We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Ranked #23 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Great location, rooms clean & tidy. Only downside was the complementary internet access, which was only for 1 hour a day, this was not stated on their website anywhere. Did complain and got the complete days for free.

Would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonVinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielSBell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Dear LondonVinny,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

Great to see you enjoyed your stay, though I was disappointed to read your confusion in terms of wifi access. We offer 1 hour free access a day to our guests, this is clearly stated on our website under the section features at a glance. www.higlasgow.com. After that it is at a cost of £5.99 for 24 hours.

I was glad to see that you would recommend us to others.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,082)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

797 - 803 of 1,082 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2012

Just returned from an overnight stay in Glasgow. Stayed at the Holiday Inn and would recommend it to anyone. Great location, room very clean and well presented.Staff were all efficient and friendly.
Have stayed before at the Express Holiday Inn just next to it and always found it good as well.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gary p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielSBell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

Dear Gary,

Thank you for taking the time out to review the hotel.

It was great to see you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,


Alan Taylor'
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

me and a pal are just back from this hotel after staying two nights , very clean and very modern , a tad small the breakfast buffet is excellent with everything you can think off , it is very handy for bus station , it has brilliant restaurant and the service is excellent , we will definately be back

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynne r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielSBell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Dear Lynne,

Thank you for your recent review.

It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Had a great girlie weekend with my daughter and staying here just the icing on the cake.Hotel is in the most convenient location for everything to shopping, eating and night-life. Had a problem with tv on second day which was promptly dealt with and resolved, Hotel clean and staff friendly, Would I stay here again Oh yes, so much so am booked in again in October and thinking of combining a bit shopping with friends in Dec too.

Didn't have any evening meals this time, but have in the past and would say book a table and eat here, it's great quality food you get and exceptional service.

Breakfast on both days was great and so much to choose from, would say if you want something not on offer just ask and staff happy to accommodate, ie, fried, bolied or poached eggs, even pancakes, (yum yum next time they on my list).

See you in October for husbands birthday weekend :o)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielSBell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Dear Amanda,

Thank you for your complimentary review of the hotel.

It was great to read you enjoyed your time here. We look forward to welcoming you and your husband back in October.

Kind regards,


Alan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

What more can you look for in accommodation but comfort, staff and location and yes this Hotel delivers on all 3. When we first arrived we did have an issue with the noise of a fan that seemed to be above our room but the reception staff promptly and efficiently sorted it out without any fuss. The standard room while small had everything you needed for a comfortable stay. The only negative is, a I'm being very critical is their brand of toiletries wasn't the best, before use they looked very interesting containing some sort of Sea Kelp so made you say "ooh sounds nice" but after using you think some things are better left in the sea! Overall an enjoyable experience with the small room and smelly toiletries made up for by wonderful professional staff.

Room Tip: There seems to be a loud fan on the 4th floor in rooms numbered 420,s and upwards ask to steer clear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gl0w0rm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielSBell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time out to post your recent review of the hotel.

I was glad to see that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel.

Our toiletries are provided by the Scottish fine soaps company and we have never had any negative feedback on them, I am sorry they weren’t to your liking.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,


Alan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Both my husband and I frequent Glasgow often and stay in Hotels within the town centre.
We enjoyed this Hotel!! It is in a very good position for the town centre. The Hotel is very clean
has a lovely little bar and good restaurant. The staff are delightful on arrival and throughout the hotel in general. The room was small put lovely and bright and once again very clean.
We thought that the Hotel was excellent value as indeed was the bar and restaurant. We ate in the Restaurant in the evening and had breakfast in the morning both were really enjoyable.
Overall we would rate this Hotel 9 out of 10

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauraburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Dear Laura,

Thank you for your review of the hotel.

I was delighted to read your comments and I also see you and your husband enjoyed the full La Bonne Auberge experience!

We look forward to welcoming you both back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,


Alan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I am so sorry that we only stayed in this hotel one night. This was our night before we left for home and we couldn't have picked a better more comfortable hotel. Of course the hotel we left in Edinburgh was so bad this was a nice surprise. The woman at the counter was extremely helpful with our room and because we are priority club members they had upgraded us to a suite. Fantastic. She helped us with directions to a small street I couldn't find when we were there the week before. She also arranged a taxi for our trip to the airport the next day and a wakeup call. We found our room to be very clean and comfortable. We almost decided to stay in instead of going out one more night. They had water, coffee, hot chocolate and cookies available in the room. Had I known how great this hotel would have been I would have booked it the first time we were in Glasgow. Thank you for a great last night in Scotland.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Dear Shelly,

Thank you for your recent review. I was delighted to read your comments and that we attributed to such a great time spent in Glasgow.

Thank you again for taking the time out to post your review.

Kind regards,


Alan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,353 reviews
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#41 of 93 in Glasgow
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland

Address: 161 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#29 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#30 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £67 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland is ideally located in heart of the city's Theatreland district located in the heart of the city centre. The hotel is a perfect base from which to explore the many tourist attractions of central Scotland or enjoy the shopping in Glasgow which has some of the best selction of shops in Europe. The hotel benefits from a central location close to the M8 motorway and within walking distance of both Glasgow's rail and bus stations. All rooms have been completely refurbished in 2015. All rooms have modern individually controlled air con, 40 inch flat screen TV's with the full BT Sports package. The hotel has an award winning brasserie La Bonne Auberge that has been awarded an AA Rosette every year since 1997. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing