We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great position and staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Ranked #32 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great position and staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

We stayed at the express for 2 night stay. The location is great a two minute walk into the heart of Glasgow City Centre. The staff were helpful with information and ordering taxi when required. The breakfast was good although be down for breakfast before 9:30 if you want any bacon. The bar was open till late and not bad prices. The rooms were comfortable with a two seater settee in the the standard room and also Sky sports 1 & 2 on the free-view. Will definitely stay at this Express Inn again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmcd242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review of the hotel. Its always great to see that the staff are as helpful as they can be. Customer service is of the utmost importance to the team here.
We look forward to your next visit to Glasgow.

Warm Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    460
    170
    37
    17
See reviews for
191
344
85
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

Hotel is close to shops etc,the room was clean and tidy,staff were excellent.Breakfast was nothing fancy and you were punished with no bacon if in after ten am,cant understand how hotels can run short on food.Would go back for location and room.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the hotel. All your comments have been taken on board and we use these to continually improve our service.

Kind Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

I booked this hotel because i was arriving by bus and it's only a 5 min stroll from bus station. The room comfortable, clean with everything you need. The only issue is that it's very difficult to see the TV while in bed.all Breakfast included in the room price which was a pleasant surprise and it was a very good spread. Arrive early to avoid the rush. Great stay and friendly staff

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deb255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for your kind review of your recent stay with us.

We hope to see you back in Glasgow in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester / Hampshire
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

Its difficult to review this as it 'probably does what it says on the tin'.... ie its a place to sleep.
It's challenging to be subjective without considering the price... I stayed on a corporate rate which was substantially lower than the rack rate shown in reception, which I was assured some people do pay.

The room was clean and reasonably equipped (for the price I paid) and the bed was comfy with a good choice of pillows. I sleep with the window open and it was noisy, but hey... this is the centre of Glasgow so I cant really quibble.

The part that REALLY disappointed me was the breakfast. I'm not sure I have ever eaten sausages which had neither taste nor texture, it was like eating the centre of white sliced bread.
The breakfast cafe, as others have described, is a bit like a hostel.

For the rate I paid, it's probably a reasonable location, but budget an extra £10 and go and have a nice breakfast somewhere else.

For the rack rate, it would be a shocking disappointment.

Room Tip: Try to see if there is a room away from the main road?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stuartAnthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkBurke, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your recent review. We always like to take on board all comments positive and constructive so we can continuously improve our service.
Thank You
Mark Burke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shotts, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

Fab room, only stayed one night. Sorely disappointed by breakfast and dining room facilities. Too basic and hostel like. Cooked breakfast dried out. Shame too cos room had been very good. Wouldn't go back based on the breakfast but all else very good. Quiet location away from biz of city centre. Friendly check in staff. Could be improved greatly just by improving dining area and hot breakfast provided.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkBurke, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your recent review. We always like to take on board all comments positive and constructive so we can continuously improve our service.
Thank You
Mark Burke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

My first visit to this hotel during my overnight stay in the city, I was pleasantly surprised. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly, the room was clean and spacious and very comfortable. Breakfast choice was good, even though there was no bacon available. Overall one cannot fault this place. With all the city attractions close at hand, I will certainly stay there again if ever I need accommodation in Glasgow city center.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkBurke, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking time to comment on your recent stay with us. Our staff and our central location are indeed a great asset to the hotel. We hope you will choose to stay with us again the next time you visit Glasgow.
Thank You
Mark Burke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

We enjoyed our stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was small for three but very clean. My friends felt it was cold in the room during the night but I can't say I noticed it being cold.
Parking was reasonalbe in car park across the road, great location.
We will definatly use this hotel again!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L_Finlay_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkBurke, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We look forward to seeing you next time you visit Glasgow.
Thank You
Mark Burke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
City Centre
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,058 reviews
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#35 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland

Property: Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Address: 165 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#31 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#34 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ideally situated in the heart of the city within the Theatreland district. Glasgow boasts a wide variety of shops, from high street stores to the fabulous Buchanan Galleries, the exclusive Princes Square and Italian Centre, and they are all within easy walking distance of the hotel. The hotel has 118 well appointed rooms and all rates are inclusive of continental breakfast and FREE Wifi access. The hotel has a bar which is open from 12:00 until late and a vending area where guests can purchase a wide selection of drinks and hot and cold snacks. The hotel is a perfect starting point for visiting the Highlands, Trossachs and other major towns and cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland Hotel Glasgow
Holiday Inn Glasgow
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing