We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Civil Service Pensioners Alliance AGM”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Ranked #21 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2014

A large party of CSPA members attended the AGM, starting with lunch. There were three courses, beef, chicken and vegetable stir fry, with a dessert of profiteroles, cheesecake or lemon tarte, and tea and coffee. Everyone enjoyed their meal, and clean plates all round. The staff could not have been more attentive, and even brought decaf coffee for a few of the party. Water on the tables was replemished before having to ask. The hotel was so good that we have decided to revisit the hotel for a meal on another occasion, perhaps Christmas lunch. We only had lunch, but a few friends had previously stayed as a guest in the hotel and could not find fault with the facilities.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Maureen,

Thank you for your review.

I was delighted to read that you had such a great 3 course lunch in the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your return.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

584 - 590 of 1,108 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

my friend and I booked an overnight stay with dinner for a girlie weekend catch up. great location for transport links, shopping and nightlife. Comfortable clean rooms, good breakfast and friendly helpful staff. Great choice for city centre break. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heidileich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent 5 star review of the hotel.

I was delighted to read that you had a great stay and enjoyed our central location.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The check in was efficient, room very good, but a touch small.The bed and pillows were the best item. Arrived late back and to the Bar. It was quite busy, but the wait for a drink was 20 minutes. One bar-man, two cleaning glasses (there were plenty on the shelves, so this could have waited) and one other?. Most tables had used glasses, tea-pots, coffee cups, so the bar was not a good experience.Thought £4.70 for a medium glass of "house" wine was a bit excessive and Guinness at £4.50 a tad high. Breakfast was very good, apart from having to place a special order for fried eggs!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

I am sorry that you didn’t have a great experience in our bar. I will share your review with the team to help us improve.

Apart from the experience in the bar you seemed to enjoy your stay and I do hope that you give the hotel another chance.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

As we were visiting our daughter for a birthday celebration on the Saturday we needed an overnight hotel. We would usually stay with her but at the moment I am waiting on a hip replacement operation and cannot manage the three flights of stairs to her flat!!!
As we were travelling by bus we needed a hotel near Buchanan Street bus station. Perfect!
Reading other reviews I am surprised to see that our experience has been the opposite of others. For example, we seemed to have a corner room just opposite the cinema, also if I'm not mistaken was just above the main restaurant entrance (1st floor). Our room was just beside the lift which was a bonus. We didn't have any problems with noise (maybe we were just lucky). The room, although not large was well appointed and immaculately clean.
There was a slight glitch when we arrived with our time pre-booked for dinner , but it was sorted very quickly. We were there the evening of valentines night, coincidentally and had an excellent evening meal also lovely breakfast the next morning.(The fire alarm was our early morning call!!) And within 20 minutes there was a note of apology for the inconvenience under the door.
I personally would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and would certainly use it again in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Lynda,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend us to others.

Thank you again for taking the time to review the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Very Good location .
Excellent hotel
But then Noisy: you can hear people talking from other room if they are occupied and once they sleep off then you can hear the shoutings from the road .Note that was a Saturday Night .

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellersletter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for leaving a review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay.

I am sorry about the noise. Glasgow is very busy city especially on the weekend. We have lots of rooms at the back of the hotel so if you are staying again just request one when you make your reservation and we will try our best to allocate you one.

Once again thanks for the review and I hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Alan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed for a weekend away with my husband, location great but worst bed ever slept in, very noisy so very bad sleep both nights, posters on 2nd floor clearly for back of house rather than for guests to see as knowing that a package us more profitable for a hotel isn't the best selling point for a customer. Stuart in restaurant and bar is an absolute shinning star for the hotel superb service from him just a shame about the rest of the hotel

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjt1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for leaving a review.
I am sorry that you did not find the bed comfortable. All our beds are less than 5 years old and are turned every 3 months. We also have a micro fibre matress topper on each bed to maximise the comfort of our guests. If you had advised us that you did not find the bed comfortable we would happily moved you to an alternative room. As we are located in the heart of Glasgow’s city centre there can on occasions such as weekends be street noise. I am sorry if you were disturbed.
I have a great team at the hotel who take a great deal of pride in looking after our customers. I will pass on your comments to Stuart.
Once again thank you for the review and I do hope you stay in the hotel in the future
Kind Regards
Alan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Very good room and amazingly quiet for a city centre hotel. Was in a room at the back. Bathroom and bath quite small. Wifi was better than most Holiday Inns. The seating in the bar area is a bit limited but the service was very good.
Location is great with lots of eating options close by. Parking in multi storey opposite cheaper than most city centre hotels. Get reception to validate ticket. I was £4.30 overnight.
A good choice in Glasgow but book early for a sensible price.

Room Tip: Get your parking ticket validated at reception for the multi-story car park opposite for sensibly pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ifand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your recent review entitled great location.

I was delighted to read that you found us good value for money. We continually invest in our Wi-Fi to make sure we keep up to speed.

Thank you again for taking the time to review the hotel.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland

Address: 161 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#30 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £64 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland is ideally located in heart of the city's Theatreland district located in the heart of the city centre. The hotel is a perfect base from which to explore the many tourist attractions of central Scotland or enjoy the shopping in Glasgow which has some of the best selction of shops in Europe. The hotel benefits from a central location close to the M8 motorway and within walking distance of both Glasgow's rail and bus stations. All rooms have been completely refurbished in 2015. All rooms have modern individually controlled air con, 40 inch flat screen TV's with the full BT Sports package. The hotel has an award winning brasserie La Bonne Auberge that has been awarded an AA Rosette every year since 1997. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing