We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best Holiday Inn in the world”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Ranked #21 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not the best Holiday Inn in the world”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Staff are very friendly but rooms are very small and can be noisy if you get the wrong one. I was on the 4th floor which might have been good for traffic but unfortunately being above the kitchen extraction fans was like trying to get to sleep and being woken up by a jet engine. One of the lifts is out of order which can mean an added wait for lifts.

Location is okay. I didn't use the car park opposite but rather one about 5 minutes away (q-park on Bath St) which was closer to my client.

Room Tip: Might be best to have a room on the road side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Northern_Si
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

I was sorry to read that your sleep was disrupted by kitchen fans. All our rooms are double glazed and we are looking into getting secondary glazing installed throughout the hotel shortly, this will greatly increase the soundproofing in the bedrooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    398
    141
    43
    26
See reviews for
115
394
72
260
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

As a wheelchair user I usually book the accessible room but this time I wanted to make it a special night. I booked the suite but was told the lift did not go up to them, so we stayed in a feature room. It was nice, very nice but not perfect, for me.

On the plus side: the staff were all very nice, friendly and helpful. It was very clean and pretty quiet considering the location. Its great for the Royal concert hall and you are spoilt for places to eat.

On the downside: The ensuite was very small. I could not get my wheelchair in, so if you can not transfer easily, its not a room to consider. The lift was pretty small and the car park is a reasonable push away.

We really enjoyed our stay and would certainly stay there again when we are next up for a gig.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and would definitely return.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

A leaking air conditioner, broken lights, no internet, what could have been a disastrous experience was saved by an efficient engineer who had it all fixed in a jiffy. Yes the rooms are small, but the location makes up for it and the staff are generally courteous and friendly. Parking is available across the street and the hotel has an arrangement that means that the maximum fee is 12 pounds, a great saving. Breakfast was a disappointment for 9 pounds, with lukewarm food and overcooked eggs kept in a bai Marie, after the first morning we went elsewhere for breakfast, the tearooms were a good choice. Maybe if we had requested a cooked to order breakfast the situation would have been different, however this was never offered and it wasn't easily seen that it was available.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

I was sorry to read that you had a couple of faults in your room, but delighted to read that they were quickly addressed.

We do hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
74 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I usually stay in the Holiday Inn express when I am in Glasgow and find they are cheap and cheerful and deliver on their promises. This week I was booked into the Holiday Inn and am not sure why you would choose this hotel over an Express ( especially when there is one next door). The experience is comparable except the Express hotels are more modern. The rooms are very dated but have all you need.
Breakfast area is nice and the choice is good. There is a much better range than at the Express hotels but it is free there.
Wifi is chargeable where it is free in the Express hotels which seems a bit much. The connection is good mind you.
Staff are extremely welcoming and happy to help so if you can't get into the Express versions they alone make it worth the trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving a review after your recent stay. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. With regards to the wifi we do give all guests 1 hour free and then it is £5.99 for 24 hours. From July wifi will be free for IHG Rewards members. IHG Rewards is free to join so if you sign up on check in you will get wifi for free. I am luck to have a great team at the hotel who made you welcome throughout your stay. Once gain thank your for the review and I look forward to either welcoming you back here or to our sister hotel the Holiday Inn Express.

Regards
Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyti, Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Was initially disappointed that there was no on site car park BUT there is one just 100 metres away and the staff provided a voucher for a very reasonable discount for 24 hour parking so it was no great hardship.
Wonderful welcome from extremely efficient and friendly staff and we were fortunate enough to be allocated a disabled room (though WE were not!!) and appreciated the extra room. Accommodation was clean and tidy with WiFi available for free.
Splendid location for the City Centre just a few minutes walk away and an excellent breakfast, at no extra cost with a very good choice.
Will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. We have managed to negotiate a discounted price for hotel guests the Concert Square car park just across the road.

Once again thank you for the review and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Regards
Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My room was very small, the double bed I had requested filled most of it. It was a corner room with two windows, which made it nice and light but left only space for a little corner wardrobe (lots of good hangers) with a small TV above it. Nowhere to put luggage after I had unpacked it on the bed, no armchair or coffee table. On the plus side, the hairdryer was by a good mirror over the shelf that doubles as a workbench/dressing table so I did not have to dry my hair standing up in the bathroom as is all too common. Tea/coffee making equipment but no safe nor fridge/minibar.
I was very chilly all the time despite wrestling with the controls for the air con/heating. I was glad of the duvet, something I usually find too hot. Despite the two windows overlooking a busy road, I was not too disturbed by traffic noise as I had feared from reading earlier reviews. The mattress was good but the pillows were horrible (synthetic).
Bathroom has the shower inside the bath which I find hazardous and (extraordinarily) NO TOILETRIES apart from liquid soap in dispensers on the wall.
Free wifi was included in my package but otherwise is charged after the first hour/day unless you belong to their loyalty club (worth joining for that alone).
Breakfast was good, a British buffet with some dishes (e.g. eggs, kipper fillets) cooked to order but dinner and lunch in the same venue (La Bonne Auberge) were average (see separate review). The eating area looks more like a pub/bar than a restaurant.
Reception staff were welcoming and efficient on arrival and check-out, and my luggage was securely stored while I was out for the morning. However they were totally absent when I was leaving mid-afternoon and needed a taxi; I was rather stressed as I could not find a taxi on then street and feared missing my pre-booked train.
I was booked here purely as the hotel is very close to the venue for my morning engagement (I was not paying my own bill).
Overall a disappointing experience for a well regarded chain. I expected better from my Holiday Inn experiences in other countries.
There is a Holiday Inn Express next door which may be better value. I have stayed in the past at the Millenium which is a longer walk from where I was working but in a different league altogether, and I shall ask to stay there the next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Humanitarian-Loggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

There is space for luggage storage under the desk that you mention in your review. All our rooms are fully air conditioned and these units also heat the rooms is well.

I am sorry you felt disappointed with your stay and if you had brought up any of these issues at the time our front desk staff would have been more than happy to help you.

I do hope that this has not deterred you from staying again and i would hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I booked at the last minute by phone. I had no email access, so received a text confirmation. All done in 5 minutes. Check-in was excellent with extremely friendly and efficient staff who made me feel welcome. The room was well-appointed, clean, and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent with a wide range of choices. Check-out was as check-in -efficient and friendly. Would definitely book here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Colin,

Thank you for your recent 5 star review of the hotel!

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and you found the staff extremely helpful. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#39 of 95 in Glasgow
935 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,243 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland

Property: Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Address: 161 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#30 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#30 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland is ideally located in heart of the city's Theatreland district located in the heart of the city centre. The hotel is a perfect base from which to explore the many tourist attractions of central Scotland or enjoy the shopping in Glasgow which has some of the best selction of shops in Europe. The hotel benefits from a central location close to the M8 motorway and within walking distance of both Glasgow's rail and bus stations. All rooms have been completely refurbished in 2015. All rooms have modern individually controlled air con, 40 inch flat screen TV's with the full BT Sports package. The hotel has an award winning brasserie La Bonne Auberge that has been awarded an AA Rosette every year since 1997. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing