We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great locaion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Ranked #21 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great locaion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Great location and this is the most important for this hotel but little bit noisy from the street
Room were clean, but the AC using to stop automatically which was very annoying during the night

rooms are little small and not recommended for long stay

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amlevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the room to be nice and clean.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    384
    138
    43
    25
See reviews for
113
380
71
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

The accommodation was fine & clean but the bathroom was very small, ideal for a short stay but may be frustrating if stay longer. Staff were very pleasant and breakfast service and food all very good. Ideal location for the city centre and a short taxi ride away from other attractions. Taxi fares are very reasonable too, far cheaper than midlands and Edinburgh taxi fares!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Deborah,

Thank you for your recent review.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff very pleasant.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Nice hotel in a great location close to everything Glasgow has to offer,convenient for bus and train stations with secure cut price parking across the street from the hotel.

Rooms are as expected from a chain hotel equipped with everything you would need for your stay,bar and restaurant on the premises but Glasgow has so many places to eat and drink within a short walk there is no need to sit in your hotel.

Couple of negative points; The bathroom in the room was tiny with only a short bath and no extractor fan !! There was no electrical point by the room desk to plug in phone or PC,the only one I could find was at floor level well away from the desk.Also the coffee table in the room was rather rickety and worn out, not what you expect in an executive room.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel can be noisy with constant road traffic,ask for one at the rear of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Handler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your recent review.

It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel.

Every bathroom has a centralised extractor fan system in place and the bathrooms were fully refurbished in 2011.

Thank you again for taking the time to review the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Nice to stay here again - that says it all. This is a very nice hotel in every way. A warm welcome, helpful staff, well located, close to shopping streets and nice to have an Italian restaurant next to the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilja_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your review of the hotel.

I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay and rated us 5 stars.

We look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed here back in April for 4 Nights. The hotel is situated well. Not too far from the airport either. Taxi cost about £25 each way. Other than that everything is in walking distance but you needn't go far if you're after good food. The restaraunt La Bonne Auberge provide an excellent range of dishes and at a decent price for the quality you receive and the service they provide. Quite possibly one of the best I've been to so far.
The room was basic but lovely throughout always clean and immaculate.
Staff are incredibly friendly especially the night porter; I never got his name but his Customer Service skills should be used as an example. Overall really pleased with my stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iolite85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your in depth review of the hotel.

I was delighted that you enjoyed your time here, it was also great to read that you enjoyed the full La Bonne Auberge experience. To say it may be the best you have been to is high praise indeed, thank you.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Theatre Land Glasgow Scotland for 11 days, that gave me a pretty good idea about how this hotel is managed and how good the staff is on a day to day basis. Let me start by saying that every day I was impressed with the management at hotel I had very positive experiences with the hotel personnel and with the housekeeping personnel collectively and found them to be absolutely suburb. My room was near perfectly cleaned. When I noticed one of the worker shining the bathroom faucet I experienced a sight of relief and said to myself I'm home! After 26 years in the military I'm definitely qualified to find any dirt hiding out in a space. The cleaning team (housekeeping) always made sure my quarters were ready for inspection. My room passed everyday with flying colors. I expected my quarter at the hotel to be maintained to the highest standards and it was.
The restaurant was also top notch with a very good menu and there were specials everyday. Also noteworthy we're the very substantial breakfast. I'm going to miss them! Personnel on the front desk were very helpful and cheerfully assist me with any assistance I needed. Honorable mention here are Daniel and Andrew front desk personnel who were determine to accomplish any mission assigned. The hotel was my island for 11 very special days. Like Arnold Schwarzenegger said -----I'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitesail70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your in depth review of the hotel.

I was delighted that you enjoyed your fortnight here and have shared your comment with the team, I know they will be delighted as I am.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Good location in city centre and ideally over the road from a multi storey car park which we used (£8.50 for an overnight stay). Rooms fine, reception helpful, but breakfast bizarre. Usual cereals and juice and toasting machines. However what amused us was the plates you had too use for the cooked breakfast ingredients ( beans, scrambled eggs and very cheap and nasty sausages). They were the size of a saucer which made for interesting dining, a bit like trying to eat a meal on a plane. It was so ridiculous that i was surrounded by umpteen plates. I don't know what the rationale behind this is...stop you eating too much? If so it worked, but it also etches an image of breakfasts for tiny people on your brain.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bamb41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Dear Jonathan,

Thank you for your recent review.

It was great to read you like the location at Theatreland. I believe you have posted your review to the wrong location and I have forwarded this review to the Holiday Inn Express next door.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#35 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland

Property: Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Address: 161 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#30 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#30 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland is ideally located in heart of the city's Theatreland district located in the heart of the city centre. The hotel is a perfect base from which to explore the many tourist attractions of central Scotland or enjoy the shopping in Glasgow which has some of the best selction of shops in Europe. The hotel benefits from a central location close to the M8 motorway and within walking distance of both Glasgow's rail and bus stations. All rooms have been completely refurbished in 2015. All rooms have modern individually controlled air con, 40 inch flat screen TV's with the full BT Sports package. The hotel has an award winning brasserie La Bonne Auberge that has been awarded an AA Rosette every year since 1997. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing