We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Deal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Ranked #21 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Deal”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Mu Daughter and I are just back from a two day stay at the Holiday Inn Theatreland, this was a one night stay deal with evening meal included and what a bargain, we had a lovely quiet room, very comfy beds, the staff were so friendly and helpful and the food was excellent and of course the hotel is so central and close to the bus staion, thank you for a super two days.

Room Tip: Ask for a back room if you would like it quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivs22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielSBell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear Viv,

Thank you for your kind review of the hotel. I was delighted to read that you really enjoyed your stay here and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    398
    142
    43
    26
See reviews for
115
395
72
262
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
166 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This hotel is ideal for theatre visits and within easy reach of public transport. Very close to Royal Concert Hall. Everything required for a comfortable overnight stay is provided. Very good breakfast- buffet and freshly cooked to order. Pre-theatre menu is very good value for money in The Bonne Auberge restaurant in the hotel. The dinner, bed and breakfast package must be difficult to beat for quality and value. Would not hesitate to stay here again. Also checkout is not until noon so time to shop at Buchanan Galleries before leaving.

Room Tip: Higher floor at back away from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandHattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielSBell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.

I was delighted to see you enjoyed your time here and found it great value for money.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.


Kind regards,


Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

This is one block from the bus station, close to City Center, and concert hall. The rooms are small but clean. Breakfast was excellent and the staff was very helpful. Was able to keep our luggage in storage after checkout for the afternoon. Location, price, breakfast, clean rooms, and helpful staff would bring me back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wibech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielSBell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your recent review.

I was delighted to read your comments and will share this with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.


Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2012

As a Tour-Leader, I stayed here with a group recently..
The Staff were very efficient and friendly and eveything went very smothly.
The rooms were great, the location terrific.
We were on bed & breakfast. - Breakfast was very good with substantial choices and attentive staff.
For dining, good choice nearby including good in-house French Restaurant and a good Italian right next door. !

On a personal note : I left an item of jewellery in my room upon departure. As soon as I realised, I spoke to staff; they took my number and sent a maid up to the room.
Within 10 mins, they phoned back to confirm having found it. Luckily, I was still in City with group so could call back later to collect it.
They could not have been more helpful.. Special mention to Daniel :-) !!


A. Casey, Tour-Leader

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angie136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEGlasgowManager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your stay and the team here at the hotel.

I have passed your comments on to the delighted team here and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Tracey Sweeney

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Reasonable price and although you know what to expect from a Holiday Inn, this is unfortunately on the lower end of the expectation scale. Room was ok but it was a little bit wiffy and seemed 'well used' to be polite. Staff were present but didn't really seem that interested in taking care of the people in the hotel. Great location for a girls shopping trip but other than that this hotel was distinctly average. A lick of paint and a smile every now and again would make a huge difference!

Would I go back to the City? Most definitely!
Would I go back to this hotel? Probably not!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielSBell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear Rachel,

Thank you for your recent review. I was naturally disappointed that you didn’t enjoy your time at the hotel. As you can see from previous reviews, our excellent customer service is usually the one thing that gets brought up time and time again. We also had our rooms recently refurbished and also get good reviews on there cleanliness.

Should you be returning to Glasgow, please contact myself direct as I would like to restore your faith in the Holiday Inn Glasgow.


Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KINTYRE
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This hotel suits me for where I want to be in Glasgow. Close enough to the City Centre without enduring the worst of the noise that often comes with such hotels.

Fire engines, car alarms, late night revellers are all something that you have to live with but the paper thin walls that meant you could almost hear every word spoken in the room next door. That was just a little too much. After two or our three nights I happened to mention it to Reception and to their credit they moved us along to a better and quieter room.

I have to say that the beds in the hotel are very comfortable and everything was spotlessly clean. I would have preferred a better choice at breakfast. Not being a fan of cooked breakfasts I was a little disappointed at the lack of bread or croissants.

My main disappointment was on checking out however. As a Travel Agent, it did not go down well to be handed a card exhorting me to book directly with the hotel. The phrase "biting the hand that feeds you" comes to mind. I will be back in Glasgow for a weekend next month to see my beloved Hibernian play in the Scottish Cup Final. I have booked my accommodation this morning and because of this "direct sell" attitude I will be staying elsewhere in the City Centre.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel. Not much of a view but less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HANNANITE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielSBell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

Due to our city centre location we cannot escape the noise of the inevitable noise of a city centre. We do have rooms at the back of the hotel that may have suited your needs better.

With regards to the small hotel card given out on check out, at Holiday Inn we guarantee that you get the cheapest rate booking direct. This is something we are proud of. It called our best price guarantee, find a lower price elsewhere and your first night is free. It is an honest and simple guarantee that we honour.

Thank you for your feedback.


Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Nice room, good location near all restuarants and cinemas, theatres etc includin g the concert hall. Downside to that is you have to park in the apying carpark across the road.

The room was good with comfy bed , enough room -not huge though. Flat screen tell with movies. Staff on reception were pleasant and provided an ice bucket when asked.

Our room was on a side where there is an alleyway and was noisey in the middle of the night -but it was Saturday night!

Did not eat in the restuarant as we wanted Indian. (of which there are plenty in Glasgow)

The area past reception before the restaurant is good for cofee and meeting friends and reading the papers on Sunday morning.


All in all for what we paid it was a reasonabley good experience .

Room Tip: Ask for a quite room away from the front and away from the alley at the the side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRSoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielSBell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Mr Soli,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

It's great to see that you enjoyed your time here in Glasgow.

We look forward to welcoming you back.


Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#38 of 95 in Glasgow
935 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,248 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland

Property: Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Address: 161 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#30 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#30 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland is ideally located in heart of the city's Theatreland district located in the heart of the city centre. The hotel is a perfect base from which to explore the many tourist attractions of central Scotland or enjoy the shopping in Glasgow which has some of the best selction of shops in Europe. The hotel benefits from a central location close to the M8 motorway and within walking distance of both Glasgow's rail and bus stations. All rooms have been completely refurbished in 2015. All rooms have modern individually controlled air con, 40 inch flat screen TV's with the full BT Sports package. The hotel has an award winning brasserie La Bonne Auberge that has been awarded an AA Rosette every year since 1997. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing