We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noise from Parties”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Ranked #21 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Noise from Parties”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times on business and leisure.
It is a good standard and the restaurant is good value for money with service at a good level.

Last weekend however we stayed for a shopping trip on the third floor (room 305) and the noise from the christmas parties in the function room was so bad it kept us awake until 1.00am at least with the noise level being so bad it was easy even in the room to identify the songs!
We were not advised of this at check in and having paid £139 for a 'feature room' there did not appear to be much of a price concession for the impact of this. I appreciate that it is the party season but the facilities of this hotel are limited as a function facility and it showed at the weekend.

The worst part however was on checkout I mentioned the issue to the receptionist who replied with a straight face 'was the music good'. Whilst I applaud her sense of humour it wasn't really professional.

I am a little disappointed that at this time of year the hotel puts a little bit of profit gained from functions ahead of the comfort of paying guests who have stayed there many times before.

Sadly it will be the Hilton next time as I would rather have a 10 minute walk into town with a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: If you want a good nights sleep and you are at the front left of the hotel check with reception on c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craighigg1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your review of the hotel

I was sorry to hear that you had disturbances from Christmas party nights. If you had asked at any point during your stay, we would have been able to move you to an alternative room.

I have checked with the receptionist that you mention in your review that they were not very professional. She said the conversation she was having with you was of a very relaxed nature and if she has misinterpreted your mood then she is very sorry. It was not in any way her intention to come across this way.

If you are coming to Glasgow again I would urge you to contact me directly and I will ensure you have a fantastic stay at the hotel.

Kind Regards

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    384
    138
    43
    25
See reviews for
113
381
71
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
165 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

Location came as a surprise as I thought it would be very near to the train station but is not. Dragging a suitcase uphill through the busy shopping street and pebbled road is not easy.

Room is basic with soft bed and a choice of soft or firm pillows but awkward furniture that suitcase can't be put luggage cabinet even with a tiny one.

Noise from workmen wheeling something at 7am was quite annoying. Breakfast was simple and could do a bit better.

Must mention is all staff are very friendly and helpful. They saw us on our way out and asked if we needed a map.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank EuropeanJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your review of the hotel

I was surprised you did not think our location was not central enough. We are 30 seconds walk from the Buchanan Street bus station, 5 minutes walk from Queen Street Station or 10 minutes from Central Station. Glasgow is a very large city so we are as central as you can be.

I was sorry you had some noise disturbances during your stay. Due to our central location we it is difficult to escape the city centre noises that can occur.

Thank you for mentioning the staff who you found friendly and helpful. We have an excellent team and they are regularly praised for the friendliness and customer service,

Once again thank you for the review and I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Stay here on a regular basis, convenient and always pretty decent.
As a platinum member usually get an upgrade but this time booked executive room.was in a first floor suite which was ok-no more no less.
As always staff polite and efficient, breakfast decent.
You get what you pay for is how I would best describe this hotel

Room Tip: Try get room at rear of hotel always quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trigger131186487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your fourth review of the hotel.

As a platinum member we do always try our best to get you upgraded to one of our executive rooms. It’s great to read that you always find the staff polite and efficient. I have a great team at the hotel that work hard to ensure all our guests have an excellent stay.

Once again tanks for the review. Hopefully the next time we see you again is the cup final weekend.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

This is fine - clean, a little cramped in the bedroom but OK, reasonable bar area, quite close to the railway station. Quite soul-less, but functional and handy for a travel stop-over. Try not to mix up with the neighbouring Holiday Inn Express (just up the road), which we initially tried to book into by mistake....

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skyewalker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review of the hotel.

I was surprised by your comments regarding La Bonne Auberge as soul-less it has recently been refurbished and is usually a busy city centre brassiere that also rate highly on trip advisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

This city centre hotel has so much going for it. Its superb location, only ten minutes walk from Glasgow Central Station; one minute walk from the Bus Station; two minutes from John Lewis and the other major stores in the Buchanan Galleries shopping centre; right across the road from a large Cineworld.
We arrived early but our room was ready. Rooms are compact but have everything you need, king sized extremely comfortable bed; en-suite with shower and half bath, desk, 2 chairs, large flat screen TV with Sky Sports, free WIFI.
It was bitterly cold so we decided to stay in the hotel and eat in the brasserie which had a reasonable fixed price menu (Two courses £18.95). I had the sea bass which was perfectly cooked and came with sauté potatoes, spinach and a buttery sauce. My partner had the chargrilled lemon & thyme chicken, served with dauphinoise, beans & carrots and for dessert we had a delicious sticky toffee pudding and a vanilla pannacotta with Kirsch soaked cherries. Washed down with a couple of glasses of a very palatable red and we went to bed happy! Breakfast is standard hotel buffet fare with eggs cooked to order. I would definitely stay here again. Bed & breakfast for 2 was just £76.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jude0422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your 5 star review of the hotel.

I was delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and found us great value for money.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Back again to Holiday Inn. I had booked an executive room. The room was pleasant enough. Although the windows are not sealed. I could actually feel a draft coming in. Also the noise of the traffic and I was on the fourth floor. The bathroom is very small. The sink is tiny, and I decided to try the bath. I thought I was going to be stuck in it. I couldn't get out of it as it is so small. I found some of the staff friendly. others not so. I did have a bug-bear. I am a Platinum member, and thought I would receive extra treats as in voucher for extra points. I had to ask for it to be forthcoming. I also foolishly though I would have complimentary access to the mini bar. I received a complimentary bottle of water and some biscuits. I asked if I could have a bottle of water the next day. I was told only 1 bottle per stay. I did not eat breakfast in the Restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bttyboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review of the hotel.

I am sorry to read that there was a problem with your window, if you had reported this to our reception team, they would have got this fixed of it we had been unable to correct the problem we would have immediately moved you to an alternative room.

As a platinum member we offer Free WIFI, complimentary upgrade to an executive room and either bonus points or a free drink and snack at the bar.

Should you be returning to the hotel, please contact myself directly and I make the booking for you.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed for two nights at this hotel in one of the themed rooms. The room itself was very pleasant, clean, well maintained and comfortable. Nice touches included slippers, complementary water and a Tunnocks caramel wafer (bit of an argument there - there were two of us in the room) as well as the usual tea, coffee and biscuits (pack of three, shared between two of us).
The themed room was on the second floor and had a large bay window. Downside is that traffic was noisy to say the least. Sirens, road sweepers, road workers, delivery vans all conspired against us.
Breakfast was a superb selection of fruit, cereals, full Scottish etc with fresh pancakes or poached/fried/boiled eggs made upon request. As per another reviewer, I also found that some items were not hot - particularly those near the edge like the tomatoes, black pudding and haggis.
It has to be said that the staff here are excellent. Proper service, pleasant and no quibbling. Great job here.
Would we stay again? Yes, the location is excellent, but I'd ask for a quieter room.

Room Tip: Quiet would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlandHel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review of the hotel.

I was delighted to read that overall you enjoyed your stay and the highlight of your stay was the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and thank you again for taking the time to review the hotel.


Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#35 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland

Property: Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Address: 161 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#30 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#30 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland is ideally located in heart of the city's Theatreland district located in the heart of the city centre. The hotel is a perfect base from which to explore the many tourist attractions of central Scotland or enjoy the shopping in Glasgow which has some of the best selction of shops in Europe. The hotel benefits from a central location close to the M8 motorway and within walking distance of both Glasgow's rail and bus stations. All rooms have been completely refurbished in 2015. All rooms have modern individually controlled air con, 40 inch flat screen TV's with the full BT Sports package. The hotel has an award winning brasserie La Bonne Auberge that has been awarded an AA Rosette every year since 1997. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing