We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and nice place for a base” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fraser Suites Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Ranked #22 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Galsgow
1 review
“Great location and nice place for a base”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

I stayed here in February with work and really liked the central location and general standard of the place. Some of the stuff had obviously seen better days but was fine. The staff were very helpful and pleasant and the rooms spacious and well set out. In May I returned with a mate for a weekend and could not fault it. With everything on your doorstep and it was a really good place for a weekend city stay in Glasgow.

Room Tip: ask for a room upstairs and overlloking the 'clock' much quieter than downstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Fraser Suites Glasgow, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Thank you for your review, I am pleased they you enjoyed your stay with us. We will be starting a full refurbishment at the end of July which will bring a new lease of life to all our apartments and I hope you will come back to see the improvements we have made.

Regards,

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    461
    307
    99
    37
    22
See reviews for
132
403
54
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

Spent two nights here on two different occassions. The hotel is ideally situated for walking to major attractions in Merchant City (People's Palace, the Old Necropolis, Police Museum). Shopping is two blocks away. The rooms are apartments which are self contained with microwave, fridge, huge beds, pull out sofa, separate bedroom and living area and large bathrooms. The staff are friendly and helpful. However, the noise from the streets is continuous. The bars are loud and noisy until 2 then the garbage men start at 3, wheeling bins, emptying bottles and cans in to the bins.....

Room Tip: The restaurant next door (Maggie Mays) offers a 20% discount for guests registered at Fraser Suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tour_Operator_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Fraser Suites Glasgow, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Thank you for your review, I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay and please accept my apologies for the noise you encountered. We are in the heart of merchant city and its always on the go, however, we do have back facing rooms that offer some peace and quiet away from the bustle of city life.

On you r next stay please request one of the back facing apartments.

Regards,

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night. The location is ideal for visiting Glasgow's merchant city. The room (119) was fine, but the noise from the room above was dreadful in the middle of the night. We could hear the floorboards creaking with every footstep, keeping us awake. The carpet was torn/worn and felt unclean. Also, all the 'artwork' in the room had a thick layer of dust, indicative of the lack of attention to cleanliness.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ATW2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Fraser Suites Glasgow, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Thank you for your review. Please accept my apologies for the noise that you experienced during your stay, we hope to resolve this when we refurbish the property at the end of July.

I have passed you comments onto our Housekeeping manager who will conduct retraining where required.

I hope you will come back and stay with us again.

Regards,

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

We were in Glasgow for a night to go to a Gig at the Barrowlands and the location of the suites is ideal. Right in the middle of the Merchant quarter with all the great pubs and restaurants within walking distance.

The rooms were spot on and the shower's fantasic. It was also great having a living area that we could have breakfast in the morning.

I used stay in Hotels when down with family and friends but will definately be back to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tunnywig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Fraser Suites Glasgow, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Thank you for your lovely review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

I have stayed at the Fraser Suites several times over the past four years, generally for one or two weeks, so a serviced apartment is better than a hotel. However, I would also recommend it for holidays.

It is well located in the Merchant City area, close to lots of bars and restaurants, and only 5 or 6 minutes walk to the main shopping area.

The rooms are large and contain a desk, sitting area and good kitchenette (microwave, fridge, toaster, kettle etc) which helps if you don't want to eat out all the time - there are several supermarkets within walking distance. The rooms now have free WiFi as well as TV/DVD. There are free washing and drying machines in the basement. The main downside is that rooms can be a bit noisy from the streets because of the location and the timber floors can be noisy from rooms above.

Breakfast is a simple help yourself affair with cereal toast and pastries plus juice/coffee/tea. However, there are a few cafes nearby and I recommend Rose and Grants on Trongate for excellent coffee and soup/sandwich lunches. It opens at 8am.

The staff are always friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AandM_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Stayed with Fraser Suites Glasgow for 3 nights in mid March and it was great. The room was huge and extremely comfortable. Excellent bed, excellent couch, high ceilings and a nice bathroom. There was som much room to spread out and a kitchen as well although we didn't use it. Only problem with the room was the 'normal' windows - would have preferred double glazed for sure as Albion St can be pretty busy and it's close to the corner of Argyll St also which can be really busy (with lots of buses). I think I may have read somewhere that the windows are a priority improvement for management - can't be sure though. It's a necessity though as it was pretty loud. But the highlight of our stay at Fraser Suites was definitely Murray at reception (I hope I've got the right person as I was told his name by one of his colleagues - dark hair and a goatee beard). He worked the afternoon/evening shift and was brilliant. Everything you'd want from a receptionist in Scotland - he's Scottish (merely a bonus but it's always nice to talk to a local), ridiculously happy to help, cheerful, full of recommendations/info/advice and just simply happy. He knows his job and he understands that guests are there to be looked after. Thanks Murray!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Evan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed here overnight on a Saturday. Booked thought hotels4u.com and got great rate of £71. Asked for a room away from main street - had paid for a studio apt and got a one bedroom suite. Have stayed here many times before. Rooms spacious and clean. Lots of great places to eat and drink on your doorstep and a short 10 min walk from queen street station. Always my first choice as a hotel in Glasgow - pays to check all websites to get best price.
Staff always friendly and checkout easy. Never bother with the breakfast, recommend Citation round the corner!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmurray71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,175 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
City Centre
Hampton by Hilton Glasgow Central
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraser Suites Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Suites Glasgow

Property: Fraser Suites Glasgow
Address: 1-19 Albion St, Glasgow G1 1LH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#11 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#29 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#29 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraser Suites Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a 19th-century renovated bank, the Fraser Suites are just 550 yards from Argyle Street, one of Glasgow's main shopping streets. An iPod dock and satellite TV are provided in all apartments, which are located in Glasgow's cultural quarter, Merchant City. A microwave oven and refrigerator feature in all apartments' kitchenettes, some include a dishwasher. Each spacious and contemporary living area has a work desk and DVD player, some feature large glass windows and a balcony. Bedrooms in the Fraser Suite apartments are light and airy and have modern furnishings. A hairdryer is provided in every private bathroom. Argyle Street Rail Station and Glasgow Queen Street Rail Station are both within a 10-minute journey on foot from the apartments. The Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre is 10 minutes' drive away. The Gallery of Modern Art and George Square are both a 10-minute walk away. Glasgow City Centre is a great choice for travellers interested in shopping for clothes, shopping and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Lastminute so you can book your Fraser Suites Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Hotel Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing