We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bunkum Backpackers”
Review of Bunkum Backpackers

Bunkum Backpackers
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glasgow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bunkum Backpackers
Toulouse, France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bunkum Backpackers”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

A very nice Hostel in the center of the University area, botanic gardens, Hunterian Art Gallery, Hunterian Museum, Kelvingrove Museum all very close to this hostel. Private rooms and dormitory, kitchen facilities, nice stairs, the house is really nice and the service too. I recommend it to everyone who have a small budget in Glasgow !

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tatiana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    7
    7
    11
    4
See reviews for
1
7
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ivano-Frankivsk, Ukraine
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Bunkum Backpackers is a cheap place to stay so one shouldn't expect much of it. The location is not bad, there is a great pub nearby. However, this is not the cosiest and cleanest place. Comfort is minimal.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

Hoorn
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Stayed in the twin room wich was beautiful. Showers were a bit shabby but clean. Kitchen was poorly equiped (no glasses) and could use some updating. Not enough seating in the kitchen.
A nice location , quiet but safe, didnt feel unsafe at all. Nice restaurants and pubs nearby.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Locationis terrible, at the top of the hill, you need to go down evrytime you want to do
something.
The manager and his Lady are rude, no hello, they don't care for anything.
They don't want the people staying in during the day, so they turn off the heating as he told me. He also explainded he can't afford it financially, so where do the money go?
The sheets smell as if they were not cleaned. the lounge has a TV on all the evening, it is not
a quiet place.The bed are not comfortable. The shower does not run properly to have a relaxing moment, and could be cold.
They would be helpfult for workers, not for students. Yes they practise difference of treatment among guests.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ra a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trencin, Slovakia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

very kind people, clean, not so overstuffed with people, subway station and city-tour station were very close... if I travel to Glasgow, I will choose Bunkum again :)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatkaZakova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2011

Before staying at this hostel I thought that the hostel I worked at (at the time) was dirty but it was nothing in comparison to Bunkum.. dirty/musty-smelling rooms. Doubt the comforters are ever cleaned and possibly the same with the pillowcases.. Was given a sheet sewn to another sheet to sleep in... essentially a bag.

A man I met on the street told me that its a safe area (near the University) but as a solo girl I didn't feel comfortable walking here at night - Glasgow's known for being unsafe and the streets around bunkum are deserted, even mid-day.

The doors to the rooms don't lock.

I thought the guy working there was kind of creepy but he was really nice about it when I checked out early and he gave me a refund, so he's alright in my books.

Obviously with hostels you get what you pay for but in the end I was happier paying extra for the Euro Hostel and getting a clean bed.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexjmz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

This was the first stop in a 3-week tour of Scotland and not a great introduction. Our room was spacious enough but the bedding was shocking and the mattress was very thin. The bathrooms were dirty and unsanitary. The proprietor was very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seapointdoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
The Alfred
The Alfred
#65 of 95 in Glasgow
60 reviews
West End
Belgrave Hotel
Belgrave Hotel
#92 of 95 in Glasgow
106 reviews
West End
Clifton Hotel
Clifton Hotel
#73 of 95 in Glasgow
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#71 of 95 in Glasgow
292 reviews
West End
Argyll Western Hotel
Argyll Western Hotel
#3 of 36 in Glasgow
336 reviews
Glasgow Youth Hostel
#3 of 49 in Glasgow
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunkum Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunkum Backpackers

Property: Bunkum Backpackers
Address: 26 Hillhead Street, Glasgow G12 8PY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Glasgow
Number of rooms: 36
Also Known As:
Bunkum Backpackers Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing