We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Ranked #22 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2011

We stayed for the second time at the Holiday Inn and we were not disappointed. The rooms have been updated since we last stayed and are very smart and clean. The location is great with cinema across the road and the shopping galleries nearby. The hotel restaurant was booked up at the time we wanted to eat, but we can recommend Di Maggio's below the Express Holiday Inn next door. It was good value, very good food and quick friendly service.

Room Tip: Try the tour bus from George Square £11 for 2 days
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdashy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireInglis, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive comments regarding your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit to our hotel.

For shoppers, our hotel could not be better located.

Your comments about our refurbished rooms are much appreciated.

Thank you again for your comments. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Claire Inglis
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,063)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

897 - 903 of 1,063 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2011

Stayed at the Holiday Inn for a couple of nights mid week and bought tickets to sample the Comedy Festival that was in Glasgow at the time. The hotel is in a great position for shopping and is right in the centre of the city. I am a member of the Holiday Inn Priority club and always usually stay in the Express next door to this hotel but decided to go with the Holiday Inn as they were doing a dinner bed and breakfast deal. I put in a request on my booking for a high floor and views over the Concert halls, but on check in I was given the second floor and views of cooling towers on a roof and an office block, Nice. The room was very odd in its set up. You almost fell onto the bed as you opened the door then there was an expanse of space with a sofa and table away at the other end and a mirrored wardrobe with a telly on top if it. We had the telly on and attempted to watch it in bed but our necks were in agony having to twist around to view it. The bed was a standard double with a very soft mattress so you felt like you were rolling about a bit. We both thought the bathroom was very small and cramped. Everything was spotlessly clean though, so that was good.
The first night we ate in the hotel restaurant and the meal was lovely but the waitress was not very good. She was possibly new and still needing more training as she was tipping plates about and spoiling the appearance of the meals. Her own appearance needed work as well, very scruffy and untidy looking, not what you would expect staff of a 4 star establishment to look like. The breakfasts both mornings were nice with a good choice of food and very polite service from the waitress`s working then.
We did enjoy our stay but I prefer the size and layout of the rooms in the Express above the Holiday Inn as they are designed better and the bathrooms are certainly more spacious.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank montysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireInglis, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2011

Thank you for submitting such a thorough review on the hotel. I take on board your comments regarding our waitress and this has been addressed.

I was pleased to read you found the majority of the services to your satisfaction during your stay.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2011

Stayed here for one night whilst going to the Ballet at Theatre Royal. Excellent, clean room, fabulous dinner and breakfast for a great price. Cannot fault service or experience. Will definately stay again when in Glasgow

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HighlandHeidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireInglis, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2011

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2011

Recently stayed here on a overnight stop,between bus journeys i chose this hotel as it was so close to the bus station, very handy having left luggage saved me having to pay at the bus station.Hotel was pricy through there own website but i got a good deal booking through a third party website.Very clean and comfortable and a much better standard than some other hotel chains.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scotsguy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireInglis, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2011

Thank you for posting your thoughts on here. We really value your feedback.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

Only complaint about this hotel is that it is time for double glazing!! Room was to the back of the hotel, decent size and clean but oh so noisy from the pubs etc. Receptionist when I checked in was lovely and very pleasant.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amc15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireInglis, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2011

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at the hotel and especially the kind comments regarding our receptionist.

The hotel's excellent location in the heart of the shopping and theatre district does inevitably mean there can be unavoidable noise from traffic etc. However the rooms on the rear of the hotel are quieter and should you be returning to the hotel in the future you are very welcome to request a room on this side which we will do our best to accommodate.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2011

This hotel is in the perfect location, 2 minute walk from shops, nightlife and theatres etc which is great in Glasgow when it is raining! Our room was small but spotlessly clean and the staff were really friendly and attentive. It is an ideal location and great value for the quality and service, perfect pick for a brief city stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lonely_Plankton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireInglis, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2011

Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit and I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

I stayed here for four nights recently working at a client immediately around the corner. The hotel is in a great location in the city centre close to the rail station, myriad eating opportunities and theatres and cinema right across the street. In some ways it doesn't seem to be a regular style Holiday Inn in that it clearly hasn't been spercially built but has been converted for the purpose and this shows through in the room design. The rooms are small but contain everything you need and there is an unusual wardrobe arrangement where it is across the corner of the room and the television set at a neck-breaking height above it. My room was at the back and was quiet although I did seem to struggle to remain asleep which is not like me, I'm not sure if you had a street facing room how that would be. The cleanliness was excellent as was the service provided by the staff. The lift to the higher floors is painstakingly slow, I could have scaled the outside of the building faster although I do wonder what the advantage of staying here over the Holiday Inn Express which is immediately next door is? One tip, book a room rate only as there are plenty of other breakfast options within minutes of the front door.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireInglis, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2011

Thank you for your review of your recent stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit . Thank you once again for your comments and I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#38 of 93 in Glasgow
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland

Address: 161 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#29 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#30 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £75 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland is ideally located in heart of the city's Theatreland district located in the heart of the city centre. The hotel is a perfect base from which to explore the many tourist attractions of central Scotland or enjoy the shopping in Glasgow which has some of the best selction of shops in Europe. The hotel benefits from a central location close to the M8 motorway and within walking distance of both Glasgow's rail and bus stations. All rooms have been completely refurbished in 2015. All rooms have modern individually controlled air con, 40 inch flat screen TV's with the full BT Sports package. The hotel has an award winning brasserie La Bonne Auberge that has been awarded an AA Rosette every year since 1997. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing