We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the Way”
Review of Campanile Glasgow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Campanile Glasgow
Ranked #60 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Out of the Way”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This hotel is not far from Glasgow City Centre but far enough away to be away from the noise etc.

It has quite a nice scenery around it with the Rive Clyde and The Hyrdo next door.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

The only real problem was that the maid tried to get into our room several times despite us not having to check out until noon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yipeekaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Campanile, Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, 29 July 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Campanile Glasgow.

Best Regards

James McDaid
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    413
    300
    91
    81
See reviews for
147
427
56
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Got an excellent rate for this hotel on a Friday night. Good location and free parking is a big plus. Glasgow city centre is about 20 minutes walk or £5 taxi fare. This is not a 4 or 5 star hotel, but what I would class as being an average 3 star hotel. I think what it does it does well, the rooms were clean and comfortable, and there are no airs and graces about the place. There are restaurant and bar facilities available. For what I paid I feel I got a very good deal and would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Campanile, Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, 29 July 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Campanile Glasgow.

Best Regards

James McDaid
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Have stayed at the Campanile (both the one next to the SECC and the one at Glasgow airport) on a number of occasions and would thoroughly recommend either hotel! Good, clean, spacious accommodation, some excellent deals to be had online, brilliant breakfast, polite and well mannered staff, free parking, either hotel brilliant for shopping and nightlife, really like these hotels and will always make this one of our first stops if staying overnight in Glasgow.

Room Tip: If travelling with children but you don't want a family room ask for connecting rooms, brilliant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avid1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Campanile, Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, 29 July 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Campanile Glasgow.

Best Regards

James McDaid
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed here one night whilst attending a course in the hotel. The rooms are pokey, the shower tray did not drain and the hot water was not hot. The walls were marked and bordering on dirty. Towels small and scratchy. Beds too soft. This is a very basic hotel which does not charge basic prices. The only thing in its favour is its close proximity to the Hydro and the SECC. Would not recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chezis21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Campanile, Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, 29 July 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Campanile Glasgow.

Best Regards

James McDaid
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

Aberdeen
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

Booked hotel for family as per the web page description, which advertises good value menus for all ages and tastes. Upon arrival told no menu available as advertised in web pages and literature in room, as there was an event on at secc and they had decided to serve only a set menu starting at £12.95 per person. No catering exception for kids. There is no mention on web pages that this might happen, so if you are considering booking the hotel check in advance if they are going to deliver all that is promised, and hopefully you are not let down like we were !!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank G A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Campanile, Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear G A,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Campanile Glasgow SECC.

I am sorry to hear you seem to have had some issues surrounding our website and menus. Having checked out website again this morning, I am unsure which menu you have seen as all I can find is information on our promotions in the UK or buffet menus for our European hotels.

The menu shown in your room is the standard menu that is served in our restaurant, however as stated this is “subject to availability” and we do not serve this menu during 4pm – 8pm on event nights and replace this with our pre theatre menu offering you a choice of our most popular dishes. However we are happy to alter the menu slightly should you ask. Our pre theatre menu is £12.95 for 2 courses and £15.95 for 3 courses.

I am perplexed that you mention we have no exception for kids as we offer a kids menu at all times and this is a main course and dessert for £5.

Menu’s and table reservations are advised at check in and are always available at the reception desk.

I would like to apologise for any confusion caused and hope you will return in the future.

Kind Regards;

William Furie
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The Staff are very friendly and helpful as we were stuck here on 01/02/2014 a big thanks to Stuart who was very helpful in getting us a taxi as there didn't seem to be ones about that were willing to come and pick us up we were stuck for 3 hours waiting to get home. thanks for all your help guys

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Campanile, Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear Mary F,

Thank you for reviewing your recent visit at Campanile Glasgow SECC.

I am delighted to hear you experienced our warm welcome by the team and we were able to help you.

I will pass your compliments onto Stuart.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards;

William Furie
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midsomer Norton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

average tired hotel, staff were very good and helpful, but they were obviously understaffed so were rushing about doing two jobs, like reception and bar or reception and seating people for breakfast, I queued for 40 minutes for breakfast on Sunday. The hotel was busy but that's no excuse. 20 minute walk to anything, or a £5 taxi. Bathroom was small and tired. The bed was not good enough, the springs were very uncomfortable. It is a basic standard hotel and you get what you pay for I know, but this place could benefit from some corporate TLC. I will not stay there again.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wrighty-Bath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Campanile, Manager at Campanile Glasgow, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear Wrighty-Bath,

Thank you for your recent review.

I am disappointed to read your review and would like to apologise for the issues you faced during the stay. We aim to provide an enjoyable stay and it seems that was not your experience with us.

You may be interested to know we are currently in the process of redecorating our bathrooms, providing new shower trays, new tiling and a splash of paint. We are also awaiting delivery of new beds as we have recognised these needed changed.

I would urge you to stay with us again on your next visit to Glasgow and should you wish to, please contact me directly and I will personally take care of your reservation to ensure you experience our normal offering.

Kind Regards;

William Furie
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
#38 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,293 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#49 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
South Side
Village Hotel Glasgow
Village Hotel Glasgow
#27 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Glasgow

Property: Campanile Glasgow
Address: 10 Tunnel Street, Glasgow G3 8HL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > Anderston , City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Campanile Glasgow 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Louvre hotels, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Campanile Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Campanile Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Campanile Hotel
Campanile Glasgow Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing