We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a new Holiday Inn but liked the location and character of the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Ranked #23 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2009

The hotel is not a typical modern Holiday Inn however the French style of the lobby, restaurant and bedrooms add to the character of the place. I was here for a meeting - the lunch options and food were first class. The bedrooms are a bit old fashioned and tired, however I liked the style and there were clean and well presented. Unlike the other comments, I had a room facing the front and experienced no problems with excessive city noise. The staff at Reception are always smart in appearance and are helpful. Holiday Inn Glasgow Theatreland has a great location near the Buchanan Galleries and Bus Station. Car Parking is handy across the road from the hotel and the hotel iteself is on West Nile Street near the Vue Cinema Complex.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BA1aSilverstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnGlasgow, Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2009

Thank you for your positive review of the hotel. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable visit and that you found both the service from our staff and the quality of the food to be first class. I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,099)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

980 - 986 of 1,099 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2009

Stayed here before so we knew what to expect. Upsides - location, breakfasts, evening meals, staff. Downside - small rooms, lift is small & slow (bit of a feature really).
On this trip we were in room 125 on the first floor at the corner. The noise from outside was intrusive, especially the Glasgow street theatre on a Saturday night / Sunday morning. You have been warned, avoid this room !!
I'd certainly stay here again, just not in room 125

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iainbarclaybod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnGlasgow, Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2009

Thank you for your review. Unfortunately the central location of the hotel does mean that some rooms are more noiser than others however I am glad that despite the noise you encountered on this visit, you would be happy to return to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2009

For a three-night stay in Glasgow, this hotel was just right. 2 minutes walk from Buchanan Street bus station (the bus from the airport drops you here) and right on the edge of the city centre with all its attractions. The staff are pleasant and helpful; the room was comfortable (on the small side, though) with good bed and bathroom - plentiful tea and coffee facilities; excellent breakfasts. The big down-side, mentioned by other reviewers, is the noise from the street outside. I asked when checking in for a room facing away from the street but none were available; the receptionist did put us on a higher floor but the effect of minimising street noise was minimal. We had to keep the window shut all the time, and air-con on, which was quite noisy too! So do pack some ear-plugs as you'll probably need them.

However, I'd happily stay here again - it's so central, it's clean and well run, the breakfast is excellent, and for this price it's a good deal.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldWanderer2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnGlasgow, Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2009

Thank you for your review which I was delighted to read. Unfortunately as the hotel was busy during your stay, we were unable to accommodate your request for a quiet room. Should you choose to return to the hotel in the future, please do not hesitate to contact the hotel in advance to request this, which will give us the best pportunity to be able to help you.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2009

Stayed at the hotel for two nights as I had business in the area. Not the first time at this hotel either. The Scottish tourism authority give this hotel a four thistle rating. No way Jose I'm afraid. Just an average three from me, I hasten to add however that it would have been four stars if it were not for some of the guest rooms and their location. It's great if, as previous reviewers have mentioned you have a suite or one of the bigger rooms however I was in one of the small rooms which are only just big enough but have very dark interiors with dark wood. The pictures on the web site are very misleading as they are obviously 'lit'. Every time I have stayed here I have been given one of these rooms and every time it's been one overlooking Renfrew Street. This is not good as the noise can be very intrusive. Opposite is the vast cinema complex and every bus in Glasgow appears to run up this road with all the associated noise and late night 'people' activity. There is double glazing but it does little to stop the noise. All floors have some rooms in this situation and they run from roughly 127-141 and so on. Rooms overlooking West Nile Street fare very much better. You have been warned. On the plus the staff were all excellent and public areas very clean and tidy. the 'French' themed restaurant was very good but so it should be as it's not cheap. Bar meals appear to be available and the hotel has free wi-fi which is great. Hotel is very well located for walking around the tourist hot spots, theatre, concert hall, shopping etc. Note that there appears to be no vehicle parking at the hotel. If you want a good nights sleep either insist on a room which is inward facing or on West Nile Street or stay elsewhere. I personally have now had enough of being put in one of the noisy rooms and will insist my employer puts me somewhere else, if there is a next time! With regards to the question "Would I recommend this hotel to a friend?" Yes, but only on the room proviso.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnGlasgow, Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2009

Thank you for your review.

Unfortunately due to the hotel's central location ,as you correctly state, there are some rooms which are noisier than others. None of our executive rooms are located on Renfrew Street, so if you do decide to return, may I suggest that you reserve this type of room. Alternatively, if you contact the hotel a few days prior to arrival and request a room away from the street and we will endeavour to honour your request.

With regards to parking, the hotel does not have it's own facility, but does offer discounted rates at two nearby public car parks for your convenience.

I am delighted that you enjoyed other elements of your visit and thank you once again for taking the time to feedback.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2009

Had a 2 nite break and had a fab time, lovely room with big comfy sofa. No view from window, but did not matter! Great shopping, Royal Concert Hall a stones throw away. Staff were excellent, food lovely, and late breakfast/checkout at noon is great. Even went back to room at 10.30am and had a friend join us for coffee whilst we packed....even had a jug of milk brought up....a big thank you deserved. Will be back!

1  Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnGlasgow, Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2009

Thank you for your very positive review following your visit to the hotel. It is a pleasure to hear when a guest has thoroughly enjoyed their stay and I am delighted you took the time to share your experience.

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2009

Stayed here for one night for a mixture of business and pleasure and had a very comfortable stay. The location is slap bang in the middle of central Glasgow and it suited my needs perfectly. Dinner exceed my expectations - the fish soup was excellent. (Although I would be surprised to learn that the roll had been made from freshly made dough on the premises - this was the meals only disappointment). The pecan pie was delicious, and great coffee to go with it. My bedroom was spotless, so full marks to housekeeping. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnGlasgow, Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2009

Thank you for your very positive feedback following your stay at the hotel. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and enjoyed your meal in our restaurant - I will be certain to pass on your comments to the chef.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2009

We booked this hotel because we wanted somewhere in the centre so were well prepared for the level of noise that we would encounter and actually kept the windows closed and used the air con - which although working we couldnt make it go lower than 19 degrees, and as it was over 30 in Glasgow for the days we were there it was a bit of a nightmare trying to get to sleep. Anyway, i digress... we booked a junior suite. Not quite sure where the word suite fits into this heading though - perhaps it was the strange window seat and fake shutter combo at the windows? Perhaps it was the weirdest lounge chair/daybed contraption that we have ever seen? This chair/bed was made out of wicker and had a grey fake animal fur thrown over it - very very odd. however, this was nothing compared to the wooden birdcage hanging in the corner of the room with a stuffed toy animal of some description lying at the bottom of it looking very very dejected! So then onto the bathroom. Bijou is the only word you can use to describe this. There was a spa bath but you would have to sit it in with your knees up to your chin. If you sat on the loo just make sure no one else wants to come into the room or you will get a door in your knees. Toiletries were nice though!

Breakfast was an experience. Full buffet service which is lovely however our complaints would be the individually wrapped cheese - why, when you obviously have the footfall to know that everything would be eaten? The undercooked nasty hot breakfast buffet, sausages that had no colour, bacon that was virtually cooked, hash browns sitting in oil, scrambled egg that had more water than egg. However, more worrying that all of that was as we were on our hols and wanted to lie in we were probably some of the last people to eat breakfast each day so we saw the girls clearing up. The milk that had been sitting in milk jugs on each table in heat that was over and above normal for this time of year, was then tipped back into the large container that people had been using to put on their cereal which didnt look like there was any chiller attachment to it.... think you are lucky it didnt all turn to cheese! And our last and final comment was the caustic head waitress/manager that was working on the morning of Wednesday 1st July in the restaurant... she may have 6" heels and think she is something special, but she most certainly is not the way she spoke to not only the guests but the other staff as well - horrid woman!

The staff on reception and at the bar were extremely impressive and helpful, they should be commended on their attention to detail.

Would we go back? Yes probably as the location is perfect and the bar in the evenings is great, but we would either upgrade to a proper suite or save our money and down grade to a normal room. Our bed was only a double and we had wrongly presumed that in a 'suite' we would at least get a kingsize.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minxyhobbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnGlasgow, Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2009

Thank you for your review regarding your stay at the hotel.

I am sorry that your room was not to your taste - following your comments, and the feedback of a previous reviewer, we have decided to it would be in the interest of future guests to re-categorize our Junior Suites to prevent any confusion or disappointment upon arrival. These changes will take place in the near future.

With regards to your breakfast experience, please accept my sincere apologies for the shortcomings you encountered and the service you received. Your comments have been discussed in detail with the relevant manager.

I am very pleased to hear that despite your disappointment in the above areas, you found our other staff to be very helpful and that your experience this time round would not prevent you returning in the future.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#15 of 93 in Glasgow
5,472 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland

Address: 161 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#30 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £57 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland is ideally located in heart of the city's Theatreland district located in the heart of the city centre. The hotel is a perfect base from which to explore the many tourist attractions of central Scotland or enjoy the shopping in Glasgow which has some of the best selction of shops in Europe. The hotel benefits from a central location close to the M8 motorway and within walking distance of both Glasgow's rail and bus stations. All rooms have been completely refurbished in 2015. All rooms have modern individually controlled air con, 40 inch flat screen TV's with the full BT Sports package. The hotel has an award winning brasserie La Bonne Auberge that has been awarded an AA Rosette every year since 1997. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing