We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud, outdated, but clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
Ranked #90 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Bowmanville, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Loud, outdated, but clean”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed here the night before we left by train to London. The location is perfect for catching a train. You pretty much roll out of bed and you are on the station platform which is nice. Our room was clean, although a little outdated. The main downfall of this place was that the window in our room would not close. This wouldn't be a problem if we were in the back part of the hotel, but our room overlooked the street. I am pretty sure every bus in Glasgow travels down this street, and we heard everyone. After the noise from the busses died down the bars let out, which meant listening to a drunk man singing some diddy at the top of his little intoxicated lungs for what seemed like two hours. Once we finally got some peace and quite we slept great. The next morning we had their traditional Scottish breakfast, which was pretty good, and were on our train in no time.

Room Tip: If you are on the street side, make sure your window closes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thekirkby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    156
    180
    99
    147
See reviews for
57
231
113
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Minus a lift this hotel is physically attached the train station. The staff never acknowledge you at any point and sit and play on their phones. If you don't mind being ignored and just need a bed for the night then this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Getmetothehotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

As I approach the street I was quite taken aback as not really what I expected and even more so when I saw the only signs of a hotel was a board on the building and no frontage like most hotels and had to go upstairs for reception. However when we got unto reception I was pleasantly surprised and hotel was having new carpets laid and being painted. Staff were ever so friendly and although we couldn't get into room the said we could either wait in lounge area or could leave bags and go out. We got up to room and found we couldn't close window but there was a bit of a knack to doing it and soon had it remedied. Also had problems locking door but wasn't a big deal and reception said it was in hand.
The hotel is in an ideal spot if you want to be in the middle of it all. We were on the front and in warmer weather could be noisy if you wanted to sleep with window open.
All the staff were very friendly and made our stay very enjoyable. Hotel isn't The Ritz but its clean and comfortable and for what we paid it was a bargain and will definitely be back.
Thank you to all the staff for a lovely stay

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gdd125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

I must confess when I saw some of the reviews posted on TripAdvisor, I actually travelled to the hotel with some trepidation. However, I found the hotel to be a lot better than expected.

I was staying in a single room facing the main road, and generally found it perfectly acceptable for my stay. Yes it certainly isn't a "modern" room, but it was clean and comfortable, and included useful facilities such as tea and coffee and a hair dryer. The only slight downside was the windows do not block out much noise from outside. There was a small problem with a light switch in the room as well, however, I was most impressed as I think staff rectified the problem whilst room cleaning took place, without me even having to inform them.

Staff were very friendly and helpful during my stay.

The breakfast at the hotel was fine and had no complaints. Obviously there wasn't a big choice but what there was, was perfectly satisfactory.

I think the important thing to remember is this hotel is situated in an old building and I don't know if the company who own the hotel are actually restricted in the renovations they can actually do. For example, there is no lift in the hotel and an awful lot of stairs.

One thing I would recommend is that signs be put up just to indicate where the room numbers are situated in the building. When you climb so many stairs it can get a bit disorientating and you lose track of where you are without guidance.

For what I paid I didn't find the hotel to be too bad at all and I haven't been put off going back there.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Mazzaroo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna
Level Contributor
172 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The hotel is centrally located next to Glasgow central station. This position is perfect to visit the city.
The hotel is nice but it really needs some renovations

The room was not bad (although old) and it was decently cleaned.
Our room was facing hope st and it was terribly noisy at night and you could clearly feel the vibrations of the buses.

Breakfast is good with a decent choice of food.
They don't have wifi

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank popamiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Didn't really expect much based on the price we were paying. Room was comfy and bathroom was clean. Disappointed that they no longer offer a 24 hour. Seemed to be that everything happens at 6pm.
decor is a bit tired but I think most hotels are like this.
Don't stay in room 101 as the toilet makes a weird noise in the middle of the night
Would stay again.

Room Tip: Stay away from 101
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grangemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Another good stay at this hotel. Staff are great, WiFi in the bar and plenty of tea/coffee etc in rooms. Also the added luxury of cookies and bottled water.
The hotel is a little tired but the big comfy beds make up for it. Look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MhairiChisholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Alexander Thomson Hotel
#69 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
City Centre
Artto Hotel
Artto Hotel
#75 of 96 in Glasgow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#36 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#42 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel

Property: Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
Address: 59 Union Street, Glasgow G1 3RB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rennie Mackintosh Hotel Glasgow
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing