We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Ranked #24 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2010

We stayed at this hotel for a night in mid September and i could quite happily stayed longer. We drove up to Glasgow from Liverpool for my birthday with my parents and stayed at the holiday inn Theatreland.

We arrived late morning and advised previously that we could only check in at 1pm which was fine, however when we arrived the young lady on the front desk advised that one of our rooms was already available and we go and take our things up. We were surprised but really pleased as it meant we could hit the fantastic shops on Sauchiehall street that but earlier.

The hotel is is in a wonderful part of the city and the access down to the shops is great, there are so many bars and great restaurants dotted everywhere. Nightlife is super and definitely worth the drive.

The hotel offers a great restaurant and the menu sounded really nice, we didn't eat in that evening however after the excellent breakfast we had the following day the we really wish we had.

Rooms are average size, very clean and comfortable. Having stayed in Scotland many many times we had never actually stayed at this hotel, however after my recent stay we will definitely been returning soon.

Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelBunny1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnGlasgow, Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2010

Thank you for your very kind review of the hotel. I am delighted that you had a great visit to Glasgow and that we were able to help you have an enjoyable birthday trip ! Our restaurant is an award winner, so I do hope that you will choose to try it out on your next visit.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,080)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

923 - 929 of 1,080 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2010

Arriving from Dublin to stay overnight before setting out on a motoring tour of Scotland, my wife and I arrived at the Holiday Inn at the end of a long and tiring day. We were welcomed at the reception desk with friendliness, helpfulness and courtesy which characterised the approach of the hotel's staff for the whole of our brief visit. The room was plain but spotlessly clean, comfortable and perfectly adequate for our purposes. The hotel is handily situated, being convenient to most parts of Central Glasgow. Breakfast the next morning was equally satisfactory and, having believed otherwise, offered cooked options as well as a cold buffet. We were well-satisfied with the hotel's offerings and would happily stay there again in similar circumstances.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelator15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnGlasgow, Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2010

Thank you for your very kind comments, particularly regarding the hotel team. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback on our staff, who are there to make your stay as enjoyable and as hassle free as possible. I am delighted that you found our team friendly, helpful and courteous throughout your brief stay and I will be certain to pass on your comments.

Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Stayed for one night . Was in town for Swan Lake at Theatre Royal. Hotel is in the ideal location next to bus station, close to rail and across from the Concert Hall and multiplex cinema and Buchanan Galleries shopping centre. Lovely hotel , comfortable rooms, outstanding staff. Breakfast in Bonne Auberge best ever. I am a vegetarian and choice was exceptional. Staff were the nicest I have encountered. Can't wait to go back. Very well done.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annebryceland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnGlasgow, Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2010

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding both the hotel, facilities and staff. Your comments are very much appreciated and I am delighted that you had a pleasant stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2010

First stay at this particular Holiday Inn and it was fine.Good location just a short walk from the main railway stations and close to city centre.Good welcome at reception, immediatley recognised as a PCR platinum member and upgraded,also given some vouchers for a free drink at the bar,a free in room film,and 3 courses for 2 in the restaurant this was the first time I had been offered these extras at any of the Holiday Inns I have stayed at so well done.
The room was fine with all the extras you come to expect from Executive rooms. Nice bar area where we had a bar meal, the menu was very small compared to other Holiday Inns but the steak baguette we chose was very nice and good value.
Didn't try the restaurant as only staying one night, but the breakfast on offer was good and you got given a pot of tea, not the usual one cup where you have to keep asking for refills.
All the staff we encountered we friendly and helpful, for me a signature of the Holiday Inn brand.
One downside was the noise of a wedding reception which went on quite late and was very noisy considering we were on the third floor.
That said I would recommend this hotel as a place to stay in Glasgow and will be back on my next visit

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinshrimper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnGlasgow, Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2010

Thank you for your review of the hotel. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the added benefits of being one of our most loyal customers as a Platinum Priority Club member and that you enjoyed the food both in the bar and at breakfast.

Please accept my apologies for any disturbance you experienced from the wedding reception which was taking place in the hotel during your visit. I am pleased that this experience has not deterred you from returning to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

I recently stayed at Holiday Inn Theatre District Glasgow . We were very happy that we were upgraded albeit on extra payment of 30 pounds to a Penthouse Suite. The suite was nice and well furnished.
But alas the bed for two was only 54 inches or 4.5 ft wide. No way two people can sleep in this small bed. We are regulat travelers and none of the hotels that we have stayed all over the world have such small beds. As tourist you are generally out and when you are back you basically need a decent large bed to sleep on. We then saw some standard rooms and found that the whole hotel has these terrible beds. Intercontinental group under which this hotel comes must take action of changing beds as soon as possible.
Stay here only if you are alone or you or spouce would like to sleep separtely

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Sanjiv_deoras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnGlasgow, Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2010

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. I am sorry that you found the size of the beds to be very small, and this prevented you from getting a good nights sleep during your stay.

Whilst I appreciate that many hotels do now have larger beds, the beds throughout the hotel are of a standard double size in the UK. There are a number of twin bedded rooms in the hotel, which may be worth considering as an alternative should you choose to return to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2010

Selected this hotel for a number of reasons - price, location & the previous reviews. Originally booked into a standard room but after checking in and being in the room for about 5 minutes decided to upgrade our room to an executive room. Be warned that the standard rooms are very small and it felt very cramped having two people in the room. It felt more like a single room and the bed was tiny. We upgraded to an exectutive room for £25per night at reception (room 205). What a difference. The room was large with a proper sized bed, sitting area, small spa bath & great big bay windows. Well worth the extra fee.
Had room service one night which to be honest wasn't the best I've ever experienced. Breakfast was good however, and set us up perfectly for the day ahead. The staff at the hotel were excellent and couldn't be more helpful. Another plus point was the free wifi, which came in extremly handy.
The location is excellent as its only a 5minute walk to the main shopping area as well as countless bars and restaurants. Was quite noisy on the Friday & Saturday night, but we didn't have any complaints about this as it is a city centre hotel. Its directly across the road from the cinema, which if you show your room cards receive student rates. We also used the secure carpark (Concert Square) directly across the road. The hotel has an agreement to get a 50% discount. You need to get reception to validate the ticket when you arrive.
There are better Glasgow hotels I've stayed at previously, but all in all a good stay at a good price and would have no qualms about staying here again or recommending to friends.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Masserson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnGlasgow, Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2010

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the hotel and especially the kind feedback about the staff.

I am delighted that you were able to take advantage of some of the benefits including the free wifi and discounted cinema tickets and that you had a great breakfast and also that your upgraded room was to your satisfaction.

I was however disappointed to read your feedback on your room service experience and should you wish to discuss this further please feel free to contact the hotel directly.

Thank you once again for your feedback and I do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

We usually opt for places with "character," but we got a great deal on this hotel through Hotwire, and were very happy with our stay. Our room was comfortable, clean, and a decent size for two people. Not much to speak of by way of a view, but hard to beat for location - we were able to walk to most of the sites we wanted to see (e.g. shopping, visiting Kelvingrove Museum, and getting to the train station). In addition, there were plenty of fine restaurants in the area. It is a high-traffic area, but we had no problems with noise. Staff were friendly and helpful. Restaurant is pleasant and serves up reasonably good food, but there are better (and more reasonably-priced) options nearby. Overall, would say the accommodations were part of a wonderful stay in Glasgow.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAWJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnGlasgow, Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2010

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Glasgow and stay at the hotel. I'm delighted that you found the hotel to be a great choice for your visit and I do hope that we get an opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#40 of 93 in Glasgow
971 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland

Address: 161 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#29 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#30 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: £70 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland is ideally located in heart of the city's Theatreland district located in the heart of the city centre. The hotel is a perfect base from which to explore the many tourist attractions of central Scotland or enjoy the shopping in Glasgow which has some of the best selction of shops in Europe. The hotel benefits from a central location close to the M8 motorway and within walking distance of both Glasgow's rail and bus stations. All rooms have been completely refurbished in 2015. All rooms have modern individually controlled air con, 40 inch flat screen TV's with the full BT Sports package. The hotel has an award winning brasserie La Bonne Auberge that has been awarded an AA Rosette every year since 1997. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing