We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas in Glasgow” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Campanile Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Campanile Glasgow
Ranked #61 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
North England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Christmas in Glasgow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

The great thing about this hotel is that it offers ample free parking and is conveniently located both for the city centre and the riverside attractions. There is a lot do do over the Christmas period in Glasgow and the hotel services operate almost the same during the holiday period as on a normal day. (I say almost, because lighting in the bathroom was poor because of a failed bulb which could not be replaced because of the absence of the maintenance man. We were, however, offered another room if we wanted to go to the trouble of moving all our stuff.) The Reception staff were friendly and helpful. Good flat screen TV and free internet connection.
We visited fantastic free museums, symphony hall concert, shopping, art deco tea rooms, Loch Lomond is only a 30 minute journey away. There was much more to do than possible during the 5 night stay. This is not a rip-off city!
The hotel was booked up solid for New Year, but over Christmas it was almost empty!

Room Tip: This is a budget hotel. We have stayed there one night previously when travelling up to the Scottish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brastard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Campanile, General Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Dear Brastard

Thanks for your recent review, and glad to hear that you are enjoying our services & facilities. My apologies for the inconvenience you encountered with the light bulb. My duty manager informs me that they tried their best to rectify the defective light bulb, but came to the conclusion that this required a more specialised service from someone whose electrical knowledge was more detailed, and due to the time this defect was reported meant that our maintenance team were off duty. Thanks for bringing this matter to our attention, we have since corrected this defect.

Please do let us know when you are next looking to stay in the Glasgow area, we would be delighted to offer you the best rates available.

Best wishes
M.Fergie
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    397
    285
    90
    76
See reviews for
139
406
54
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
N Scotland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

This is a good hotel masquerading as a budget hotel. Well located for Glasgow SECC and City Crente. Clean room with coffee/tea facilities and biscuits. Pristine bed linen, sparkling bathroom. Excellent bar and restaurant and in the morning a choice of continental breakfast or full breakfast cooked to order (unlike more expensive establishments that offer the 'buffet' breakfast - yuk). Excellent juices and coffee. Friendly, helpful staff and a huge free car park. All for twenty nine pounds!! The Campanile was recommended to me a year or so ago and it's just as good as then. I've stayed before and I'll be back. Full marks Campanile!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TGSpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Campanile, General Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Dear TGSpt

Thanks for your recent feedback. I am over the moon to read that we have not slipped down in your opinion of us from when you last stayed by marking us full marks. You may be interested to know that we are making some changes for the good in terms of upgrading elements of our hotel that need it. This will only make our hotel better and feel more comfortable for when you next come to stay with us, so do stay in touch and let us know when you are in need of accommodation in the Glasgow area and we will indeed offer the best rates.

Best wishes
M.Fergie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochgilphead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

Its very competitively priced,its clean and its well positioned. Friendly staff and free parking are a bonus.Whoever is running this place is hitting the sweet spot nicely.Thank you for a pleasant hassle free stay in the centre of Glasgow.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kenny m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Campanile, General Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Dear Kennym

Thank you for your recent review. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and please feel free to contact us directly when next looking for accommodation in the the Glasgow area, we would be delighted to make the necessary arrangements and offer you the best deals going.

Best wishes
M.Fergie
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

Stayed here after a works Xmas party in December 2012. Check in staff were very pleasant, my room was small (for a double) but comfortable, clean and had everything I needed.

Wouldn't be keen to stay for a long period as the room was similar in price to a premier inn which have much larger rooms, but it was perfectly ok for a short stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davehippo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Campanile, General Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Dear Davehippo1

Thanks for taking the time to feedback on your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear that everything was to your satisfaction.

Please remember to feel free to contact us directly should you find yourself in the Glasgow area and looking for great value accommodation, as we pride ourselves in offering unbeatable prices and would be delighted to make the necessary arrangements for you.

Best wishes
M.Fergie
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

Have reviewed this before as this is our regular stop pover if at SECC or Aramadillo, but it's been a while since we stayed last and a few things have changed.

The food - a lot better - variety, buffet starter now available earlier in evening, and greater more imaginative choice on mains. Breakfast nothing special but not bad for its cost.

Economies - don't have problem with them usually so long as they aren't obtrusive. No hand towels in room - fine so long as you've both not showered night before - nothing worse than wiping face with damp bath towel!! Oh, beg pardon, yes there is - the other obvious economy was in toilet roll quality. Sorry to get basic here, but I've had better thicker loo roll in deepest darkest Africa! Really bad - so thyuin almost not worth having - which means you end up using five times as much for same effect!!

This means I think that next time we'll try the Hilton Garden just over the road - sorry Campanile - cheap loo rolls are one step to far!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank broomsticklady2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Campanile, General Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Dear Broomsticklady2

Thanks for your recent review. Glad to hear that you have noticed a few new improvements in our food offering. This is an area that is constantly under review and evolving, whilst our menus change with the seasons we always endeavour to offer a variety.

With regards to our linen provision, a decision was taken nearly a year ago to slightly reduce the number of towels that we offered in each room in order to reduce our carbon missions, and play our part in saving the environment. Hand towels were taken out of the rooms leaving two bath towels in each room, and a supply of hand towels available at reception upon request.

I am sorry to hear that we have lost your custom based ultimately on toilet rolls, especially after staying with us on numerous occasions in the past without complaint, and also recognising that we are making changes for the best. We have certainly not changed our toilet roll supplier.

Should you change your mind and need accommodation that represents great value for money you know where we are, we will always welcome you back.

Best wishes
M.Fergie
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

We booked this hote online. Cost £35 with free parking. Busy hotel but very basic. Rooms small. Matress very uncomfortable but great for one night to crash out after a night out in glasgow. Cheaper to book direct on the website.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamandAndyGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Campanile, General Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Dear Pamandandyglasgow

Thanks for your review and the feedback with regards to our mattresses. I am sorry to hear that you found our beds uncomfortable. I wished you had brought this to our attention at the time as we have, and are undergoing some updating of our facilities beds included, and would have offered an alternative room if this was available. We recognise that all guests have different tolerances to the firmness of mattresses and will always endeavour, when this is brought to our attention to assist wherever we can.

Glad to hear that you thought that we were reasonably priced. Whilst you make reference to our offering being basic, we offer what most 3-4 stars hotels offer in terms of services and facilities, and you may be interested to know that the size of our bedrooms are just slightly smaller than the Hilton Garden Inn just across the road. We also offer complimentary car parking and Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, which some 4 star hotels do not, which I feel represents great value.

Please do feel encouraged to contact us in the future should you be looking for accommodation in the Glasgow area, you will find our best rates on our website and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes
M.Fergie
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Hotel a couple of times last month, I found the whole experience perfect, the F&B Manager is from Brittany France, he goes the "extra mile" to ensure you are happy with everything, the rooms are clean and fresh, parking is easy, a wide choice of other Restaurants are within easy walking distance, although the food in Hotel is satisfactory!
I would have no hesitation in recommending this Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leegee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Campanile, General Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
Dear Leegee1

Thanks for your recent review. I am over the moon, first of all, to hear that you are a regular with us, we are obviously doing something right! I am glad to hear that you found our facilities and services to your liking, and will most certainly pass on your favourable comments to Guillaume, our F&B manager.

If we can be of service to you at anytime in the future please do not hesitate to contact us directly, and I will ensure you are offered to the best rates going.

Best wishes
M.Fergie
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
#39 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,237 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
Village Hotel Glasgow
Village Hotel Glasgow
#23 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,443 reviews
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#50 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Glasgow

Property: Campanile Glasgow
Address: 10 Tunnel Street, Glasgow G3 8HL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Campanile Glasgow 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Louvre hotels, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Campanile Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Campanile Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Campanile Hotel
Campanile Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing