We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fitted the bill...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Ranked #35 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fitted the bill...”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Visiting Glasgow for Hogmanay. The hotel is in a great location for the city centre and the car park opposite is very convenient (using the postcode for Theatre Sq car park seemed to indicate that it was a 0.4mile walk from the hotel rather than just across the road!).

The reception staff were very efficient, friendly and helpful and the place is very well kept. Great value for money.

Biggish niggle - only one powerpoint apart from TV in our room and we had to hunt that down (hidden under the table). I did notice after we had been there a day that there was a notice in reception saying we could ask for an extension lead which might have helped but the notice itself was not on clear display.

Just a couple of smaller niggles also mentioned by others - the breakfast room is very tight for space for the number of people using it BUT the waiting staff were highly efficient at clearing the tables and stocking up the food. The choice of food was very good I thought & I didn't miss bacon (though I am veggie!).

The lifts are a pain - small, slow and a bit temperamental. I used the stairs most of the time.

Overall though, I would highly recommend this hotel which was just what we needed for our stay in Glasgow.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Gail,

Many Thanks for your comments regarding your recent stay.

We hope to welcome you back to Glasgow in the near future!

Kindest Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    479
    174
    36
    18
See reviews for
195
359
86
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Spent a night with my family, staff went out their way to be friendly and helpful. Room small with the sofa bed down. Ate in the sister Holiday Inn's La Bonne Auberge which was to its usual high standard. The HI next door didn't have a family room hence us staying at the HI Express glad to see the high standards of the HI equaled in the Express.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ayr14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Ayr14,

Thank you for your fantastic feedback!

We hope to see you back in Glasgow again in the near future!

Kindest Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We have just returned from another visit to Glasgow and stayed in the Holiday Express in Theatreland West Nile street great welcome off the reception staff very pleasant and helpful as were all the staff including room maids and breakfast staff, hotel nice and clean and great value for money and you cant fault the location will certainly stay here again

Room Tip: ask for a room at the front of hotel as the rear side you look out to another building as to looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theteddybears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comments!

It is always great to read such positive comments about the team here at the hotel and that you would stay again!

We hope you will visit again soon!

Warmest Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I was here in November 2011, so it's been a while. This was my 1st stay in a Holiday Inn Express, and I must say I've gone on to be a real fan of the chain, beginning with my stay in Glasgow. The hotel is located a short walk from one of the primary downtown railway stations, and quite near the town center with shopping, theaters, and the like. This HIE is clean and completely comfortable. When I was there, they had a really wonderful restaurant & bar down stairs off their lobby. The staff was accommodating and polite, the whole place was sparklingly clean, and the room was super cozy and warm. BTW- note I "clicked" on Nov 2013- BUT I was there in Nov 2011.
Just to be clear. Details- such as my mention of the restaurant- may be outdated- but I assure you my room and overall experience there was wonderful. I see they carry a 4.6 out of a possible 5 rating here on TripAdvisor, so it seems everyone basically agrees.

Room Tip: Try their restaurant> Hopefully, it's still there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomBanksJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Tom,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the hotel!

We hope to welcome you to Glasgow again in the near future!

Warmest Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egremont, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Stayed here for a recent shopping trip, easy to find with the Sat Nav and discounted parking directly over the road. Very good location for shopping and bars with Walkabout being very near by and a few decent looking resturants.
Room perfectly nice enough, breakfast I thought was good although the breakfast hall is far too small and you have to loiter around getting in peoples way, waiting for someone to leave before theres a table to sit at. My friend also complained there was no bacon, mushrooms or fried bread, although this didnt bother me in the slightest!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louj999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Louj999,

Thank you for your review.

As a Brand Holiday Inn Express offers FREE breakfast which includes three hot items. These are sausage, scrambled egg and beans. Our sister hotel next door which is the Holiday Inn offer a full cooked breakfast which include all the items your friend was looking for. This can be purchased if required.

It was great to read that you found our location easy to find and took advantage of the discounted car parking we offer.

We hope to see you again in Glasgow for your next visit!

Warmest Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Overall, a typical HI Express. Rooms were clean and adequate size. Staff was especially pleasant, everyone we met--Front Desk, Cleaning Crew, Restaurant... Shower was also a pleasant surprise. Could adjust from too hot to too cold an pressure was good, so anyone can find a setting they like. As others mentioned, location is very convenient to downtown. Walking Street, many pubs and restaurants, and shopping are just a short walk.

For the negatives, the elevators are old and slow, the restaurant is small and cramped, and my usual pet peeve: no power outlet next to the bed. (Where do I plug in my phone that doubles as an alarm clock? Why haven't hotels figured this out?)

Overall, not bad. I'll definitely stay here again next time I'm back in Glasgow.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardKremer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Richard,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We take on board all comments our guests make in order to continually improve the service and quality we offer.

It was great to read that you would definately stay here again when you visit Glasgow, which we hope is in the not too distant future!

Warmest Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

Well placed in city centre, clean, comfortable and a good sized, albeit basic, room. The shower was not very powerful and that was on the downside but I would certainly stay here again and recommend it to others.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Tom,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay.

It is always lovely to read that our guests would recommend the hotel and stay with us again!

Warmest Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#30 of 95 in Glasgow
3,290 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#39 of 95 in Glasgow
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland

Property: Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Address: 165 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#31 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#34 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ideally situated in the heart of the city within the Theatreland district. Glasgow boasts a wide variety of shops, from high street stores to the fabulous Buchanan Galleries, the exclusive Princes Square and Italian Centre, and they are all within easy walking distance of the hotel. The hotel has 118 well appointed rooms and all rates are inclusive of continental breakfast and FREE Wifi access. The hotel has a bar which is open from 12:00 until late and a vending area where guests can purchase a wide selection of drinks and hot and cold snacks. The hotel is a perfect starting point for visiting the Highlands, Trossachs and other major towns and cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Nozio Netplan srl, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland Hotel Glasgow
Holiday Inn Glasgow
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing