We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“needs decorating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
Ranked #88 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“needs decorating”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

stayed here for 1 night with my husband. Very friendly cheerful staff greeted us at reception. Given room 440 at the top of the hotel its quite a trek up the narrow winding stairs. Room was big and spacious and clean however the wardrobe is badly needing replaced, door was sitting at an angle and woodwork all scraped carpet in need of replacing also. Bathroom was big and clean. all areas of hotel really need decorating fixtures and fitting are very tired looking. Breakfast was freshly cooked and tasty, there was a good selection of fruit juices,cereals etc. If you are looking for a cheap basic hotel that is in the city centre then this hotel is for you.

Room Tip: ask for room on first or second floor stairs are very steep and narrow
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scully2052016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    158
    182
    99
    147
See reviews for
58
230
113
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012 via mobile

I was booked in here by someone else and it was paid for by the company I was working with, I would not have paid this myself as was very, very poor standard!!
I arrived to be met by a stressed out receptionist who complained about her colleagues as she had not been informed about my room being paid for.....check your system!!
I was then given the card for my room, on arrival at the room the bed was unmade, stuff on the floor and generally very messy and clearly not been cleaned!! I went back downstairs and was told the room should be finished.......errrr yes it should be!!
I was put in another room after asking for one they were going to make me wait until it had been cleaned!
New room ok but not tidy and paper falling off walls, tiles in bathroom missing, piddly shower and the TV had very poor reception rendering it unwatchable!!

Not the hotels fault, but drunken Glaswegians singing and fighting outside at 3 in the morning did not really add to the ambience!!

DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottyjp3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

Baarn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
121 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

I have read the other reviews and despite that I decided to book this hotel for one night. And I have to say that most of the reviews are true. It is a very old hotel and also run down. I know, for 39 pounds including breakfast you cannot expect much in Glasgow. What struck me most was the lack of WiFi altough they advertise with free Wifi. I was not able to get connection, not in my room neither in the lounge. My room was small but did the job. However my room was also facing the busy Union street which means noise. It is typically a room for one night only. Note that the hotel has no escalator. The tv didn't work properly, the shower didn't work properly. Breakfast is simple but not bad. Altough the juice was like yellow water. If you are not much demanding this hotel will do for one night only. The only plus is the location next to central station. Otherwise pay a little more for a decent hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing Union street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A.Brouwer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

very good value for money ,basic but very clean.Staff really pleasant and helpful,very central.we originally had a room on the front but asked to swap to a room at the back no view but much quieter.Staff were great,

Room Tip: rooms on the back much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrandMrsPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argyll and Bute
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2012

My Mum and I stayed here in May. We wanted something central and the price appealed to us.
The room was nice, very clean and comfy.
The toilet made a bit of noise upon flushing but that didnt cause us any problems.
The breakfast buffet was nice.
We were looking for basic, cheap and with breakfast and thats what we got. I would definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Argyll2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Stayed here for a night with work - arrived late and left early so wanted to be central and this is about as central as you can get, being next door to the mainline station. The hotel has seen better days - has a feel of a hostel about the rooms - lights hanging off the wall and some sort of mould growing in the Bathroom. All smelt a bit damp. Hotel shakes when buses go past outside. But... its less than £50 bed and breakfast for central Glasgow so I wasn't expecting the Ritz. Not really recommended but if its a cheap central bed for the night with no mod cons then its ok.

Room Tip: Suggest you get one away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012 via mobile

We recently stay here for 1 night. The location is very good only a few minutes walk from the main shops. Our room was very unclean and worn, the bathroom especially. It looked like it hadn't had a proper clean in a while. No toilet roll holder, the glass shelf which should have been above the sink was off and laying down the side of the sink which when removed looked pretty dirty. The shower was also not cleaned well, there was dirt on the shower rail which I easily managed to remove with my nail (not nice). They obviously need to improve the standard of housekeeping. I did not complain to the hotel as we paid a very low price but I don't think this should reflect how clean a room should be.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xLorax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Artto Hotel
Artto Hotel
#74 of 95 in Glasgow
530 reviews
Anderston
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Alexander Thomson Hotel
#68 of 95 in Glasgow
1,799 reviews
City Centre
Travelodge Glasgow Queen Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 95 in Glasgow
1,075 reviews
Point A Hotel Glasgow
#10 of 95 in Glasgow
332 reviews
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel

Property: Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
Address: 59 Union Street, Glasgow G1 3RB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rennie Mackintosh Hotel Glasgow
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing