We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big space, clean, calm and great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Ranked #23 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Big space, clean, calm and great value for money”
Reviewed 27 November 2010

Stayed for the 2nd time at Fraser Suites, Glasgow. The first time had been not so good, with a fire alarm encounter that led me to write to the managers to complain. Heather McNamee responded, and could not have been more thorough in understanding the issues I raised, and in responding to them sympathetically and systematically. I was offered a free return visit. This was it. The rooms are amazingly spacious, clean, calm, and excellent value for money at about £65 per night - really great. In effect, a large apartment for the price of a small hotel room. The beds were comfortable, the kitchen area well equipped for 4 settings, the TV fine, and internet access (extra charge) working well. The staff were really super, smiling, precise and helpful in all ways, including providing an extra duvet when asked. Fresh towels, good sized bathroom with excellent shower. I'd be happy to go back for all those reasons, and will do...

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaulKomstanothin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    328
    106
    42
    23
See reviews for
136
439
57
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2010

This is a wonderful hotel. It is ideally located to see downtown Glasgow. It is in the middle of the Merchant District and within walking distance of all sorts of great resteraunts, bars, live music, clubs, and shopping without having to rent a car. After a hard night of drinking it is an easy walk back. The people of the city are great and you get a great chance to interact with them here.

It is very easy to get a tour of the surounding Scotish Highlands, Castles, Wallace Monument Loches, Whiskey Distilleries, etc. from here. Our tour picked us up right from the hotel and the tour guide was very friendly and informative.

The rooms are excellent, well furnished and modern. They are very comfortable and the suites are nicely set up with bedroom, living room and kitchen. They are not noisy as some reviews on other travel websites have stated. In fact I believe that anyone that would give these accomadations bad reviews are either very old or non adventerous and never leave the room. The beds are a little uncomfortable but not too bad and nothing a few drinks won't fix.

The staff is excellent. Teresa stood out ecspecially and was being super helpful, informative and friendly. She helped us get a tour of the country side when many of them were already booked and made numerous calls and inquiries while she attended her other duties to help us out. She had many helpful recomendations of things to do around town and always asked us if we were having fun with what we were doing when she saw us.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wicked0wild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2010

Myself and my girlfreind stayed here to catch a concert at the nearby Barrowlands. We had a studio apartment for one night and found it to be very comfortable and spacious and equipped with everything you need to make your stay as relaxing as possible. Will definately stay over again!

Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank barrymac82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupar Fife
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

Stayed one evening and was a little concerned after reading other reviews. I was booked in very well and found room on third floor 321 was perfect for our needs. Spacious and comfortable with fridges ,kettle toaster etc all as required simply buy bread spread and marmalade and all is fine for breakfast. The only down side is if you are a light sleeper the Glasgow street sounds are pretty bad after pubs ooze out at closing time! sounds flow through closed windows so drink plenty before sleeping!! I was perfectly happy with accommodation and would stay again though parking not available.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wyandour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSGManager, General Manager at Fraser Suites Glasgow, responded to this review, 27 October 2010
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Fraser Suites Glasgow. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and found our service and facilites to your satisfaction. I understand how the noise from the vibrant Merchant City below can float into some of the front facing apartmtments, I can only apologise for the lack of sleep you encountered. The rear facing rooms and floors on a higher level away from the city centre are much quieter. hope we have the chance to welcome you back to Fraser Suites Glasgow in the near future.
Kind Regadrs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

We parked at the Q car park which is pretty much next door to the Suite, you get 50% off the fees but it can still add up. Check in is pretty quick, when we got to the room I liked the layout of it was surprised that the TV's were from the stone age but that wasn't a big deal.

LIKES - I really liked the location so close to lots of restaurants and bars, plus a corner shop and a Tesco Express about 5 minutes walk away. If you fancy watching a dvd they have a small library downstairs free of charge plus tea, coffee and hot chocolate by reception for free as well. The breakfast at £6 per person was cereal, bread, rollls, cakes and you can eat as much as you like.

DISLIKES - The one thing that has totally put me off going back to the hotel is the noise, I couldn't get much sleep on either night. The noise from outside and also the noise from within the hotel you could hear people moving above and glasses being thrown away outside. Expensive car parking charges even at 50% off! The place could have done with some touch ups, outdated carpet and equipment and the bed was rock hard!

We stayed here free of charge for two nights including breakfast so can't complain too much, Other than the noise and the expensive car parking charges I would have said it was a great place to stay but those things let it down!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazzzie987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSGManager, General Manager at Fraser Suites Glasgow, responded to this review, 27 October 2010
Firstly let me thank you for taking time to comment about your recent stay at Fraser Suites Glasow, feedback is vital to our buiness growth.
Its encouraging to learn that on the whole you had a pleasant stay.
We don't have car parking on site but the 50% discount for the neighbouring multi-story is below average compared to the rest of the City centre car parks. As for the TV's and decor, we are constanly making improvements within the property. The Maintenance team are very pro active in every respect.
I hope that we see you in the future as a returning guest of Fraser Suites Glasgow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
In the smoke
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Looking for somewhere to stay for a wedding nearby we found the suites, going through booking.com got a great deal, it’s nice to stay in a place with more than two rooms!!
So easy to get to with a Q multi storey car par right next to the suites (you even get a discount for staying – a nice surprise to the end of the stay.)
All the team were very helpful and a very clean and tidy building.
Only down side was our room was next to the bins with no view, I wasn’t staying there for the view.
If I’m ever staying in Glasgow again the Fraser Suite would be a choice.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Big_John_Inthesmoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Stayed 3 nights and booked thru expedia. Service was okay. Lobby was quite smoky.
The rooms were clean and very large (we got the 1 bedroom apartments) and we really really appreciated the location (but was slighly noisy in the evening). It was walking distance to many museums, shopping on Buchanan and close to many nice restaurants. Doesn't include parking (they have a pay garage next door and as a Fraser suite guest you receive 50% discount, but might have to find street parking if you have a very early flight). There is no WiFi in the room which is not acceptable as it is a service apartment and seems to cater mostly to business travellers. The rooms do have cable for laptops, but it is not included in the room rates and are charged separately. I'd come back again, as I don't usually order room service; however if you are a business traveller and need the extra conveniences this might not be the place for you. The overall service could have been friendlier and more helpful. The windows also weren't properly sealed so you could still here the outside noise and some small flies could fly in.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slymaverick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,271 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#17 of 95 in Glasgow
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#40 of 95 in Glasgow
3,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraser Suites Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Suites Glasgow

Property: Fraser Suites Glasgow
Address: 1-19 Albion St, Glasgow G1 1LH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#11 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#29 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#29 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraser Suites Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a 19th-century renovated bank, the Fraser Suites are just 550 yards from Argyle Street, one of Glasgow's main shopping streets. An iPod dock and satellite TV are provided in all apartments, which are located in Glasgow's cultural quarter, Merchant City. A microwave oven and refrigerator feature in all apartments' kitchenettes, some include a dishwasher. Each spacious and contemporary living area has a work desk and DVD player, some feature large glass windows and a balcony. Bedrooms in the Fraser Suite apartments are light and airy and have modern furnishings. A hairdryer is provided in every private bathroom. Argyle Street Rail Station and Glasgow Queen Street Rail Station are both within a 10-minute journey on foot from the apartments. The Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre is 10 minutes' drive away. The Gallery of Modern Art and George Square are both a 10-minute walk away. Glasgow City Centre is a great choice for travellers interested in shopping for clothes, shopping and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fraser Suites Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Hotel Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing