We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Ranked #33 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Turriff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Marian Cheyne”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Spent my 70th Birthday in Glasgow and stayed here for 5 nights. The Staff were very friendly and helpful - they couldn't do enough for you. The location is very central with just a few minutes walk to Shops, Restaurants etc. The room was spotless and a nice comfy bed with the breakfast being a welcome bonus. On my next trip to Glasgow I will certainly book a room here and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariancheyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fantastic comments!

It is always great to read when our guests would return to the hotel and recommend us!

We look forward to your next visit!

Warmest Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    476
    171
    37
    18
See reviews for
195
356
85
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
107 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I've stayed here a couple of times now and it's a very price worthy hotel. Just a few minutes walk to the shopping streets as well as Buchanan bus station and right across the street from Glasgow Caledonian University. Staff is always very friendly and helpful, room nice and clean, breakfast included. It is not a luxury hotel but I have never missed anything during my stays here. The beds and pillows are very comfortable and I was not disturbed by any traffic even though I had a room facing the street.
I will stay here again next time I'm in Glasgow.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanna I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely comments. It is always wonderful to read when our guests are going to return again!

We hope to see you in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Tracey Sweeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Paid a lot for a small room. It's a pity when they built the place they didn't consider sound proofing and double glazing. Our costly room was right near a club, all night music, shouting, screaming. What a treat for the price . The TV was stuck in a corner - spend a buck and mount the thing on a wall please so we can actually see it. Breakfast was ok. Beds and bedding were ok. Room was clean. Front counter staff were friendly but we got different information from different staff about overnight parking- caused us confusion. Would be hard pushed to use again. No sleep and expensive room rate made for a terrible stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MaryannePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest,

I was sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We take on board all comments to enable us to continually improve our service. We are a city centre hotel and we have no control over the night club but I will be making the management there aware of the issue so thank you for bringing this to my attention.

Warmest Regards,
Tracey Sweeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed overnight as catching an early train. Great central location close to both Queen Street and Central Stations as well as the bus station. Fast and easy check in, friendly and helpful staff, comfy and clean rooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely comments!

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kindest Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
306 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Some of the comments in other reviews I have read seem a little unfair... Neither the chain nor this hotel set out to be top class - but then nor do they charge top class prices. I paid £75 for a midweek night, and think the value for money overall is good.

My room was clean and spacious. Breakfast is included in the rate and is absolutely ok - I never want more than toast/cereal, and that's provided!

Location is good.

Welcome by reception staff was warm.

I do have two grizzles... The lift (which others have mentioned) is a pain in the rear end - it doesn't like the room keys, and has a mind of its own. Having to use room keys is irritating (when juggling bags/kids etc) - at the very least it needs to work!

Also I think my room smelled of smoke. Smoking is banned, so there is little the hotel can do if guests break the rules other than air the room afterwards, I guess. But it wasn't great - I commented in the morning, so they had the option to try to air it more thoroughly for the next guest.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank You for taking the time to write your lovely comments.

We hope to see you back again in the near future!

Warmest Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed at the Holiday Inn for an overnight stop , close to Buchannon Street bus station and the city centre .Check in was prompt and hassle free .
The rooms were spotless with complimentry tea/coffee , free internet & sky tv , would highly recommend this Holiday Inn Express ..

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dazzBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Many Thanks for your kind comments.

We look forward to your next trip to the hotel!

Warmest Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express overnight after a concert at the Hydro and it was perfectly adequate for a one night stay. The rooms are not huge but decent and comfortable, with a choice of soft or firm pillows. However, there is only one plug in the room which is a bit of a nuisance when you need to use more than one electric appliance at a time. In my opinion, there should be an additonal plug by the mirror. There is a good choice of options for breakfast with cereal, eggs, baked beans, sausages, a selection of rolls and croissants, toast and yoghurts.

This would be a good hotel for those looking for a central location. Just a 2 minute walk to Buchanan Bus Station just along the road, 5 minutes walk down the road to Buchanan Galleries, the main shopping mall in Glasgow, 10 minutes walk from Glasgow Queen Street train station and a short taxi ride (it cost us just under £5) each way for the Hydro.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thunderchild2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments.

We offer extension leads at reception for our guest who require to use a few devices.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Warmest Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#31 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,197 reviews
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#36 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland

Property: Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Address: 165 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#31 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#34 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ideally situated in the heart of the city within the Theatreland district. Glasgow boasts a wide variety of shops, from high street stores to the fabulous Buchanan Galleries, the exclusive Princes Square and Italian Centre, and they are all within easy walking distance of the hotel. The hotel has 118 well appointed rooms and all rates are inclusive of continental breakfast and FREE Wifi access. The hotel has a bar which is open from 12:00 until late and a vending area where guests can purchase a wide selection of drinks and hot and cold snacks. The hotel is a perfect starting point for visiting the Highlands, Trossachs and other major towns and cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland Hotel Glasgow
Holiday Inn Glasgow
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing