We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Pleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Ranked #21 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Another Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We have just returned from a night's stay here and it was very good.From the moment we checked in to check out it was great.The hotel has a nice warm feeling as soon as you enter thru the automatic doors.Greeted by a nice smile on reception very professional check in.Our room was lovely seemed to be newly decorated and a good size with air con also comfy bed and a good nights sleep.We were on a D,B&B basis and this was a very good deal as the restaurant is a nice size with a good atmosphere.Served by two lovely young ladies Iona and Kirsty they couldnt do enough for us,and always with a smile.As for the food it was just Fantastic,not what you would expect from a D,B&B deal in our experience of the past.It was all cooked from fresh for us non of this made in the morning stuff put in the fridge then serve at night.

Down to breakfast in the morning after our good nights sleep.This consisted of a great selection of food.Fruits,cereals,breads etc.Then onto the cooked mmm everything here all types of eggs prepared for you from fresh to go with your bacon sausage mushrooms oh and black pudding,all washed down with fresh orange juice.We have stayed here quite a few times in the past and it never lets us down.The hotel is a five minute walk from Queen st. station and is central for all the nice bars and restaurant in the area.

Thanks to you all at the Holiday Inn Theatreland.

Room Tip: nice cosy room 211
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielSBell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear Anne and Robert,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

I was delighted too see that you enjoyed every aspect of the hotel from great service through to our fresh orange juice!

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    409
    143
    43
    26
See reviews for
119
400
74
268
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

I continually use this hotel whenever I am in business in Glasgow, despite the choice of other hotel options within the group. The hotel continues to deliver excellent service, has superb front desk customer service and a fantastic restaurant in 'La Bonne Auberge'. For the business traveller and sport enthusiast, a full compliment of 'Sky Sports' is available in the rooms, along with wifi.
Always a speedy check-in and check-out. The room service menu comes from the 'La Bonne Auberge' restaurant and is always of a fantastic quality. I always look forward to staying there, and as a 'Platinum Elite' member, I use the IHG group on a weekly basis, and by far, this is my favourite hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianmurray124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielSBell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Dear Brian,

Thank you for such a lovely review of the hotel. I will certainly pass on your comments so our staff. I have the pleasure of working with a highly motivated and caring team.

I see that you are a keen sports fan and make full use of our sky sports package, we have sky sports available in all of our bedrooms.

I do hope to welcome you back soon.


Kind regards,


Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

My partner and I were going to the theatre in Glasgow and decided to stay over at the Holiday Inn. The location is great for the Kings Theatre, the shops and the cinema opposite. The room was on the top floor which we hoped would be away from the noise but you forget the 'joys' of Glasgow on a Saturday night! The room was spotless, the bed comfortable and the bathroom spotless with a great shower and fluffy towels. The staff were very friendly especially Maria at reception who had a smile for everyone. We had a meal in La Bonne Auberge in the hotel which was very nice and reasonably priced. Breakfast in the morning was good, plenty of choice from full Scottish to toast and marmalade. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to others. Well done Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigHScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielSBell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

I was delighted to see you really enjoyed your time here. It was great to read that you would recommend our hotel to others!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

stayed here for two night,good clean hotel cant really fault it,except heating was not working properly,hotel close to buchannan bus station,would use again

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oneabbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielSBell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for taking time to review the hotel.

It was great too see that you enjoyed your time here in Glasgow.

I was sorry to read that your had a problem with your heating, we have recently changed all of our heating units in the rooms and haven’t had any reports of them not working. I have instructed our maintenance manager to check all of our units to make sure that they function correctly.

We look forward to welcoming back to Glasgow in the future.


Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
islay
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Centrally located, yet quiet hotel. Small rooms but quality bathroom fittings. Above average standard of reception staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank creavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielSBell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for reviewing the hotel, I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay here.


Kind regards,


Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

The hotel is very well located for theatre & cinema in the centre of the city and provides an excellent base for a short city break. The friendliness of the staff and the quality of service were first class. The room facilities were faultless and the breakfast in the restaurant were of the same standard. Combined with a reasonable room rate the overall package deserves the highest commendation.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silver70s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielSBell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel. I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your time here and thought we are first class.

I can see from your profile that you are an experienced traveller so to receive your highest commendation is high praise indeed!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Kind regards,


Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thurso, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Excellent service in the restaurant and especially at reception. Our room was very comfortable and absolutely spotlessly clean. The food (breakfast and dinner) in La Bonne Auberge was very good. We have absolutely no complaints to offer and will certainly return to this well run hotel in the Centre of the City..

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielSBell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
Dear John,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I was delighted to see that you really enjoyed your stay. I also seen that you enjoyed the full La Bonne Auberge experience, our restaurant is an award winning restaurant that also rates highly on tripadvisor.

Thanks again for taking the time out to review the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,


Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
2,297 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland

Property: Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Address: 161 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#29 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#30 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland is ideally located in heart of the city's Theatreland district located in the heart of the city centre. The hotel is a perfect base from which to explore the many tourist attractions of central Scotland or enjoy the shopping in Glasgow which has some of the best selction of shops in Europe. The hotel benefits from a central location close to the M8 motorway and within walking distance of both Glasgow's rail and bus stations. All rooms have been completely refurbished in 2015. All rooms have modern individually controlled air con, 40 inch flat screen TV's with the full BT Sports package. The hotel has an award winning brasserie La Bonne Auberge that has been awarded an AA Rosette every year since 1997. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing