We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocking service - Decent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Ranked #33 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

The location is good and hotel is clean.

Customer service is shocking here. Arrived the hotel waiting in the queue with my luggage to be served by a girl called Iseabal whilst scanning my room number key she asked me "when did you book the hotel " so I paused a moment as I have booked many hotels recently. I was then abruptly interrupted by the customer service manager "George" who said "it's quite a simple question" and laughed to himself (whilst serving someone else) not only was this embarrassing for me that two colleagues had practically ganged up on me it was embarrassing that there was another customer listening in that George was serving and a very busy queue behind me. I am appalled that a manager would address me in this way for taking my time to think.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Brandon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Guest,

I was sorry to hear that your experience here was not a favourable one. We take comments like this about our team members very seriously. As you can see from our countless reviews about the service and team here at the hotel, your experience is reflected very differently. Rest assured I will be investigating this situation.

Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

453 - 459 of 1,142 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed here whilst attending out son's graduation at the University and found the hotel to be clean, efficient and very popular. The location is ideal for the bus station and, via that, the airport. Staff are very friendly and the "free" breakfast is a bonus (although not top quality items). There is definite noise from the street especially late at night and early in the morning but we would certainly stay here again, it really depends how easily distrurbed you are when sleeping!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MaroonCases
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review!

We look forward to your next visit!

Kind Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is the Holiday Inn Express, Theatreland, at 165 W. Nile Street, and it should not be confused with the Holiday Inn Theatreland at 161 W. Nile Street. We got confused when making reservations. The HI Express is a good clean hotel that is typical of the chain.
What you should know: parking for the hotel is in the Concert Square car park which is across the street from the HI Express, but it's only entrance is on Cowcaddens Rd.The directions on the hotel web page take you to the front of the hotel which is useless since there is no parking in front of the hotel. If you follow the directions you will end up southbound on W. Nile Street, from which it is really difficult to get to the Concert Square car park entrance. Glasgow has a lot of one way streets. The hotel will validate your parking ticket to give you a 25% discount.

Room Tip: When driving to the hotel follow directions to the Concert Square car park, and not the HI Express H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Murrieta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank You for taking the time to write your review.

We hope to see you back again in the near future!

Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Came here on business with two others. It was clean and tidy but over priced compaired to better hotels in the are. Free breakfast but free for a reason as it is not very good. Did find a lot of noise from outside when they emptyed the bins at 6 in the morning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraigWaite27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I was sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your free breakfast. Our hotel complies fully with the Holiday Inn Express brand standards.

We take on board all comments from our guests to enable us to continuously improve our service.

Kind Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

A good hi express in a great location.... Fulfilled my needs during a small break in glasgow in march... It has a Good breakfast too.... One bad point is that it sits on an underground station so you can hear all the trains when they pass.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irishguy353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Warmest Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel with my daughter for a stop over before getting the coach to Manchester. Everything was excellent - from check in to leaving. The reception staff were friendly and welcoming, the room was spotless (a twin room), the beds were really comfy and we both had a great sleep ready for the journey ahead of us. The locality was ideal - close to cinema, shops, food outlets and the bus station. Breakfast was ideal with a wide choice of continental food - croissants, preserves, fresh fruit, bread rolls, toast, muffins, yogurts, cheese or hot items, sausage/scrambled eggs/beans. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Me O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank You so much for your lovely review!

We hope to see you again for your next trip to Glasgow!

Warmest Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed here for one night. Asked for a room high up and at the back, and they were very obliging. The room has everything you need and the bed was very comfy. It was also very clean. It I would stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatherineElizabeth80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments!

We hope to welcome you back again.

Warmest Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
City Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
#41 of 93 in Glasgow
1,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#34 of 93 in Glasgow
3,841 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,413 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland

Address: 165 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#28 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#30 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £54 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ideally situated in the heart of the city within the Theatreland district. Glasgow boasts a wide variety of shops, from high street stores to the fabulous Buchanan Galleries, the exclusive Princes Square and Italian Centre, and they are all within easy walking distance of the hotel. The hotel has 118 well appointed rooms and all rates are inclusive of continental breakfast and FREE Wifi access. The hotel has a bar which is open from 12:00 until late and a vending area where guests can purchase a wide selection of drinks and hot and cold snacks. The hotel is a perfect starting point for visiting the Highlands, Trossachs and other major towns and cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland Hotel Glasgow
Holiday Inn Glasgow
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing