We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very reasonable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
Ranked #86 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Very reasonable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Travelling with a littel trepidation having read the reviews -turned out I had no need to worry at all. Excellent location literally a minute from Glasgow Central station. The doorway was being painted when I arrived but not a problem at all. Immediately acknowledged by the staff on reception who were very friendly and courteous and gave directions to my room. I booked a single room, very comfortable sleep, lovely bathroom and a nice bonus to have the full range of Freeview channels which is rarely the case these days.

I can see why people might think it is a bit of a maze, but I managed to find my room easy enough even after returning from a few beers. Admittedly I did miss breakfast (because of said beers and choosing to stay in bed!) so it would be nice if it was served a little later than 9am, but that's my own lazy fault!

I reserevd my room less than a week before travelling and was able to cancel up until the day before if necessary for no charge and it cost only £39 for the lot so no grumbles at all from me!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeytherMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    154
    175
    96
    140
See reviews for
56
221
112
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

It is one of the few budget hotels that has 24 hour reception which is needed when flying in from overseas. Pleasant staff and a great location. Easy walk to trains and buses and the city centre. However I did not like the people hanging out in doorways in the street outside, and the number of beggars.
A good selection of food for breakfast. We asked for a quiet room and got it. Reasonably clean but badly in need of up-dating and repairs. The door to our bathroom did not close properly and could not be locked.
The room was too hot and we couldn't open the window. Beds comfortable and clean.
Would I stay again? Probably not. No lift and lots of stairs.

Room Tip: Worth the price if you don't mind the state of the building and you're not travelling alone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank punkingirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowmanville, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed here the night before we left by train to London. The location is perfect for catching a train. You pretty much roll out of bed and you are on the station platform which is nice. Our room was clean, although a little outdated. The main downfall of this place was that the window in our room would not close. This wouldn't be a problem if we were in the back part of the hotel, but our room overlooked the street. I am pretty sure every bus in Glasgow travels down this street, and we heard everyone. After the noise from the busses died down the bars let out, which meant listening to a drunk man singing some diddy at the top of his little intoxicated lungs for what seemed like two hours. Once we finally got some peace and quite we slept great. The next morning we had their traditional Scottish breakfast, which was pretty good, and were on our train in no time.

Room Tip: If you are on the street side, make sure your window closes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thekirkby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Minus a lift this hotel is physically attached the train station. The staff never acknowledge you at any point and sit and play on their phones. If you don't mind being ignored and just need a bed for the night then this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Getmetothehotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

As I approach the street I was quite taken aback as not really what I expected and even more so when I saw the only signs of a hotel was a board on the building and no frontage like most hotels and had to go upstairs for reception. However when we got unto reception I was pleasantly surprised and hotel was having new carpets laid and being painted. Staff were ever so friendly and although we couldn't get into room the said we could either wait in lounge area or could leave bags and go out. We got up to room and found we couldn't close window but there was a bit of a knack to doing it and soon had it remedied. Also had problems locking door but wasn't a big deal and reception said it was in hand.
The hotel is in an ideal spot if you want to be in the middle of it all. We were on the front and in warmer weather could be noisy if you wanted to sleep with window open.
All the staff were very friendly and made our stay very enjoyable. Hotel isn't The Ritz but its clean and comfortable and for what we paid it was a bargain and will definitely be back.
Thank you to all the staff for a lovely stay

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gdd125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

I must confess when I saw some of the reviews posted on TripAdvisor, I actually travelled to the hotel with some trepidation. However, I found the hotel to be a lot better than expected.

I was staying in a single room facing the main road, and generally found it perfectly acceptable for my stay. Yes it certainly isn't a "modern" room, but it was clean and comfortable, and included useful facilities such as tea and coffee and a hair dryer. The only slight downside was the windows do not block out much noise from outside. There was a small problem with a light switch in the room as well, however, I was most impressed as I think staff rectified the problem whilst room cleaning took place, without me even having to inform them.

Staff were very friendly and helpful during my stay.

The breakfast at the hotel was fine and had no complaints. Obviously there wasn't a big choice but what there was, was perfectly satisfactory.

I think the important thing to remember is this hotel is situated in an old building and I don't know if the company who own the hotel are actually restricted in the renovations they can actually do. For example, there is no lift in the hotel and an awful lot of stairs.

One thing I would recommend is that signs be put up just to indicate where the room numbers are situated in the building. When you climb so many stairs it can get a bit disorientating and you lose track of where you are without guidance.

For what I paid I didn't find the hotel to be too bad at all and I haven't been put off going back there.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Mazzaroo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna
Level Contributor
172 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

The hotel is centrally located next to Glasgow central station. This position is perfect to visit the city.
The hotel is nice but it really needs some renovations

The room was not bad (although old) and it was decently cleaned.
Our room was facing hope st and it was terribly noisy at night and you could clearly feel the vibrations of the buses.

Breakfast is good with a decent choice of food.
They don't have wifi

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank popamiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Alexander Thomson Hotel
#68 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,733 reviews
City Centre
Artto Hotel
Artto Hotel
#75 of 96 in Glasgow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Merchant City Inn
Merchant City Inn
#87 of 96 in Glasgow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#35 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel

Property: Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
Address: 59 Union Street, Glasgow G1 3RB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rennie Mackintosh Hotel Glasgow
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing