We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff very friendly apartment dirty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Ranked #24 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Oban
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Staff very friendly apartment dirty”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We stayed here back in 2010 and enjoyed the space in the apartment and the relaxed atmosphere however we have just returned from another 2 night stay and this time it wasn't as good. The majority of the staff are very helpful and friendly, however the man who checked us in was slightly less helpful. Last time we got a deal with breakfast thrown in but this time at check in breakfast wasn't even mentioned and he put through a pre-authorisation on my partners card and we were told this wouldn't leave the account, but by 8pm that night the money had left the account. The worst thing however was the state of the apartment. The bed had been freshly made but that was about it. The bathroom was disgusting with used tissues still in the bin and the kitchen had obviously been well used by the previous guests and hadn't been cleaned and there was still food and drink in the fridge. Also the heating was on full and we couldn't seem to turn it off so to get it cool enough to sleep in you had to open the window but then you had to try and sleep through the drunken revellers and the street cleaners. Overall a bit of a disappointment despite the great helpful staff. We probably would stay here again but only if we get a deal through a booking website.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clarebear_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Fraser Suites Glasgow, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that your return stay was not to the same standard, I have spoken to my front desk team regarding the information issued at check in to ensure all guests are fully informed of our facilities and what is included with their stay. The pre authorisation of your debit card on arrival will not show as a transaction on your account, however, the funds will be held by your bank.

With regards to the cleanliness of your apartment. I have passed this information onto our Housekeeping manager who has retrained her team where necessary.

I hope this experience has not put you off staying with us in the future.

Regards,

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    500
    333
    108
    42
    24
See reviews for
141
448
58
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Stayed while in Glasgow on business. Overall it was a pleasant stay and would stay here again. I was in a studio room, which was very spacious, tastefully decorated and well equipped. I appreciated the kitchenette - saving me money on food and creating the sense of home. The apartments are well located, close to bars, restaurants, shopping etc. My only real criticism is it is a little noisy - had to have the window open for ventilation, so there was noise from the street, plus niosy footsteps from the apartment above.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJ_Worldtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Fraser Suites Glasgow, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Thank you for your review, I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay. I have to agree that in some apartments the floor boards are a bit creaky, well the building is over 150 years old! We are however, looking for a solution to this problem which will happen during our refurbishment.

I hope to welcome you back to Fraser Suites again soon.

Regards,

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galsgow
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2012

I stayed here in February with work and really liked the central location and general standard of the place. Some of the stuff had obviously seen better days but was fine. The staff were very helpful and pleasant and the rooms spacious and well set out. In May I returned with a mate for a weekend and could not fault it. With everything on your doorstep and it was a really good place for a weekend city stay in Glasgow.

Room Tip: ask for a room upstairs and overlloking the 'clock' much quieter than downstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Fraser Suites Glasgow, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Thank you for your review, I am pleased they you enjoyed your stay with us. We will be starting a full refurbishment at the end of July which will bring a new lease of life to all our apartments and I hope you will come back to see the improvements we have made.

Regards,

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Spent two nights here on two different occassions. The hotel is ideally situated for walking to major attractions in Merchant City (People's Palace, the Old Necropolis, Police Museum). Shopping is two blocks away. The rooms are apartments which are self contained with microwave, fridge, huge beds, pull out sofa, separate bedroom and living area and large bathrooms. The staff are friendly and helpful. However, the noise from the streets is continuous. The bars are loud and noisy until 2 then the garbage men start at 3, wheeling bins, emptying bottles and cans in to the bins.....

Room Tip: The restaurant next door (Maggie Mays) offers a 20% discount for guests registered at Fraser Suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tour_Operator_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Fraser Suites Glasgow, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Thank you for your review, I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay and please accept my apologies for the noise you encountered. We are in the heart of merchant city and its always on the go, however, we do have back facing rooms that offer some peace and quiet away from the bustle of city life.

On you r next stay please request one of the back facing apartments.

Regards,

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night. The location is ideal for visiting Glasgow's merchant city. The room (119) was fine, but the noise from the room above was dreadful in the middle of the night. We could hear the floorboards creaking with every footstep, keeping us awake. The carpet was torn/worn and felt unclean. Also, all the 'artwork' in the room had a thick layer of dust, indicative of the lack of attention to cleanliness.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ATW2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Fraser Suites Glasgow, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Thank you for your review. Please accept my apologies for the noise that you experienced during your stay, we hope to resolve this when we refurbish the property at the end of July.

I have passed you comments onto our Housekeeping manager who will conduct retraining where required.

I hope you will come back and stay with us again.

Regards,

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We were in Glasgow for a night to go to a Gig at the Barrowlands and the location of the suites is ideal. Right in the middle of the Merchant quarter with all the great pubs and restaurants within walking distance.

The rooms were spot on and the shower's fantasic. It was also great having a living area that we could have breakfast in the morning.

I used stay in Hotels when down with family and friends but will definately be back to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tunnywig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Fraser Suites Glasgow, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Thank you for your lovely review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

I have stayed at the Fraser Suites several times over the past four years, generally for one or two weeks, so a serviced apartment is better than a hotel. However, I would also recommend it for holidays.

It is well located in the Merchant City area, close to lots of bars and restaurants, and only 5 or 6 minutes walk to the main shopping area.

The rooms are large and contain a desk, sitting area and good kitchenette (microwave, fridge, toaster, kettle etc) which helps if you don't want to eat out all the time - there are several supermarkets within walking distance. The rooms now have free WiFi as well as TV/DVD. There are free washing and drying machines in the basement. The main downside is that rooms can be a bit noisy from the streets because of the location and the timber floors can be noisy from rooms above.

Breakfast is a simple help yourself affair with cereal toast and pastries plus juice/coffee/tea. However, there are a few cafes nearby and I recommend Rose and Grants on Trongate for excellent coffee and soup/sandwich lunches. It opens at 8am.

The staff are always friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AandM_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
2,299 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 93 in Glasgow
1,132 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#40 of 93 in Glasgow
3,902 reviews
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraser Suites Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Suites Glasgow

Property: Fraser Suites Glasgow
Address: 1-19 Albion St, Glasgow G1 1LH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#11 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#28 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#29 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraser Suites Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a 19th-century renovated bank, the Fraser Suites are just 550 yards from Argyle Street, one of Glasgow's main shopping streets. An iPod dock and satellite TV are provided in all apartments, which are located in Glasgow's cultural quarter, Merchant City. A microwave oven and refrigerator feature in all apartments' kitchenettes, some include a dishwasher. Each spacious and contemporary living area has a work desk and DVD player, some feature large glass windows and a balcony. Bedrooms in the Fraser Suite apartments are light and airy and have modern furnishings. A hairdryer is provided in every private bathroom. Argyle Street Rail Station and Glasgow Queen Street Rail Station are both within a 10-minute journey on foot from the apartments. The Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre is 10 minutes' drive away. The Gallery of Modern Art and George Square are both a 10-minute walk away. Glasgow City Centre is a great choice for travellers interested in shopping for clothes, shopping and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fraser Suites Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Hotel Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing