We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel - Good Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Ranked #21 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Hotel - Good Staff”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We were fortunate enough to stay ther for 4 days in July and must say it was a most enjoyable stay.
Good Restaurant and excellent staff (especially Daniel at reception) made for a good experience.
The Dinner deal for 2 is a great idea and well worth a try.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RCJC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent review and kind comments, I know Daniel will be as delighted as I am to get a mention on your review.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    409
    143
    43
    26
See reviews for
119
400
74
268
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Marys, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Check in was easy...they stored our luggage for most of the first day while we went to Largs for a day trip.The room was nice,bed was comfortable,front desk was always helpful...The only complaint I have is I booked the room for two nights,using two different rewards types for the stay.Before our first breakfast my wife asked if it was included with the room( I booked the first night with American Airlines rewards).It was...We both took it for granted it was included with the second night stay,which was actually with Holiday Inn rewards....big surprise when you check out and you get charged almost $40 for breakfast...I wouldn't have bothered with breakfast but you figured it is included...oh well lesson learned...just a heads for anyone staying on rewards night.But overall it was a good stay...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p2sheds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review of the hotel. It was great to read that overall you had a good stay.

I was sorry to read of the confusion over breakfast. Indeed when you book an IHG Rewards night breakfast is not included at any Holiday Inns.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.


Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, UK
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Staff very helpful and friendly and esp in restaurant which was really good for a hotel one. It was French themed and service was exceptional apart from the command to ENJOY everytime I was given something. Reasonably priced and good quality, Breakfast variable but good, large tour groups in and although they were all served in the Conservatory they did desimate the breakfsat buffett and several times had to wait for things to be replenished. Good coffee. Haggis and black pudding a little dry under the heated lamp things but still tasty!! Room was smallish, but adequate for my needs, compact bathroon trickle shower no view except and office block. Decor OK. Really good deal though £89 incl breakfast. So all in all can't complain for the price in centre of Glasgow for a business trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DisneyNorwich_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review of the hotel.

I was delighted to read that you found the staff very helpful and friendly. Also that you got the chance to dine in our award winning restaurant La Bonne Auberge that you found at good price and quality.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.


Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Stayed for 1st time and was really pleasantly suprised. Booked hotel in main for its location.
On arrival the reception staff was extremely friendly and helpful, asked us on our preference of room location. The room itself was immaculate, everything we required. Bathroom was really quite small but the fixtures and fittings were lovely and was adequate for what we needed. We used the room service and although some items from our order were missing, it was quickly rectified and what we had we thoroughly enjoyed. The room was really warm (which is a pleasant change for Scotland) so the air conditioning available was welcome through the night. The bed itself was very comfortable, offering a choice of pillows was a lovely touch.
Breakfast is plentiful, we were really spoiled for choice. A fabulous buffet breakfast - one of the best we have had. There was a slight problem with our bill, but when it was pointed out it was dealt with extremely efficiently. The location of this hotel is brilliant. Really can't fault the hotel in any way. Will definitely be planning a return visit, think this will be our hotel of choice in Glasgow for future stays.

Room Tip: Request a room at the rear if you wish a quite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Dear Jane,

Thank you for your review of the hotel.

I was delighted to read that you found the service and product faultless. I know the staff will be just as delighted with the review as I am. All our rooms are fully air conditioned, which has been needed of recent!

We look forward to welcoming you back on your return visit.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn on the 22/06/13 as it was my birthday. Even though we live not that far away from Glasgow we love staying in hotels on special occasions to enjoy the buzz of Glasgow on a Saturday night. On arrival the reception staff were very helpful and very pleasant. The hotel entrance leading to the reception area is very welcoming as is the staff. We were on the 3rd floor and the room was fantastic with a bay window. Although the view was not that great the room did not loose its charm as the seating round the bay window was ideal. The room was a good size with lots of space with a double bed, sofa and table and chair. Plenty of wardrobe space with iron and trouser press. Mini bar if you wish to use but a bit expensive. The bathroom was ideal for us with the spa bath but we only stayed the night. The room was so clean and had lots of mirrors in different places which for ladies is ideal. We did not eat in the restaurant but had breakfast which we really enjoyed. You have a choice of cereal, full cooked, fresh bread, fruit, cakes. Full cooked breakfast was great and all the food was hot. Waitress service was really good and they attended to your needs as soon as you arrived. The hotel is situated in the ideal place if you wish to visit Glasgow. Theatres, restaurants, bars you name it are all within walking distance of the hotel. Everything is there for you to enjoy. After a great night in Glasgow we returned to the hotel and had a couple of drinks in the lounge. The lounge is well set out with a lovely setting area. The seats are coloured and my favourite were the red ones right next to the bar. The bar staff were really pleasant and they will let you know in advance when its last orders. We had a great time and really enjoyed our stay. We cannot fault the hotel in any way. So much so we will return.

Room Tip: Choose a room with the bay window on the 3rd or 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielSBell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your detailed review of the hotel.

I was delighted to read all your comments, from the rooms being so clean to the choices in breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Stayed at the Holiday Inn for a few months at the start of the year. Whilst it was difficult being away from family this hotel really was home from home.The staff couldn't have been more helpful in every department. Nothing was a problem for them even having my favourite foods cooked occasionaly when it wasn't on the menu.
Reception staff always had a smile on their face and were great at recommending other restaurants to try when I opted not to eat in the hotel. Rooms were always clean and fresh with powerful showers and the odd upgrade was much appreciated. Although the bar was a little small the atmosphere made up for it especially when there were shows on at the theatres round about.The location couldn't be better with an excellent range of shops, pubs and eating houses only a short walk away.
The manager and his team certainly do not need any lessons in customer service and some other establishments could learn a lot from the Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: Try and avoid the rooms on the corner above the restaurant entrance, on busy nights can be a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soupyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielSBell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your recent review entitled exceptional service.

I felt a real sense of pride reading your review and was delighted to read that you found us a “home from home.”

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Stayed in this hotel back in February with a business trip to the SECC and was very impressed with it. Decided to book in again in June but this time for a leisure visit – I really couldn’t fault the place – Staff were very friendly, hotel was spotless, food was ace and the room was perfect for us. I would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielSBell, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your recent review.

I was delighted to read your comments and will certainly pass it on to the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
2,297 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland

Property: Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Address: 161 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#29 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#30 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland is ideally located in heart of the city's Theatreland district located in the heart of the city centre. The hotel is a perfect base from which to explore the many tourist attractions of central Scotland or enjoy the shopping in Glasgow which has some of the best selction of shops in Europe. The hotel benefits from a central location close to the M8 motorway and within walking distance of both Glasgow's rail and bus stations. All rooms have been completely refurbished in 2015. All rooms have modern individually controlled air con, 40 inch flat screen TV's with the full BT Sports package. The hotel has an award winning brasserie La Bonne Auberge that has been awarded an AA Rosette every year since 1997. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing