We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem in heart of city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Ranked #23 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Stirling, Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in heart of city”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The Fraser Suites in Glasgow's Merchant City is a hidden gem. Tucked away just off the east end of the busy Argyll St retail thoroughfare, it offers all the comforts of home. The staff are very helpful and nothing is too much trouble for them. Even at its busiest period during the recent Commonwealth Games, the quality of service was excellent. I will definitely be making it my No1 choice for trips to Glasgow.

Room Tip: All rooms have a quirky, unique feel and the 4th floor rooms are particularly special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Operations Manager at Fraser Suites Glasgow, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear AlanLynn,

Thank you for your 5 star review! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us during the Commonwealth Games.

Fraser Suites Glasgow was molded into the former Bank of Glasgow so everyone of our rooms is different and as you say 'quirky' which certainty separates us out from other hotels in city. I am pleased that you found the team here helpful and I am thrilled that we were able to accommodate all of your requests, we all work hard here at Fraser Suites Glasgow to ensure that we continue to deliver Gold Standard customer service.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    482
    322
    103
    40
    23
See reviews for
134
431
57
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inveraray
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed here at the weekend, a really great place. superb location for Glasgows many restaurants & bars, friendly check in, rooms very well appointed, great to see a fan in the bedroom without having to ask. Bed really comfy, bathroom very well appointed.
Breakfast the following morning continental and service with a smile.
very friendly professional staff that all took the time to say good morning / evening. will definately return when in Glasgow next. Well done.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Operations Manager at Fraser Suites Glasgow, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear GM-LochFyneHotel,

Thank you for your lovely review, I am please to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location in the heart of Merchant city is idea for exploring this beautiful city and with some of Glasgow's best restaurants and bars on our door step you really are spoiled for choice. i will pass your comments into our team here, I am delighted to see that we are delivering our gold standard customer service.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Fraser Suites again soon.

Kind regards,

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
133 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Really torn with this place. There for the commonwealth games and paying 200 pounds a night. Great location, amongst it all but because its a listed building it can't have double glazing and boy, do you need it. If you are at the front of the building its one of the noisiest places I've ever stayed in. Shame because it really is quite lovely and the apartments modern and well equipped. Frankly as I like my sleep I would probably give this a miss in the future. On our last night we decided if you can't beat them join them. At 3am it was still lively.

Room Tip: Rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seedoubleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Operations Manager at Fraser Suites Glasgow, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear seedoubleu,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at Fraser Suites, I am delighted to see that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, I understand your frustration regarding the noise through the windows, as we are a listed building there is very little we can do with the actual window, however, we are in talks with specialists to determine if there is a practical solution to this.

We have rooms that face into the back of the property which takes you away from the hustle and bustle of the streets, when you next stay with us, give me a call before you arrive and I will try to arrange a back facing room for you.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a few days prior to the games and to say we had an amazing stay is an understatement. Top class apartments, amazing facilities and central to everything. The thing that really makes the place is the staff. WOW. Nothing we asked for was too much trouble, the guys during the day were great for local info and the guys at night (Neil, Callum and Derek) went out of their way to show us different restaurants, arrange cabs and even offered to take us into the restaurants that offer discounts and introduce us. We honestly couldn't have asked for more and will definately be back.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank socialscotsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Operations Manager at Fraser Suites Glasgow, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear socialscotsman,

Thank you for your lovely review, I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked the facilities that we offer. I am proud of my team here at Fraser Suites Glasgow and I am pleased that especially our night guys were able to demonstrate our commitment to delivering gold standard customer service.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed in the Fraser Suites for most of the Commonwealth Games. The standard of accommodation for a self catering hotel was of the highest order but the hotel had several key blemishes. The first week of the Games enjoyed particularly good weather and the Suites have no air con. Hard to believe but true. The only alternative was to leave the widows open and as you can imagine the noise was "truly Glasgow". Breakfast was average but certainly not anything special. Location is brilliant with reasonably priced parking adjacent to the front door. Staff throughout the Suites are outstanding. Nothing is too much trouble and reception staff in particular are excellent. I changed rooms several times and on each occasion the standard throughout the suites was great. Perfect location and many happy memories of my stay. Despite the blemishes I would be happy to return because of the convenience of the Suites to central attractions. Bit pricey so look around.

Room Tip: Rooms on the car park side appear to be quieter but check out the best rooms for peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Operations Manager at Fraser Suites Glasgow, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Richard B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. I am pleased you liked our apartments, They offer a large space to relax and enjoy, at almost 2 and a half times the size of a standard hotel room they are quite unique in Glasgow.

I am delighted that you found the team here at Fraser Suites 'outstanding', we take great pride in delivering a gold standard customer service.

Our location in Merchant city certainly put us at the heart of the Commonwealth games and Merchant city festival coupled with the amazing weather brought many thousands of extra people into the area, I'm sorry if the additional noise spoiled your stay, We are currently looking into a solution for the heat with in the rooms and hope to have this resolved soon.

I hope the next time you are in Glasgow you will stay with us again, check out our website for great new deals!

Kind regards,

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Here for the Commonwealth Games so circumstances a bit out of the ordinary and pricey! Despite the premium paid we were very pleased with our spacious accommodation. Beds very comfortable, lovely bathroom including bath. Only problem for me was noise (sash windows seem original so noise-leaky). Also it was hot so the only way of cooling off was to open the noisy windows- not great. Nice staff though.

Room Tip: If you don't want a lovely view of Glasgow centre you might get a quieter room at the back. Theo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Operations Manager at Fraser Suites Glasgow, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear LInda L,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased to see that over all you liked the rooms and facilities that are offered here at Fraser Suites Glasgow. I have to agree that our new Sealy beds are remarkably comfortable, and our apartments offer all the space you need for a relaxing break.

We are a B-listed building and our sash windows are the originals from 1855, we are working with a local specialist to refurbish these to help reduce the noise from outside, our back facing rooms although restricting your view of this lovely city offer a quieter aspect to the property.

I hope you will come and stay with us again soon.

Kind regards,

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everywhere
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Nice appartments. Clean, stylish and equipped. Helpful staff. Ok location.

Here's the but........truely aweful sound proofing, both at the windows and on the floors. We could hear every step of the people on the floor above, who seemed to walk around until 4.00am (which is their perogative), and every smash off a bottle as the numerous bars around the appartments cleared out their bottle skips.

I could not stand a second night.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Billandhistravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Operations Manger at Fraser Suites Glasgow, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Thrillbill,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent experience here at Fraser Suites Glasgow.

I am pleased to see that you liked the apartments and facilities here and found our team here helpful, we pride ourselves on delivering gold standard customer service.

I am sorry to read that you found the soundproofing was not to your expectations, we are working on a program with our windows to have them refurbished and have instructed our architects to review current between floor soundproofing and to make recommendations to improve this.

I hope you have not been put off staying with us and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,248 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 95 in Glasgow
1,076 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraser Suites Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Suites Glasgow

Property: Fraser Suites Glasgow
Address: 1-19 Albion St, Glasgow G1 1LH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#11 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#29 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#29 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraser Suites Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a 19th-century renovated bank, the Fraser Suites are just 550 yards from Argyle Street, one of Glasgow's main shopping streets. An iPod dock and satellite TV are provided in all apartments, which are located in Glasgow's cultural quarter, Merchant City. A microwave oven and refrigerator feature in all apartments' kitchenettes, some include a dishwasher. Each spacious and contemporary living area has a work desk and DVD player, some feature large glass windows and a balcony. Bedrooms in the Fraser Suite apartments are light and airy and have modern furnishings. A hairdryer is provided in every private bathroom. Argyle Street Rail Station and Glasgow Queen Street Rail Station are both within a 10-minute journey on foot from the apartments. The Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre is 10 minutes' drive away. The Gallery of Modern Art and George Square are both a 10-minute walk away. Glasgow City Centre is a great choice for travellers interested in shopping for clothes, shopping and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fraser Suites Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Hotel Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing