all within easy walking distance of the hotel. The hotel has 118 well appointed rooms and all rates are inclusive of continental breakfast and FREE Wifi access. The hotel has a bar which is open from 12:00 until late and a vending area where guests can purchase a wide selection of drinks and hot and cold snacks. The hotel is a perfect starting point for visiting the Highlands, Trossachs and other major towns and cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland Hotel Glasgow
Holiday Inn Glasgow
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing