We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“commonwealth games hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Ranked #35 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Having not stayed during the commonwaelth games as a volunteer I stayed a total of 2 nights during which the staff were very helpful and flexible due to the early hours I was returning from the games. Bar, breakfast and staff were very good and would highly recommend

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ramgorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank You for your great review!

We hope to welcome you back again!

Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,102)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

405 - 411 of 1,102 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Just a short weekend visit. Room was as expected - adequate without any frills. The best thing about the hotel is its central location in the heart of the city just off Sauchiehall Street and close to Buchanan Galleries.

Room Tip: Book early
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotsman22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank You for taking the time to write your review!

Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed at Holiday Inn Express for 1 night and wished it was longer. The room was reasonably sized however no air/con or fan. The hotel is in a good location walking distance to the main shopping streets of Glasgow along with a quick walk to a bus and train station. Breakfast was included however was average at best. Staff were lovely and happy to assist when needed.

Room Tip: Ask for a fan upon check in during summer months.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank halftimeharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

We hope to welcome you back in the future!

Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We booked here during the commonwealth games and feel it wasn't really clear at the time of booking, that this is a small version of a normal hotel room. That being said, the location is great, staff are friendly & helpful and the rooms are clean. If you are just looking for somewhere to drop your luggage off and to lay your head at night, this will suit you fine.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Partlyblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank You for taking the time to write your review.

Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I booked this hotel because of its location and it is close to the towns main shopping area. It was for my birthday weekend. The price was quiet expensive and they had added on an extra twenty pounds per night as their was three adults sharing a room. It is during the summer holidays and a week before the common wealth so expect prices to rise during these times.
The room would have been ok for a couple sharing a room but with three adult women it was a tight squeeze. You pay extra for having an additional adult so it would have been nice to have gotten a bigger room for the money. We struggled to make room in the small bathroom for our own toiletries and space to put our luggage. The room was very clean however, and so was the bathroom. the only downside was that our bin in the room was not emptied on the second day so was over flowing. We were also given three sets of towels when we arrived and on the second day these were replaced with only two sets. It was inconvenient especially as it is mid summer and we all wanted to have showers to get freshened up before we went out. The room had no air conditioning and the window only opens a small amount so we didn't have the best two nights sleep. Especially because we were in the city centre and it was extremely noisy. When I checked out and said abut the lack of air conditioning I was told it was because they were a holiday inn express and it is the holiday inn that has room conditioning. My advice is to book with the holiday inn to get air con especially in the summer months! I was also told then that I could have gotten an fan from reception, a bit late after two nights of restless hot sleep.
The staff were amazing though. Especially the girls in the dinning room. They kept the place clean and tidy and nothing was an inconvenience for them. My Aunt has some dietary needs and they were so helpful in giving her soya milk. The food was replaced quickly and there was always a great selection.
Overall I'd recommend this hotel if you are a young couple looking for a good weekend out or shopping. Id recommend if there is more than two people to get separate rooms as there is not a lot of space and the sofa beds are really uncomfortable!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MissT17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank You for taking the time to write your review. its always great to read comments about the team members.
We take on board all comments from our guests to help us continually improve our product and service.

Kind Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

The Holiday Inn Express Theatreland was an easy walk from Queen St station, and shops / cafés. Very clean hotel, enjoyed the buffet breakfast and convenience. Suited our short visit to Glasgow! Was slightly confusing with the Holiday Inn next door, it wasn't obvious that we needed to walk around the corner to the express hotel.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank BellaCerulean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank You for taking the time to write your review!

Kind Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This Holiday Inn Express is very typical of the brand but has a very small and hot breakfast room. The rooms are of a good standard. Good location for easy walking into the city centre and has a car park opposite it.

Room Tip: May not be suitable for an older person or someone with mobility difficulties as the hotel is up a...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RDAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank You for taking the time to write your review.

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Kind Regards,

Tracey Sweeney
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#38 of 93 in Glasgow
964 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland

Address: 165 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#30 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#33 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £69 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ideally situated in the heart of the city within the Theatreland district. Glasgow boasts a wide variety of shops, from high street stores to the fabulous Buchanan Galleries, the exclusive Princes Square and Italian Centre, and they are all within easy walking distance of the hotel. The hotel has 118 well appointed rooms and all rates are inclusive of continental breakfast and FREE Wifi access. The hotel has a bar which is open from 12:00 until late and a vending area where guests can purchase a wide selection of drinks and hot and cold snacks. The hotel is a perfect starting point for visiting the Highlands, Trossachs and other major towns and cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland Hotel Glasgow
Holiday Inn Glasgow
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing