We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
ABode Glasgow(Glasgow)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,129)
Filter reviews
1,129 results
Traveller rating
466
442
150
45
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
466
442
150
45
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla bonne aubergecity centrewest nile streetbus stationconcert hallupgraded to an executivebuchanan streetcomfortable roomsexcellent locationcar parkreception stafftwin roomthird floorlovely roombooked this hotelexcellent breakfastwould highly recommend this hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
593 - 598 of 1,129 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed here overnight at the weekend and the location couldn't be better (you are right beside a massive Cineworld, the shopping centre of Glasgow with plenty of restaurants, theatres and public car parking facilities) so if you are here to shop, eat, pub or club then it's an ideal location. We upgraded to an Executive Room (£100 total for a double) on arrival but sizewise if this was an executive I wouldn't have liked to see the standard rooms as it was very small and dark! The furniture was worn and chipped overall the room was quite shabby. The bathroom was spotless and had obviously been newly upgraded but it was also tiny. All meals are catered for by La Bonne Auberge Restaurant which is adjoining but it is pricey (£14.95pp for breakfast). A pleasant enough stay but I think there are better places for a lot less!

Room Tip: An upper room at the back is quieter off the street
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review of the hotel.

It was great to read that you enjoyed our central location.

We do have breakfast inclusive rates that can bring the cost down. We always offer our best rates direct.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

It is avery nice hotel in an excellent location right in the heart of the city. It is so close to everything, the market, the main atractions. It is also very convienent to take the bus from the airport as the stop is opposite to the hotel. Typical rooms with large beds. It has an excellent restaurant. The only complaint is that it has too much noise from the road.

Room Tip: maybe in the upper floors
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThessalonikiSehrazat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review of the hotel.

It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed our excellent location.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We had an overnight stay in Glasgow and this hotel was a very good choice. It is conveniently situated in the city centre and the restaurant has a well deserved red rosette. All the staff we encountered were pleasant and helpful, especially those at the reception desk.We were offered the option of a quiet room facing the back and had no traffic noise or disturbance of any kind. The room was rather small, but spotlessly clean and comfortable.Although drinks are a bit on the expensive side, dinner was excellent, and we enjoyed a good choice at the breakfast buffet.
Can certainly recommend a visit here.

Room Tip: You won't have a view, but the back facing rooms are very quiet- something to consider in a city centre at the weekend!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review of the hotel.

It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay and also had a chance to dine in La Bonne Auberge.

I will make sure to share your review with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Glasgow in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The Holiday Inn and Holday Inn Express Theatreland are almost next to each other opposite a large multi-storey car park accessible from Cowcaddens Road.
The location is convenient for the Glasgow Royal Concert Hall, theatres, a large cinema, a shopping centre and many of the shops.
The staff were friendly and efficient, the room a little on the small side but big enough and comfortably furnished. Breakfast downstairs in La Bonne Auberge was fairly expensive but tasty and fairly quick.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review of the hotel.

It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay and our central location. We do have room packages that include breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Glasgow in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Stayed overnight on 24th March 14. Very pleasant young lady checked us in and organied a late check out for next day. We had an executive room, but I could not see any difference to the normal rooms at Glasgow Airport Holiday Inn ?? Kettle, safe, mini-bar, iron etc. Small bathroom with a mini-bath & shower, usual comfortable beds with pillow choice. Room & bathroom were spotless. Bar & Restaurant on a French Theme, perfectly adequate although drinks & food were priced on the high side. Staff friendly & helpful. We had booked a room with breakfast / dinner, and thought the differential over room only was good value for dinner & breakfast for 2 people. Excellent Scottish breakfast. As noted by other reviewers the walls & insulation appears to be paper thin as we could hear other guests and televisions. This could be a problem if you had noisy neighbours !! Generally a good effort and what you would expect from Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room away from the main road and revellers get a room at the back. It is much quieter but the downside is the view of a scruffy yard and rubbish bins !! (just close the curtains !!)
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review of the hotel.

It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews