We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel does not live up to its rating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Ranked #21 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Hotel does not live up to its rating”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My room was very small, the double bed I had requested filled most of it. It was a corner room with two windows, which made it nice and light but left only space for a little corner wardrobe (lots of good hangers) with a small TV above it. Nowhere to put luggage after I had unpacked it on the bed, no armchair or coffee table. On the plus side, the hairdryer was by a good mirror over the shelf that doubles as a workbench/dressing table so I did not have to dry my hair standing up in the bathroom as is all too common. Tea/coffee making equipment but no safe nor fridge/minibar.
I was very chilly all the time despite wrestling with the controls for the air con/heating. I was glad of the duvet, something I usually find too hot. Despite the two windows overlooking a busy road, I was not too disturbed by traffic noise as I had feared from reading earlier reviews. The mattress was good but the pillows were horrible (synthetic).
Bathroom has the shower inside the bath which I find hazardous and (extraordinarily) NO TOILETRIES apart from liquid soap in dispensers on the wall.
Free wifi was included in my package but otherwise is charged after the first hour/day unless you belong to their loyalty club (worth joining for that alone).
Breakfast was good, a British buffet with some dishes (e.g. eggs, kipper fillets) cooked to order but dinner and lunch in the same venue (La Bonne Auberge) were average (see separate review). The eating area looks more like a pub/bar than a restaurant.
Reception staff were welcoming and efficient on arrival and check-out, and my luggage was securely stored while I was out for the morning. However they were totally absent when I was leaving mid-afternoon and needed a taxi; I was rather stressed as I could not find a taxi on then street and feared missing my pre-booked train.
I was booked here purely as the hotel is very close to the venue for my morning engagement (I was not paying my own bill).
Overall a disappointing experience for a well regarded chain. I expected better from my Holiday Inn experiences in other countries.
There is a Holiday Inn Express next door which may be better value. I have stayed in the past at the Millenium which is a longer walk from where I was working but in a different league altogether, and I shall ask to stay there the next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Humanitarian-Loggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

There is space for luggage storage under the desk that you mention in your review. All our rooms are fully air conditioned and these units also heat the rooms is well.

I am sorry you felt disappointed with your stay and if you had brought up any of these issues at the time our front desk staff would have been more than happy to help you.

I do hope that this has not deterred you from staying again and i would hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    409
    143
    43
    26
See reviews for
119
400
74
268
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I booked at the last minute by phone. I had no email access, so received a text confirmation. All done in 5 minutes. Check-in was excellent with extremely friendly and efficient staff who made me feel welcome. The room was well-appointed, clean, and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent with a wide range of choices. Check-out was as check-in -efficient and friendly. Would definitely book here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Colin,

Thank you for your recent 5 star review of the hotel!

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and you found the staff extremely helpful. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I was making a quick tour of Scotland and during my time in Glasgow, I stayed at the Holiday Inn. The location of the hotel was ideal for my purposes. The staff were a big help in getting me around to see the things I asked about. The restaurant was first rate. I really enjoyed my time in Glasgow.
The only negative is that I didn't have more time to spend there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Jack,

Thank you for your recent 5 star review of the hotel!

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here a Saturday night in November with my boyfriend for a night away

Lovely welcoming staff, nice clean welcoming room - fresh towels comfy beds and clean bathroom.

Never ate in hotel but food looked lovely, staff when also good in telling us places to go nice and quiet hotel even with it being right in the centre of Glasgow

Will definitely stay here again if back in Glasgow, thanks for the lovely stay

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lyns93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your recent 5 star review!

It was great to read that your stay in November was so memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back to Glasgow soon.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Went here for a 50th birthday party function and if was lovely. The staff were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. The hot buffet was really lovely too and we weren't hurried from the premises at the end of the night. Would go again and also consider hiring for a function.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank msmileco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your recent 5 star review of the hotel. I was delighted to read that you really enjoyed your birthday here.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed in the hotel at the beginning if April this year, ideally positioned - next to the concert hall ( we had tickets for the ballet), the cinema, restaurants and the shopping centre.
Therefore a great base for exploring the city.
Room was comfortable (noisy as you could hear buses, cars and sirens continuously - obviously a busy city, however investing in better windows / thick curtains could muffle the noise), the view from our room was a multi storey car park!
Generally the staff were pleasant and eager to help, however an incident at breakfast when I ordered green tea, but was given lemon tea, gave a poor impression. When I asked the server to exchange it for plain green tea, I was informed this was the only green tea available. I mentioned I had been given a pot of green tea the morning before, the sever told me the lemon tea was green tea so what was the difference! I requested again a pot of green tea, the server left "found some" and plonked it in front of me without a word. Although I realise this is a minor complaint, it does spoil the "treat" value of a hotel stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenQ3619WE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Karen,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel. It was great to read that you enjoyed our central location for your trip to Glasgow.

I was sorry to read of the incident at breakfast, I have shared your review with the team to help us improve.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Nice hotel, great location, staff very helpful, we were there for a family function, think the family took up most of the first floor. There was 60 of us at the function. Most of which stayed at the hotel, we stayed 2 nights had a meal in hotel the night we arrived, nice food but very expensive, the breakfast is buffet style which was very nice try the haggis it was realy nice, beds were soft so not very good for any of the party with bad backs, pillows were also very soft as well. Overall a nice stay. Public car park across the road get your ticket stamped by hotel it means the car park is capped at £12 for 24hrs

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel. I was delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay at the hotel. All our rooms have a choice of soft or firm pillows and we also offer feather pillows on request.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
2,297 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland

Property: Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Address: 161 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#29 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#30 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland is ideally located in heart of the city's Theatreland district located in the heart of the city centre. The hotel is a perfect base from which to explore the many tourist attractions of central Scotland or enjoy the shopping in Glasgow which has some of the best selction of shops in Europe. The hotel benefits from a central location close to the M8 motorway and within walking distance of both Glasgow's rail and bus stations. All rooms have been completely refurbished in 2015. All rooms have modern individually controlled air con, 40 inch flat screen TV's with the full BT Sports package. The hotel has an award winning brasserie La Bonne Auberge that has been awarded an AA Rosette every year since 1997. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing