We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but hard to sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Ranked #23 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2010

We parked at the Q car park which is pretty much next door to the Suite, you get 50% off the fees but it can still add up. Check in is pretty quick, when we got to the room I liked the layout of it was surprised that the TV's were from the stone age but that wasn't a big deal.

LIKES - I really liked the location so close to lots of restaurants and bars, plus a corner shop and a Tesco Express about 5 minutes walk away. If you fancy watching a dvd they have a small library downstairs free of charge plus tea, coffee and hot chocolate by reception for free as well. The breakfast at £6 per person was cereal, bread, rollls, cakes and you can eat as much as you like.

DISLIKES - The one thing that has totally put me off going back to the hotel is the noise, I couldn't get much sleep on either night. The noise from outside and also the noise from within the hotel you could hear people moving above and glasses being thrown away outside. Expensive car parking charges even at 50% off! The place could have done with some touch ups, outdated carpet and equipment and the bed was rock hard!

We stayed here free of charge for two nights including breakfast so can't complain too much, Other than the noise and the expensive car parking charges I would have said it was a great place to stay but those things let it down!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cazzzie987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSGManager, General Manager at Fraser Suites Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2010

Firstly let me thank you for taking time to comment about your recent stay at Fraser Suites Glasow, feedback is vital to our buiness growth.
Its encouraging to learn that on the whole you had a pleasant stay.
We don't have car parking on site but the 50% discount for the neighbouring multi-story is below average compared to the rest of the City centre car parks. As for the TV's and decor, we are constanly making improvements within the property. The Maintenance team are very pro active in every respect.
I hope that we see you in the future as a returning guest of Fraser Suites Glasgow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

949 - 955 of 1,128 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2010

Looking for somewhere to stay for a wedding nearby we found the suites, going through booking.com got a great deal, it’s nice to stay in a place with more than two rooms!!
So easy to get to with a Q multi storey car par right next to the suites (you even get a discount for staying – a nice surprise to the end of the stay.)
All the team were very helpful and a very clean and tidy building.
Only down side was our room was next to the bins with no view, I wasn’t staying there for the view.
If I’m ever staying in Glasgow again the Fraser Suite would be a choice.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Big_John_Inthesmoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Stayed 3 nights and booked thru expedia. Service was okay. Lobby was quite smoky.
The rooms were clean and very large (we got the 1 bedroom apartments) and we really really appreciated the location (but was slighly noisy in the evening). It was walking distance to many museums, shopping on Buchanan and close to many nice restaurants. Doesn't include parking (they have a pay garage next door and as a Fraser suite guest you receive 50% discount, but might have to find street parking if you have a very early flight). There is no WiFi in the room which is not acceptable as it is a service apartment and seems to cater mostly to business travellers. The rooms do have cable for laptops, but it is not included in the room rates and are charged separately. I'd come back again, as I don't usually order room service; however if you are a business traveller and need the extra conveniences this might not be the place for you. The overall service could have been friendlier and more helpful. The windows also weren't properly sealed so you could still here the outside noise and some small flies could fly in.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slymaverick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

Stayed here on a business trip combined with several days of site seeing. Staff were great at check in and check out - free morning taxi service dropped us off at the train station and in city center each morning. We had room 408 which was nice, no view other than a parking structure, but I don't pay for views - I pay for the kitchen and other amenities.
There is a bar nearby and each night someone would go out and sort the bottles into the recycling (separate the clear, green and brown bottles) at 1:00am. Very noisy for my wife, but I slept right through it each night. No other issues with noise, even with a big football match during one night while we were there.
It is in a more residential part of town, I like this, but a short walk (3 -blocks) to the commercial, business and tourist part of town.
This is a good bargain,clean, friendly and I would recommend this to friends and stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve_88Cincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

We stayed at the Fraser Suites for 2 nights and throroughly enjoyed it. We had a one bedroomed apartment, which was spacious, clean and well maintained. We liked the flexibility of having a small kitchen area and found it a very relaxing place to stay.
Like many of the other comments we did notice some noise from outside, but I feel you would get that in any city centre at the weekend. Nickolay on reception was very helpful. Would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarebear_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

Stayed in Glasgow for 2 nights, Family of 2 Adults and 3 children aged 15, 11 and 9.

Booked a 2 bedroom apartment and it was huge, extra bed put into 2nd bedroom for the third child.

Great location and a great base for Glasgow, have stayed in numerous hotels in Glasgow over the years but if ever travelling with family again this will be my 1st choice. The half price parking next door is great as well

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevhoops1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

We stayed here as a last resort as all the 4 and 5 star accomodation in city centre was full. I was expecting much more and paid £120 for a night in a noisy, clammy un-clean room!
The carpets had stains on them, the windows were high up and you couldnt see out and the noise from Argylle street outside with bin lorries etc from 5am meant we had only 2 hours sleep !! It was like a 3 star hostel and i definately would not stay here again for any purpose!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrs-v-d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSGManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Glasgow, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2010

I am disspaointed to learn that you did not enjoy your stay.
Please feel free to call the property direct on 0141 553 4288 to discuss further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,418 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#40 of 93 in Glasgow
4,180 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
973 reviews
South Side
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
#5 of 93 in Glasgow
927 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraser Suites Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Suites Glasgow

Address: 1-19 Albion St, Glasgow G1 1LH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#11 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#14 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#29 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £58 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraser Suites Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a 19th-century renovated bank, the Fraser Suites are just 550 yards from Argyle Street, one of Glasgow's main shopping streets. An iPod dock and satellite TV are provided in all apartments, which are located in Glasgow's cultural quarter, Merchant City. A microwave oven and refrigerator feature in all apartments' kitchenettes, some include a dishwasher. Each spacious and contemporary living area has a work desk and DVD player, some feature large glass windows and a balcony. Bedrooms in the Fraser Suite apartments are light and airy and have modern furnishings. A hairdryer is provided in every private bathroom. Argyle Street Rail Station and Glasgow Queen Street Rail Station are both within a 10-minute journey on foot from the apartments. The Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre is 10 minutes' drive away. The Gallery of Modern Art and George Square are both a 10-minute walk away. Glasgow City Centre is a great choice for travellers interested in shopping for clothes, shopping and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Fraser Suites Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Hotel Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing