We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Ranked #21 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 1 September 2011

I stayed at the Holiday Inn for a Saturday night at the end of August. The location is great just up the road from the Buchanan Galleries. We parked in the multi story opposite which was very cheap - only £4.70 over night. The breakfast was very nice with both hot and cold food items. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claire277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireInglis, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 2 September 2011
Thank you for your recent review of the Holiday Inn Glasgow Theartreland hotel and for such great comments.

The location is very central near the shops, restaurants, bars, cinema and theatres. When Reception validates the car parking tickets for The Concert Square car park across the road from the Hotel, guests receive a discount.

Thank you again for all your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Claire Inglis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    384
    138
    43
    25
See reviews for
113
381
71
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorks
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We booked this hotel at the last minute and found out that its location could not have been better.
The hotel lobby is a little cramped and looks tired but when we got to our room we were pleasantly surprised by how fresh and clean it was - we would say newly decorated. The room was fairly small but it did have all the necessary facilities.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mummysmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireInglis, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 31 August 2011
Many thanks for your feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Glasgow Theartreland.

I was delighted to hear that you found out location could not have been better and I was pleased you thought our rooms were fresh and clean.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Claire Inglis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Korumburra, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights and found it an ideal location. Friendly helpful and courteous staff gave valuable advice. All in all great ecomonic and convenience value.
Easy access to shops, theatres and comfortable walk to both major bus and train transport points.
All hotel facilities were comfortable, though we did find the room AC a little too warm.
However, their complimentary breakfast was a bonus.
Thank you to Holiday Inn - Glasgow, well done, and we would definitely stay with you again.

Room Tip: Request cooler rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoelJean_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireInglis, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 27 August 2011
Many thanks for your feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Glasgow Theartreland.

I am glad you found our staff friendly, helpful and courteous. We pride our self on our customer service. The Hotel is in a very central location with easy access to shops, theatres bus and train transport points.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Claire Inglis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Booked in for a couple of nights but wish it could have been longer. Excellent service. Room could not be faulted and breakfast in La Bonne Auberge spot on. Reduced rate on car park nearby was a bonus. Recommend this as a city centre stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank astrase2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireInglis, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 27 August 2011
Many thanks for your feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Glasgow Theartreland.

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Glasgow and I was pleased you thought our service was excellent, La Bonne Auberge was spot on and out reduced rate car parking was a bonus.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Claire Inglis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington dc
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

I picked the wrong week to travel to Glasgow as 90% of the hotels were booked months ahead of time thanks to a boy band reunion that had the UK in an uproar. The Holiday Inn was not my first choice, or my second, but I needed something local as we weren't renting a car and while taxi and subway were options I wanted to be within walking distance to as much as possible. I was very hesitant to reserve rooms at a Holiday Inn but they were the only location that had everything I needed.

The rooms were average sized - big compared to London but smaller than the average US hotel of the same grade. Family of 4 traveling including 1 teenager. Got one executive suite and one regular suite and the only difference we could find was that the executive had a minibar and two robes, otherwise the rooms size and amenities were the same.

The bathrooms were small but the shower had good force and the fixtures were all new. The beds were comfortable, and the rooms had AC which was nice because the hotel was booked and noisy at night, having the AC fan on was good to cover up some noise from the people in the hallways. The elevator was tiny and you need your key card to operate it, and when people were checking in or out there could be a long wait to use it. The staff seemed nice enough, no problems there. We were disappointed with the breakfast, certainly seemed overpriced and under-quality, we only did that once.

We could walk to dinner and shopping, and movie theater was across the street, and just a short walk to the Glasgow Cathedral

It wasn't luxurious or fancy but it was comfortable, and it served its purpose, nothing worth taking photos or someplace I'd recommend as the hotel you MUST stay at, but you could do a lot worse. About what you would expect for the price.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uk2007tracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireInglis, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Thank you for your recent review of the Holiday Inn Glasgow Theartreland hotel.

I was very disappointed that you did not enjoy our breakfast with us as much as you would have hoped. I have passed your comments regarding our breakfast to our Executive chef. Corrective action has been taken to help prevent any similar recurrences.

I was pleased you liked our location. We are very central, near all the shops, bus and train stations and local attractions.

I hope your experience with our breakfast has not deterred you from staying at the hotel in the future as it would be lovely to welcome you back and try and restore your faith.

Yours sincerely

Claire Inglis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2011

we realy enjoyed our stay the hotel was just perfect not too big and not too small.
rooms nice and very clean , stuff very frindly specially room attendand can clean your room any time would you like. :) good location in heart city centre

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maydavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireInglis, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Many thanks for your feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Glasgow Theartreland.

It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Glasgow. We also appreciate the kind words you said about the staff, the cleanliness and location. I have passed on your feedback to our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Claire Inglis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Nice hotel, clean, very friendly helpful staff, stayed when Take That in town so high rates, then stayed week after, more reasonable rates, Hiendel Suite, is the room to go for, broad windows, more space, stayed in a Executive room, for the following week, small windows, nice view of wall.......lol
Complimentary Mars Bar & Water, excellent fast wirelesss internet, excellent breakfast to start day, make sure ask for eggs you want, i.e. fried, poached, instead of just scrambled on offer, obviously fried & scrambled for me.....
No grumbles, if in Glasgow again, would definetly go back..........

Room Tip: Hiendel Suite is one to ask for.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyDaveUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireInglis, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Many thanks for your feedback regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Glasgow Theartreland.

It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Glasgow and I appreciate the kind words you said about the staff, your accommodation and your dining experience’s. I have passed on your feedback to our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Claire Inglis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#35 of 96 in Glasgow
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
2,200 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland

Property: Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Address: 161 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#30 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#30 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland is ideally located in heart of the city's Theatreland district located in the heart of the city centre. The hotel is a perfect base from which to explore the many tourist attractions of central Scotland or enjoy the shopping in Glasgow which has some of the best selction of shops in Europe. The hotel benefits from a central location close to the M8 motorway and within walking distance of both Glasgow's rail and bus stations. All rooms have been completely refurbished in 2015. All rooms have modern individually controlled air con, 40 inch flat screen TV's with the full BT Sports package. The hotel has an award winning brasserie La Bonne Auberge that has been awarded an AA Rosette every year since 1997. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing