We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drinks quality needs improved”
Review of Oran Mor

Oran Mor
Ranked #4 of 205 Nightlife in Glasgow
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A truly unique and stunning venue in the heart of Glasgow’s West End Formerly Kelvinside Parish Church, Òran Mór, Gaelic for ‘great melody of life’ or ‘big song’, is a thriving arts & entertainment venue in the heart of Glasgow’s West End. We offer a Victorian Bar and Whisky Bar, John Muir Room Restaurant and Brasserie Restaurant, Private Dining Room, Live Music venue, Night Club, and our stunning Auditorium with mural ceiling by Alasdair Gray. As well as hosting the now internationally recognised ‘A Play, A Pie and A Pint’ lunchtime Theatre, Òran Mór also provides the perfect setting for corporate and private events, weddings and ceilidhs.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Drinks quality needs improved”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Recently visited family and whilst there is a lot of character in the bar and have visited many times before it felt that the standards had dropped.

Our draught beer both times was very flat, hardly any life in them which for the price you are paying is not great. The pub also needs a clean and the bar and back bar were dirty and need attention. With so many great bars in the area Oran Mor needs to raise its standards.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank GR1UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    155
    67
    27
    80
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Very Expensive, Flat & Bitter Tasting Beer, Over 20 Minutes To Be Served At Bar!”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Attended a ceilidh here which was very poor!

* Rickety Seats
* No Air Con
* Both Beers On Tap Were Flat
* Took Over 20 Minutes To Get Served At The Bar
* Staff Looked So Depressing
* Poor Audio Quality For Singer

Helpful?
1 Thank Andyjstew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“jobworth bouncers”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Having came all the way from London for the commonwealth games, my partner and I heard a lot of good things about this place, so we headed there after a beautiful dinner in the Stravaigin (only having 1 bottle of red wine between four of us with dinner), we got to the door and the fat ginger bouncer asked where we have been Etc , we told them we had a meal and a bottle of wine between 4 of us and still did not get in, it was a sunday evening and I think the 2 waste of space that was the doormen just wanted to go home early as they was more or likely up early the next morning for a real job.

defo wont be heading there again!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank daniel_howard84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Wedding Venue”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Lovely venue for a wedding - staff and service excellent. Would definitely recommend this venue to friends and family.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JOHN P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice place - but overrated”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

If you are able to get into the venue past the jobsworth door staff then Oran Mor is a nice venue with one of the few beer gardens on Byres Road. There's a decent selection of drinks, although they are slightly overpriced, however, you do expect to pay a bit more on Byres Road. It's nice to go to Oran Mor every now and then but it's not somewhere I would routinely visit as there are far better pubs nearby.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oran Mor also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Oran Mor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing