We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value--good location, nice rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Ranked #24 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2011

Fraser Suites is a modern and welcoming hotel right in Merchant City. It's actually set up to be for long term stays, presumably for oil/gas/angus/whiskey bigwigs here for a few weeks or months getting their important executive on. There is a shuttle from the hotel to business-heavy parts of the city. Each room has at least a kitchenette with the necessary cooking accoutrement so one can settle into their ersatz home.

I stayed here for one night--Hogmanay. Considering it was the busiest night of the year in the city, the price for a studio room was very reasonable at £90 for the night. The room was large and inviting, complete with kitchenette, "living room" area (a sofa across from a TV) and a double bed.

There was a lot of noise from the street, but I am willing to wager that has to do with the particular night in question. Breakfast was not included, and was pretty costly for simple continental fare. The TV in the room was ancient and personally I would have preferred that it faced the bed, or were on a pivot so it could have been viewed from wherever in the room that one preferred.

For a short stay, this is a very nice hotel in a fantastic location.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pumpkinpasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,034)
There are newer reviews for Fraser Suites Glasgow
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

847 - 853 of 1,034 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2011

The hotel is not terrible, but I disagree with its own rating of "4 star equivalent".
No Wifi in bedroom: despite instructions left in the room on how to access WiFi, there is no connection in the rooms. Wifi at reception only. You need to go to reception and borrow a cable for £4.50. And no, they cannot bring the cable to you. You need to go and collect it yourself at reception. In my room, there was one plug for the cable only, next to a desk and away from my bed. Incidently, the connection was down the day I visited. The staff did absolutely nothing to help.
Noise: very noisy and poor double glazing in my room on the 4th floor. Was woken up at 03:00 by what sounded like a skip full of bottles being emptied.
Breakfast: awful. Really awful. No service whatsoever. The type of breakfast that would be acceptable in a modest B&B. Muesli our of a box, cheap yogurt and coffee from a thermos. As I left, I was chased down the corridor by a member of staff (invisible during breakfast) demanding I signed a list to prove I had breakfast - which is charged extra.
Room view: side street from one window, good view of another bedroom from another. Make sure you close the curtains.
Rooms are comfortable and clean, shower was fine. But I could get that at a cheaper place, with lower expectations.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carminita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2011

stayed here for 1 night in january,check in was really quick and i was early so brill service,i also had a phone call from reception checking if everything was ok with the room which it was. For £70 it was great value for money and i could have stayed longer if i had too, the only slight gripe has been mentioned in other reviews so i was prepared was the noise outside from late night revellers but this was of little inconvenience and no fault of the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

Stayed here at Hogmany because of the closness to George Square so it was a pleasant surprise when we got to the room and realised it was also a fantastic suite!

The studio room had a large bed, tv, cd placer, leather sofa, cooker fridge, microwave etc. Very spacious and great value considering it was cheaper than some hotel rooms.

It's right in the Merchant City, which is full of bars so right next to lots of night life, which was great, but also very noisy later at night - though this may just have been because it was Hogmany.

The only small complaints I have is that night security knocked on our door later at night to ask us to turn our music down, as were only had the tv on quietly in the background while we had a night cap I'm not sure who would have complained, especially with all the noise outside!
Some one also banged loudly on the door of our friends room next to us at 4am, again asking them to turn music down - we were all in bed, it woke us all up!

So other than strange problems with noise, these suits are great, very nicley furnished and would definetly stay again, but probably not on the weekend unless I was going on a night out and not too worried about a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trippy_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2011

I stayed in a 1-bedroom apartment my first night in Glasgow. Fortunately I was only at Fraser suites for one night. The hotel was very stylish, the staff was helpful, and allowed me to check-in 3 hours early. Apartment was very modern and clean. I'd have given this hotel 5 stars across the board if it wasn't for one major flaw. The sheets on our bed were like sandpaper, absolutely terrible. Both my girlfriend and I were red for a week after our stay at Fraser Suites because the sheets scratched our skin so badly. It's a shame because for the cost of the set sheets this would have been a marvelous place to stay. The sheets were uncomfortable and ruined the night's sleep. It ruined an otherwise perfect stay at Fraser Suites Glasgow.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PurplePoppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2011

We stayed at the Fraser Suites for Hogmanay/New Year's Eve. When we checked in the staff were very friendly and the welcome pack was very useful. We were also really pleased to hear that they were extending check out to 1pm as it was New Year. Ideal if you are preparing for a night out and won't be back until late. It meant that we could leave at our leisure. At this stage I want to point out that there is a £50 deposit - We seemed to miss this when we booked so just remember that!

The hotel room was huge. We were in a studio and it's basically a massive hotel room with a kitchenette, sofa, tv, stereo etc. It's fantastic because you have lots of room and aren't confined to a small hotel room. Although it was high ceilings and large space it was always warm - I noticed the heating was down to it's lowest setting but I found it a perfect temperature! The place was spotless - apart from the bath tub. It was really badly stained and to be honest they would need to replace the bath. It meant my husband and I felt uncomfortable about having a shower. With hindsight we should have perhaps asked for another room. The staff did phone our room just after we checked in to make sure everything was ok and that was our opportunity. It would not put me off staying there again as the rooms our friends were in all had perfectly fine bathtubs.

The suites were very secure. At one point staff came to our room to ensure it was only residents who were in the rooms. Also when we returned at night security staff checked our keys and names to ensure we were residents. Perhaps some might find this OTT but I felt that the staff were doing their best to make sure that we were safe.

The location is central, I didn't hear any music or much noise and there was no curry smell - as other reviewers have pointed out.

For the price I think it's ideal. If you are staying in Glasgow for a few days you may want a larger room and this is perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snoopy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2010

Our suite (two double beds) was huge, warm and had a wealth of facilities. The bed was very comfortable and there were no draughts or ambient noise.
The staff are extremely helpful, with one receptionist printing off a walking route of the venue we needed to reach. At one point, I thought I had dropped my phone in the street, and it turned out one of the cleaning staff had spotted it on the lift on our floor and handed it in. That recepetionist was extremely friendly and sympathetic and said she would have tried to ring one of my family members to advise them.
I would completely recommend this hotel. The location is ideal and it's very good value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smamfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 93 in Glasgow
2,328 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#39 of 93 in Glasgow
3,952 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 93 in Glasgow
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraser Suites Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Suites Glasgow

Address: 1-19 Albion St, Glasgow G1 1LH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#11 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#28 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#29 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £57 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraser Suites Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a 19th-century renovated bank, the Fraser Suites are just 550 yards from Argyle Street, one of Glasgow's main shopping streets. An iPod dock and satellite TV are provided in all apartments, which are located in Glasgow's cultural quarter, Merchant City. A microwave oven and refrigerator feature in all apartments' kitchenettes, some include a dishwasher. Each spacious and contemporary living area has a work desk and DVD player, some feature large glass windows and a balcony. Bedrooms in the Fraser Suite apartments are light and airy and have modern furnishings. A hairdryer is provided in every private bathroom. Argyle Street Rail Station and Glasgow Queen Street Rail Station are both within a 10-minute journey on foot from the apartments. The Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre is 10 minutes' drive away. The Gallery of Modern Art and George Square are both a 10-minute walk away. Glasgow City Centre is a great choice for travellers interested in shopping for clothes, shopping and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fraser Suites Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Hotel Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing