We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not have made a better choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Ranked #22 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 593 helpful votes
“Could not have made a better choice”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The location is excellent so that everything that we wanted to see and do was within easy reach.

Arriving late on a Sunday afternoon, the welcome from the smiling young lady behind the reception desk could not have been warmer, nor could she have been more helpful in providing maps, information and directions. In conversation with her we discovered that she has the lovely old Scottish name Ishbel, a name so seldom heard these days. Shameful that she has been given a name badge which reads "Ish". Get rid of it Ishbel; tell them you want a badge which reflects your proper name, of which you are proud!

Our room was fairly spacious, the beds very comfortable and we appreciated having a choice of pillows. Everything was sparkling clean, reflecting a high standard of housekeeping and we enjoyed the efficient shower.

The complimentary breakfast deserves special mention and offered a big selection of food both hot and cold. The restaurant was busy with a high turnover of guests but staff in attendance lost no time in clearing tables.

For this stay I used IHG Rewards but had these not been available I would gladly have paid the going rate. Without doubt this hotel gives excellent value for money.

We very rarely have cause to stay overnight in Glasgow but should an occasion arise in future we shall be in no doubt as to where to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review.

I have a great team at the hotel that genuinely love making sure all our guests have a great a great not just in the hotel but also their visit to Glasgow.

Once again thanks for the review and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    390
    139
    43
    25
See reviews for
115
386
71
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Having spent 12 days at this hotel with my elderly father with specific needs I would like to thank Alan the manager, Daniel, Katie, Danielle , Alisha, and big Alex from front of house, Frances the cleaning lady, Stuart, robin and his team in the bar, and Kirsty the fabulous chef for all their care. Hotels are just buildings, what made this one special is the people who work within it and provide a magnificent service with pride in their hearts. So if you come to Glasgow check in to this establishment and experience for yourself first hand the warmth and compassion this team have to offer. They should have a sign outside saying "the answer is yes now what's the question" Thank you all for making our stay a truly fantastic experience and I look forward to returning and getting the 5star treatment from this team again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for leaving a review. I know it was a difficult time for you and your family when you stayed in the hotel. I am lucky to have an excellent team at the hotel that take a real a pride in what they do. Glasgow is famed for being a very friendly city and the team at the hotel are testament to that.

I hope you that will return in the not too distant future under different circumstance as we would love to welcome you and your family to the hotel.

Kind Regards

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed for a friends celebration - only used the room, but it was very comfortable, quiet and cool with the aircon. Staff very friendly. Close to all major stations and M8. Elevator a little slow, but good old stairs are easy to find.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gordonburns1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your recent review entitled excellent location.

It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Great choice for a city centre stay in Glasgow. Staff were excellent. Really comfortable rooms and a nice bar. Breakfast was excellent too. All in all a great choice and really good value. Wouldn't look beyond this place for future Glasgow stays!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith1506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Keith,

Thank you for your recent 5 star review of the hotel.

I was delighted to read that you found the staff excellent and you would come back to the hotel on a return visit to Glasgow.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt.
Level Contributor
99 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Holiday inn Theaterland is really an Excellent Hotel with every aspect.
Location: is really great right into the City Centre , close to everything, Buchanan Bus station is Just across the street, Buchanan Shopping St. is very close by, Cineworld is just beside the Hotel.
Rooms: My room " 214" was really Perfect, the A/C worked perfectly, the Bed was really very comfy with Excellent pillows. Nice working area, Tea and coffee facility, Excellent TV, Perfect bathroom , Spotless.
Had a Problem with the Wi Fi but they sorted it out quickly, the account is for 2 devices only.
Staff at the reception, restaurant, housekeeping and everywhere are all very nice and helpful.
Breakfast is very good and has it all " Scrambled Eggs, Sausage, Bacon, Hash brown, Cereals, Fruits, Beans, croissant, Jam and Butter.....etc".
Had 1 dinner " duck breast" and it was very good.
If I ever to Glasgow again, this Holiday inn is definitely my home to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akramdash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your 5 star review of the hotel.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and found every aspect of the hotel perfect. We look forward to welcoming you back to Glasgow in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
118 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here overnight on business. Location excellent for central Glasgow and attractions, restaurants etc. Car park was opposite hotel so would be a bit of a problem if it was pouring with rain but otherwise very cheap for a central city car park. Room was ok, nothing special, just functional. Had a drink in the bar before going out to eat and received fantastic attention and service from Stuart who was able to give myself and my colleague some good advice on Glasgow etc. Breakfast was excellent with great food and service. Overall a very good experience.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Chippywarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review of the hotel.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and loved our central location. Stuart is a credit to the hotel, thank you for mentioning him in your review. I shall share your comments with the team.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel exceeded expectations of a recent business stay
The quality of room, helpful staff and very good breakfast was greatly enjoyed!!
The room was a standard and bijou however a nice design and good use of space. The AC worked fine so didn't need to open windows, noticed complaint reviews about noise but this is a city centre location - what can you expect if you open a window!!
Breakfast quality was high and varied with fresh produce, wish I could have managed more
Location is fantastic with everything a short walk
Will definitely request staying next time the company pays as don't think it's the cheapest option... Price is only thing that would prevent it being Excellent

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seanyboi30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Sean,

Thank you for your review of the hotel.

I was delighted to read that the hotel exceeded your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#36 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,221 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland

Property: Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Address: 161 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#30 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#30 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland is ideally located in heart of the city's Theatreland district located in the heart of the city centre. The hotel is a perfect base from which to explore the many tourist attractions of central Scotland or enjoy the shopping in Glasgow which has some of the best selction of shops in Europe. The hotel benefits from a central location close to the M8 motorway and within walking distance of both Glasgow's rail and bus stations. All rooms have been completely refurbished in 2015. All rooms have modern individually controlled air con, 40 inch flat screen TV's with the full BT Sports package. The hotel has an award winning brasserie La Bonne Auberge that has been awarded an AA Rosette every year since 1997. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing