We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glasgow - City Central”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Ranked #23 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Glasgow - City Central”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Yes, its in the heart of the city for sure. Noisy it is but convenient for the main tourist areas and cultural centres. A good HI hotel but very expensive as all the hotels seems to rack up their prices for the Commonwealth Games events. Breakfast is served at the attached restaurant. car parking is provided in a multi storey car park and the HI provides a discount price (£12 for 24 hours). Staff were superb - rooms ok.

Room Tip: Go high - I suspect that all rooms have some noise issues as its in the heart of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asahio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your review.

It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff superb. We are currently working on getting secondary glazing installed throughout the hotel over the next few months, this will greatly improve the soundproofing.

We hope to welcome you back to Glasgow.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    404
    143
    43
    26
See reviews for
116
398
73
265
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I left this hotel with mixed feelings. The rooms were stuffy and dark with very very tiny windows and there was no mini gym or pool - so the place felt claustrophobic.My room also overlooked an industrial row of fans followed by a brick wall. I found myself avoiding going back to the room. On that basis alone I'd not stay here again by choice. However, on the positive side, the staff were very friendly, helpful and professional, the breakfast was good, rooms clean, small bathroom recently refurbished and the hotel was very centrally located. In the hotel's defence the reception staff said that they had relatively few complaints about the room layout and put me in a family room - but it wasn't a major improvement.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room. Apparently these have two windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank springy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear springy100,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room assignment prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nuneaton
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Quite a small Holiday Inn, conveniently located. Check in was quick and the receptionist was friendly. She sorted out a room on the top floor, street facing which was the quietest available. Only one small lift available. My room was a reasonable size given that city centre rooms tend to be smaller. I never know why hotels put dark furniture in smaller rooms without a lot of natural light (the windows are quite small), it just makes them look smaller and dingier. However, the room was comfortable, clean and well maintained. The bathroom was quite small and I couldn't see how you could have a bath as the bath itself was so small. The air conditioning was a little basic but worked fine and wasn't noisy which meant I could have it on all night. This was necessary as opening the window made the room quite noisy. Even with the room shut there was some noise but it was manageable. They could do with better sound insulation. The restaurant was the normal HI affair, a range of lukewarm 'hot' items, cereals, bread, cheese, meat etc. It was ok. Very good might be stretching it a bit but it was better than average.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back or as high a floor as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuneatonmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Mark,

Thank you for your recent review.

I was delighted to read that overall you enjoyed your stay.

We did have one of our lifts out of order, this has now been fixed and we are running with two lifts.

We are also getting secondary glazing installed which will help with the sound insulation.

We look forward to welcoming you back.


Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bermuda
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I am not a fan of Holiday Inn, but this hotel was not too bad. Staff were helpful and friendly. The room was comfortable and clean, Wifi worked and location was good, walking distance to most everything.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherryoats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

It was great to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay from the staff to the room and Wi-Fi.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We attended the Eagles concert at the Hydro Glasgow and stayed at this hotel overnight. The room was small but compact. The hotel was located quite central to everything and although no parking on site, parking is available locally at discounted rates to the hotel.

If visiting Glasgow again would definitely consider stopping at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toonarmy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

It was great to read that your enjoyed your stay and that you would stay again, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed two nights while attemding a conference , and found this hotel was perfect for all my needs. To start, we arrived very early on the forst day and this was no trouble for the staff who said our room was ready even though it was only 9am, this meant we could leave our things and get sorted before the conference. The breakfast was included in the deal and this was very good, and plenty, more than we could eat. Although the hotel is in theatreland we walked to the conference each day. It was also excellemt for the bus to the airport which goes from the bus station 3 minutes away, meaning we could leave our luggage on the last day in the hotel until we left.
The beds were comfy, but rooms at the back a little noisy with things going on in the street over night, however the staff said new double glazing was going in. Rooms had airconditioning, tea and coffe and towels and linen were changed each day.
We ate in the resturante one night which was quite good, but the service a bit slow.
But over all very good for what we needed and really lovely staff.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front may be quieter and lighter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PennyOscarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

I was delighted to read your review and overall that it was the staff that made your stay memorable. We are currently working on secondary glazing that will really help with our soundproofing.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights and had a really mixed bag of service. Some members of staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful, while others could have turned milk sour and did not seem to enjoy their jobs at all. The room, however, was inoffensive, the bed was very comfortable and the television worked - something i have not come to expect from Holiday Inns. Special thanks to the young gentleman at the front desk, the assistant front office manager i think, who was always very helpful and never seemed to go home!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank land90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

I was sorry to read that you found some of the staff not to the high level of customer service that we strive for on a daily basis. I know that Alex, the Assistant Front Office Manager will be delighted that you have mentioned him in your review.

I will certainly share your comments with the team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Alan Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,271 reviews
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#40 of 95 in Glasgow
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland

Property: Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Address: 161 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#30 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#30 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland is ideally located in heart of the city's Theatreland district located in the heart of the city centre. The hotel is a perfect base from which to explore the many tourist attractions of central Scotland or enjoy the shopping in Glasgow which has some of the best selction of shops in Europe. The hotel benefits from a central location close to the M8 motorway and within walking distance of both Glasgow's rail and bus stations. All rooms have been completely refurbished in 2015. All rooms have modern individually controlled air con, 40 inch flat screen TV's with the full BT Sports package. The hotel has an award winning brasserie La Bonne Auberge that has been awarded an AA Rosette every year since 1997. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing