We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst hostel ever”
Review of Bluesky Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bluesky Hostel
Level Contributor
58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“worst hostel ever”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I stayed here 2 nights in July 2014. unfriendly blonde woman at the reception, people swearing all over. I got my food stolen from the fridge even with my name and date on it and also from the shelf. really dirty, especially the kitche, the toilets and showers, most of the time even without toilet papers. plugs for charging phones or computers weren't working in the rooms and at the common area there was only one plug and always the same people using it. cheap and good location but I wouldn't be back there ever. I would not reccomend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
56 Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    33
    32
    26
    88
See reviews for
4
20
52
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Hostel is well located and the atmosphere is great inside with friendly staff and good interaction between guests. Dont expect much in a 18 bed dorm £10/night hostel but its a bed for the night and reasonable facilities, with a good party atmosphere to boot. Bed was comfotable enough and didnt have any issues with the bathroom. Wifi worked well for us.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nickd94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halletts Cove, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Pros:
Friendly vibe & staff

Cons:
No working power points in room or hall way as suggested
Wifi not very good (when you could connect)
Toilets doors had locks falling off, and holes in wall
Shower looked dirty
Bath mat was soaked and smelt bad
My bunk bed had been fixed with duct tape and held up with a book!!
My mattress was too small for the bed, and could feel springs through it. Very uncomfortable.
One morning we woke up to vomit in both the sinks and up the stairs and reported this to staff but it wasn't cleaned for atleast an hour. And we were told just to use another bathroom.
Noisy hallways - and our room was situated right next to the busy toilets and bathroom. Lots of people coming home early in the morning.
No elevator (which I know can't be helped in most cases of old buildings, but it was a struggle to carry big bags up 2 big flights of stairs!)

All in all, I would not recommend and will definitely not be back. It seemed like nothing had been fixed or updated in this place for a long time.

The only positives were that the staff were friendly and inviting, Always ready to party!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
38 Thank Georgia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

Bucks- UK
Level Contributor
121 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I stayed here to check it to take a group later in the year and would say it is like a youth centre crossed with a student house. People are friendly and it is like you are staying over with friends. So if you are looking for hotel quality and facilities maybe a hostel will not be your cup of tea.
It is near to Charing Cross rail station and just along the road from the Kings theatre.
There is a kitchen area for self catering option should you wish to make your own food - or you are not far from bars and restaurants nearby.
PS There is a resident dog so if you are scared of dogs I thought i would point it out- its friendly and not very lively so cant see it being frightening at any point :-)
There wasnt any storage space so this is why i would say it is more for backpackers or those living out of a case/ rucsack. The beds were all bunk beds with linen, shared showers and toilets on the floors. I did wonder if all beds were full how long the shower queue may get lol but i was alone in my room. Which had free wifi.
If you are travelling alone- young and wanting to make friends from all over the world then you get to do this as well as have a place to sleep, at the price you cant grumble which is why for a budget traveller -who is happy to get what you pay for- an ideal place.

Room Tip: Book with friends or to make friends to make it a better stay (go for less beds dorm)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank UvulaRoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

If you love drinking, parting and never sleeping this place is for you. Staff are not helpful, very rude and the owner acts like a child. The hostel to spread over two buildings, the one across the road from the reception looks more like a crack house than a hostel. Glad to be out of there!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
50 Thank Amy Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Bluesky is the best hostel if you like to party!
It has the best vibe. The staff are all so friendly and make you feel very welcome. Good facilities, close enough to shops. Although be aware there is a Hostel dog... Freaked me out a little, but he is friendly :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rachel_Anne13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Maybe I was an unlucky guy but they give me a bed in a dormitory with no sockets to plug in phones or laptops and the bunk bed were I was sleeping it shaked a lot when climming up to it.( one of the legs of the bed it was lying over a book!!!) ( A shame)
Toilet sometimes a bit dirty. And the shower had a low flow of water.
Otherwise price is cheaper. And there's people living in it for long term who are very friendly and kind.
And I think they are planning to enhance it for this summer.

Room Tip: My conclusion is don't back again so far this changes for good and they show evidences of it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
27 Thank Stevie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toddP898, Manager at Bluesky Hostel, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Oh my god!!! We leveled the bed with a book! The world is going to end!

Some of the dorms do not have electrical sockets because of people in consideration for other guests. It is not polite or acceptable to watch movies or play computer games or chat on facebook all night while people are sleeping or trying to also people get might their phones stolen when the leave them in the open to charge them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#52 of 95 in Glasgow
203 reviews
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#50 of 95 in Glasgow
915 reviews
Alba Hostel Glasgow
#10 of 49 in Glasgow
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Merchant City
Euro Hostel Glasgow
Euro Hostel Glasgow
#20 of 49 in Glasgow
1,250 reviews
Glasgow Youth Hostel
#3 of 49 in Glasgow
165 reviews
City Centre
Glasgow Metro Youth Hostel
Glasgow Metro Youth Hostel
#27 of 49 in Glasgow
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluesky Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluesky Hostel

Property: Bluesky Hostel
Address: 65 Berkeley Street, Glasgow G3 7DX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Glasgow
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IF YOU ARE NOT A BACKPACKER DONT COME HERE YOU WONT BE HAPPY!!!!! Can i be any clearer than that? . We are a 1 star backpacker hostel in the city centre of Glasgow. We offer basic self catering accommodation at the cheapest price in town! We cater strictly to the 18 to 35 age group. so if you are old and cant climb bunk beds don't come here! If you like to meet people and have a great time you will love it here. We will do our best to make sure you have some fun or we will point you in the right direction to find it! We are 150 meters from the best party street in town. 5 blocks of pubs , bars , casinos, fast food, theatres ect. No children allowed. No grumpy old people allowed. if you are antisocial cheapskate who has to update facebook every 15 seconds because you have no idea ho to communicate AFK and only booked here for the price you will not be happy here. All facilities are shared.All rooms are coed we dont have male or female rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bluesky Hostel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing