We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Ranked #24 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Stayed three nights, 23rd to 26th March for special occasion. Our one bed apartment was excellent (thanks Robert), just been refurbished and no complaints whatsoever. Lovely furnishings and decor, comfortable and spotless. The extra room necessary when staying more than one night; much better than a cramped hotel room. We have stayed in many hotels in Glasgow including the Hilton, Marriot etc and this wins hands down! We visit Glasgow usually every month and wouldn't stay anywhere else now. The staff are friendly and helpful, especially Malcolm on front desk. The location is perfect. It can be bit noisy in the early hours with party goers on their way home but haven't marked down as it isnt the hotel's fault. Have already booked for next visit!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hapihols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Front Office Manager at Fraser Suites Glasgow, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Thank you for your review, I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, give me a call when you are ready to stay again and I will get you booked in.

Regards,

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    480
    319
    103
    40
    23
See reviews for
134
428
56
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
83 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Visit Glasgow at least 4/5 a year and have never stayed in Fraser Suites (normally a bit too expensive for our budget) but got a great deal for our weekend away with friends.

Two studio rooms for £56 per night. Slightly worried after reading a couple of recent reviews on Trip Advisor about standard of rooms but it is going through a refurbishment at the moment and our rooms were fantastic and we had no complaints whatsoever.

The studio we stayed in was the cheapest accommodation they offer and I thought the pictures on the internet might be a bit deceiving and would be smaller when we actually got there. I needn't have worried - much bigger and better than I had ever imagined and will definitely stay again (even if we don't manage to get such a good rate next time!).

Fantastic position in Merchant City and 50% off car parking in the Q Car Park directly next door with excellent secure parking making it only £6.50 per 24 hours.

I have only rated "sleep quality" as average as there was a mad woman on the street outside who between 3am and 6am in the morning was screaming at her partner so I couldn't get much sleep - it was a shame that the concierge in Fraser Suites hadn't heard this also and called the police to get them arrested and the noise might not have gone on so long.

Room Tip: Try and asked for a room at the back of the building and you might get a better night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ailsa1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Front Office Manager at Fraser Suites Glasgow, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Thank you for your 5* review!! I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Fraser Suites again.

regards,

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Really lovely apartment. Friendly and helpful check in staff. Really relaxing and would definitely stay again. In a great location near to all Glasgow has to offer . In a beautiful and historic building. Very happy.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Front Office Manager at Fraser Suites Glasgow, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Thank you for your 5* review! I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass your comments onto the front desk team.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Robert McLaughlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Right in the centre of candelriggs Glasgow. Top floor apartment. double bed in alcove, 3 piece suite, music centre, tv, kitchen area, beautifully decorated. this was a perfect location for an overnight stay when out in glasgow for a night out. 24 reception, car park right next to it. the room was spacious and very clean. reasonably priced, good quality furnishings, check in 3, chec out 12, i will definately stay here again and i will definately book the edinburgh suites when next going there for a weekend

Room Tip: the attic room had such character and having looked in a couple of others had more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgt063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Front Office Manager at Fraser Suites Glasgow, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Thank you for your review, I am pleased that your enjoyed your stay with us. Due to the age and nature of the building the majority of our apartments are different shapes and sizes.

I look forward to welcoming you back again, and remember to book direct for the best rate!

Kind regards,

Robert McLaughlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

This is a very central location in the Merchant City, close to pubs and restaurants but quiet at night. We stayed here one night and enjoyed a spacious room and good facilities. Breakfast was pretty standard but there were self catering facilites, so you could have provided your own. We would certainly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back and higher up (4th floor the highest)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajcdundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Front Office Manager at Fraser Suites Glasgow, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Robert McLaughlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Fraser Suites is a very classy name for what is really just an ordinary hotel. But it does have some advantages and the excellent location is one. On the edge of Merchant City the hotel is on the doorstep of many, many interesting restaurants, pubs and shps.

The rooms themselves - at least the one I had - was very spacious and it had an excellently equipped kitchenette with top class (Russell Hobbs) appliances. The room was furnished reasonably well but the "trendy" desk was quite rickety. The bathroom looked as if it had been recently renovated and was pleasant and functional - lots of hot water and a heated towel rail (much appreciated in a cold, damp Glasgow).

There is no restaurant in the hotel but a continental breakfast - basic but pleasant - is served in a small dining room. Complimentary tea and coffee are always available in the lounge adjacent to reception. It is just a short walk to a Tesco store to purchase any drinks or snacks you might want (there is no minibar).

I was a little put off by the nondescript foyer when I arrived and the creaking floors, but after a day or so I began to like this slightly quirky hotel which is quite different from the steretypical major offerings - and that is one of its charms.

Room Tip: If possible, avoid room 201. There is a very bright street lamp right outside the window and the il...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burleighboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Front Office Manager at Fraser Suites Glasgow, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Thank you for your review. Fraser Suites offer an alternative to a standard hotel, our rooms are at least twice the size of a hotel room and with each apartments offering cooking facilities we give you the freedom that a hotel cannot.

Although we do not have a restaurant on site we do have some of Glasgow’s best restaurants on our door step.

I hope to welcome you back to Fraser Suites, Glasgow again soon.

Kind regards,

Robert McLaughlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Stayed here on Sat 24th Feb for one night. Disappointed, as we really liked the concept & wanted to like this place, but we won't be back. The location is fine, the reception & main stairwell look impressive. The rooms (we were in a Deluxe Executive) are a great size and had been well appointed with good quality fixtures & fittings. Unfortunately, our room was very tired & in dire need of a refurb. An obvious lack of adequate cleaning (black edge round carpet skirting board, many marks on walls and furniture) & repairs (bathroom shelf & bathtub sticky, peeling & downright nasty) have reduced this property to poor value when compared to even a Premier Inn/Holiday Inn Express. Noise from the street below was also an issue as windows leaked sound as well as air. However, the noise issue can be expected on a Sat night in any UK city centre. We found the bed quite hard and uncomfortable but perhaps this would suite others. Room heating didn't go on until you inserted your room key into a slot on entering the room, meaning you always come back to a cold room. In perfect order, when newly renovated, this would have been a fine room with lots of space, but as it is there is very little to recommend. On checkout we mentioned our thoughts and were told they are due to be refurbished soon, but that is little comfort on your way out. Worst hotel/apartment experience for a few years. Only saving grace was that our stay was only for one night. If we'd been due to stay here for a few days, we would have checked out after one night & gone elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a clean room. Seriously.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilVegasFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Front Office Manager at Fraser Suites Glasgow, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Thank you for your review. I apologise that the standard of the room is not what you were expecting. We will be starting a full refurbishment of the building in July. Every room in the building will be repainted, new furniture, carpets, kitchens and bathrooms.

I hope you have not been put off staying with us in the future and I would like to show you our brand new rooms once refurbishment has been completed.

Kind regards,

Robert McLaughlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,242 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 95 in Glasgow
1,067 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraser Suites Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Suites Glasgow

Property: Fraser Suites Glasgow
Address: 1-19 Albion St, Glasgow G1 1LH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#11 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#29 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#29 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraser Suites Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a 19th-century renovated bank, the Fraser Suites are just 550 yards from Argyle Street, one of Glasgow's main shopping streets. An iPod dock and satellite TV are provided in all apartments, which are located in Glasgow's cultural quarter, Merchant City. A microwave oven and refrigerator feature in all apartments' kitchenettes, some include a dishwasher. Each spacious and contemporary living area has a work desk and DVD player, some feature large glass windows and a balcony. Bedrooms in the Fraser Suite apartments are light and airy and have modern furnishings. A hairdryer is provided in every private bathroom. Argyle Street Rail Station and Glasgow Queen Street Rail Station are both within a 10-minute journey on foot from the apartments. The Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre is 10 minutes' drive away. The Gallery of Modern Art and George Square are both a 10-minute walk away. Glasgow City Centre is a great choice for travellers interested in shopping for clothes, shopping and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fraser Suites Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Hotel Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing