We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room and lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Ranked #21 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Irvine, ayrshire
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Lovely room and lovely staff”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We spent 1 Saturday night at the hotel and when we arrived were told we had been upgraded to an executive room which was great and offered more space. Check in was fast and staff friendly and eager to help. We were given a free voucher for a drink in the restaurant. We had breakfast served in out room which was nice and delivered by a smiling happy member of staff. Check out was fast and friendly yet again. Would return to this hotel in the future many thanks

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ayrshirelass79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for leaving a review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay.
I am lucky to have a great team at the hotel that takes a great deal of pride in making sure our guests have a great stay.
Once again thank you for leaving the review and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind Regards
Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    409
    143
    43
    26
See reviews for
119
400
74
268
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hergenrath, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Booked my Golf group into the hotel for the week of the Open. Paid for all 5 rooms in advance in 1 payment. Was astonished to see 2 times in the weeks prior to our visit 2 rather large amounts booked from my credit card. On phoning the hotel they advised me that they had made a mistake and would correct the situation. The money was redirected to my account within a few days. This should not however happen and certainly not for a second time.
The group however had a good time, hotel rooms were good and breakfast was mixed
The one problem I had was parking. Across from the hotel was a multi-storey which was expensive and hopeless for our group as I had a 15 seater mini-bus.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of hotel to avoid street noise especially at weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for leaving a review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay.
Please accept my sincere apologies for the mix up with the deposit. I have had look into this and there was a problem with the way the system was calculating the deposit. The system has now been correctly.
Unfortunately the car park across the road is unable to accommodate vehicles over a certain size. If we had known we would have directed you to Buchannan Street bus station where small coaches can be left overnight for a small fee.
Once again thank you for leaving the review and I hope to welcome you and your group back to the hotel the next time the Open is back in Scotland.
Kind Regards
Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaxjo, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This hotel was perfectly situated close to the bus station and we found a nice and clean hotel room, breakfast by far the best on our stay with several varieties to pick from. Staff was very friendly so would recommend it. However having to sign up for wifi instead of just connecting would make life easier, one hour for free is not very much. Location and servicemindedness is indeed the strength!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Swede_Maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for leaving a review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay.
Glasgow is known for its friendliness and at the hotel it is no different. I have a great team of staff that make sure all our guests are well looked after.
Although we charge for Wi-Fi it is free for one hour and then only £5.99 for the next 24 hours which is about the best value Wi-Fi amongst the Glasgow hotels.
Once again thank you for leaving the review and I hope to welcome you and your group back to the hotel the next time the Open is back in Scotland.
Kind Regards
Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We were in Glasgow for a wedding and arrived at the hotel around 12pm Friday afternoon. I'd emailed the hotel a few days before we arrived to ask for an early check in (three rooms) as we had to be at the church for 2pm. Thankfully the hotel were able to do this and we checked in with no problems, adding breakfast for the following morning. The rooms aren't very modern (except the bathrooms) but are clean and have a/c. The main issue we had with the room was the pillows, very hard, very uncomfortable.
The breakfast was good with a good selection of hot and cold items. Overall we had a good stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for leaving a review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay.
We always try to accommodate our guest’s requests. We regularly get guests staying that are attending weddings so need an early check in. Where possible we always try to ensure we have room ready where possible.
I am sorry you had problems with pillows. Every room has 4 pillows, 2 soft and 2 hard. These pillows have a label on them so the guest knows. If they were not labelled then please accept my apologies.
Once again thank you for leaving a review and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards
Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed here in May 2013. Short 5-10 minute walk from rail station. It is located near shopping and theater. Very friendly staff, and nicely priced. We arrived early and they let us checkin before the normal time. Only downside is the limited amount of time they give you for internet usage. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Great for location
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for leaving such a nice review. I am delighted you liked our city centre location and the friendliness of the staff. We always try where possible to check guests in if they arrive early.
Although we do charge for the Wi-Fi we give the first hour for free and then the next 24 hours is £5.99 which is very reasonable compared to the other city centre hotels.
Once again thanks for the review and I hope you stay at the hotel again soon.
Kind Regards
Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I booked this hotel in favour of the Hilton due to its good location. It does not have parking, however there is an arrangement with a car park opposite and the hotel will validate the ticket so residents can enjoy preferential rates.

Check in was prompt, room was ok - not great and didn't feel as fresh as previous visit. Bar facility was satisfactory.

On the down side - breakfast was poor. Pre-cooked buffet style - but not hot. Very disappointing.

Check-out was quick & efficient

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJB333333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I am delighted you chose to stay here rather than the Hilton. We have an excellent relationship with Concert Square car park and as you say our guests get great deals which are exclusive to this hotel.
Once again thanks for the review and I hope you stay at the hotel again soon.
Kind Regards
Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Situated in the heart of the city 2 minute walk to the bus station - 6 pound trip cost to the airport. Great staff could not have been more help full lovely room comfortable bed and a world class restaurant attached to this hotel. What more could you want on a visit yo buzzing Glasgow

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view to the street . not that anyone who goes to Glasgow would spend much time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 199barb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel entitled Great hotel.

It was fantastic to read that you found the hotel so comfortable. I also see that you enjoyed our award winning restaurant, La Bonne Auberge, this also rate highly on tripadvisor. Thank you again for your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back to Glasgow in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
2,297 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland

Property: Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Address: 161 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#29 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#30 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland is ideally located in heart of the city's Theatreland district located in the heart of the city centre. The hotel is a perfect base from which to explore the many tourist attractions of central Scotland or enjoy the shopping in Glasgow which has some of the best selction of shops in Europe. The hotel benefits from a central location close to the M8 motorway and within walking distance of both Glasgow's rail and bus stations. All rooms have been completely refurbished in 2015. All rooms have modern individually controlled air con, 40 inch flat screen TV's with the full BT Sports package. The hotel has an award winning brasserie La Bonne Auberge that has been awarded an AA Rosette every year since 1997. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing