We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and comfortable hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Ranked #23 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good location and comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed during a shopping trip to the city and booked an exec room.
On arrival we were upgraded to a suite which was very nice and we enjoyed a nice meal in the restaurant followed by a comfortable evening watching tv in the room.

The location is spot on for the shopping in Buchanan street and we were able to pop back twice depositing bags and having a quick glass of wine to recharge the batteries.
Park opposite and the hotel has a discount agreement and it is a quick walk over the street.

All in all good hotel in a great location

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Craighigg1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Dear Craig,

Thank you for you recent review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and also had the full La Bonne Auberge experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    380
    137
    43
    25
See reviews for
113
372
71
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

I stayed one night in this hotel.
The room is a very good, it has what I need for a business trip.
Bed is Ok, and it has a very good bathroom.
Staff is helpfull.
Don't have parking, and I stayed in the first floor, right next to the breakfast room, so, a lot of noise early morning.
But the hotel filled my expectations.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielSBell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Dear Pedro,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and found us good value for your business trip.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

Well located just off the top of the Style Mile and less than a ten minute walk from the central station this is a good hotel if you want the shops and the Theatre.

My room was decent, if a bit chilly because of a window that seemed to be fixed open. It was also noisy as result (the bus station is over the road and heavy goods deliveries to the shops must come in very early in the morning because it got busy around 5am). The only request I'd made to the hotel was for a quiet room so I was a little upset.

Bathroom was cramped, and there was a strong smell of damp that I couldn't source.

The bed was comfortable and the pillow chioce is a nice touch.

Other than that the hotel was clean and the staff were helpful, but these are expectations not commendations so on the whole it's an average. I would mark the staff as good, but there isn't an option so it's average for them too.

Room Tip: Those seeking peace should avoid outer rooms and make sure you are away from stairwells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl_Ward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielSBell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Dear Karl,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed our central location. I'm sorry that we didn’t manage to honour your request for a back facing room and should you ever be returning please contact myself direct so I can ensure you have a wonderful visit.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

I require a special diet and the head chef Gerry Sharkey could not have been more accomodating.
He persoanlly went through the menu with me and tailored it to suit my needs for breakfast , lunch and dinner.
Really enjoyed my stay thanks to the efforts of the kitchen as sometimes meals can be problematic for me when i travel.
Top service - thank you!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Douglas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielSBell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 2 December 2012
Dear Douglas,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay here and found the catering to be excellent and tailored to your needs.

Gerry was also delighted when he read your review.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

I checked in mid-day. I am a Priority gold card member. Ask If I could have an upgrade. Yes I could have one if I wanted to pay £30. Was given a room on 4th floor. Had a look and found I would be looking down on air-conditioning units. I have experience with them in the past as droning lasts until around 12am. Next room I was given was 309. Room very small, with TV perched on top of wardrobe which was a strain on my neck looking up. No sound insulation on window. I though perhaps the window was open as the loud noise of traffic and people on the street continued most of the night. Fan in bathroom also droned until 10.00pm. Room was opposite lift and people coming out of lift were noisy. Didn't find staff helpful, especially in Restaurant. Though must say Lynsey on reception was helpful and printed off my travel documents. I would agree with previous poster that Holiday Inn Express is better as I have previously stayed there. Breakfast was poor. Although the choice was plentiful. The hot food was lukewarm and dried out. My Daughter and Son-in-law had an executive room 301.They loved it, decor and size of room was excellent. Again the window features as a problem with noise. Bathrooms in both rooms are very small. I am only 5ft and I couldn't stretch out. Location from Bus station and shops is excellent. Won't visit this hotel again.

Room Tip: Room 309 not a good choice opposite lift and facing on to front entrance and a very busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bttyboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielSBell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 2 December 2012
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel. I have passed on your review to our maintenance team, who will check the seal in the window of 309 and we will use your review in a constructive manner.

I was pleased to read that your daughter and her husband enjoyed their stay with us.

Should you be returning, please contact myself direct so I can personally ensure you have a fantastic visit.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aviemore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel last weekend with a large group of friends for three nights. What a great weekend we had. The staff were excellent and could not do enough for us, rooms nice and clean and food superb. This was a mixture of all ages and everyone was delighted with everything. Would highly recommend to anyone. One small footnote. I know us smokers are on the decline and not to be encouraged but a small canopy over the smoking area would be appreciated!! When there for quite a long stay, you get quite a few unwanted showers and it does not make it a good hair day!

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielSBell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 2 December 2012
Dear Christine,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

I was delighted to read that you and your party enjoyed your time here. We have just had the canopy’s in our restaurant re fitted and hope to extend this over our smoking area in the near future.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

Stayed here for one night in November 2012. On arrival the staff were very helpful and accomodating. They offered to print documents for me at reception as no computer and printer available. This, they suggested, would save me spending money on the machines at the Holiday Inn Express next door! My room was on the third floor and looked out on to the busy intersection below. This wasn't an issue - I didn't hear any noise all night! The room was very nice. Very clean and well decorated. Bathroom was a little on the small side but again, it was very clean and quite modern. I also took advantage of the special parking rates offered by the hotel at the nearby Buchanan Galleries -£10 for 24 hours which is very good in Glasgow city centre. Overall a very enjoyable stay. Would certainly consider this hotel before many others I've stayed at in Glasgow.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielSBell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Dear Paul,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed all aspects of the hotel, from the helpful staff to the clean and well decorated rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,


Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#35 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland

Property: Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Address: 161 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#30 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#30 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland is ideally located in heart of the city's Theatreland district located in the heart of the city centre. The hotel is a perfect base from which to explore the many tourist attractions of central Scotland or enjoy the shopping in Glasgow which has some of the best selction of shops in Europe. The hotel benefits from a central location close to the M8 motorway and within walking distance of both Glasgow's rail and bus stations. All rooms have been completely refurbished in 2015. All rooms have modern individually controlled air con, 40 inch flat screen TV's with the full BT Sports package. The hotel has an award winning brasserie La Bonne Auberge that has been awarded an AA Rosette every year since 1997. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing